We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families”
Review of Cocomo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cocomo Resort
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just returned from a 3 month working holiday in Port Vila and we chose to stay at Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments. The apartment was perfect for an extended stay with a small family. The fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer and furnishings meant that we had everything we needed to feel like we were at home, and the resort offered everything we needed to feel like we were on holidays!
Our kids loved the lagoon for exploring and one of our favourite things to do was to take the kids down to the lagoon beach at sunset and let them play while we took in a glass of wine and the view. There are kayaks at the resort that you are able to use whenever you like to explore the lagoon further.
The pool was also a huge hit with the kids and it was always clean and well maintained and never overcrowded, but by far the most popular thing with our kids was the awesome playground. From the huge trampoline to the swings and the fort built into the beautiful trees, our kids spent hour after hour playing there.
The location of the resort was great too. Close to town without being in it. It was easy to grab a bus from the resort into town but if you choose to hire a car there is parking right outside your apartment.
As we were in Port Vila for such a long time we did get a chance to explore the restaurants around town as well as visit other resorts for a meal but the food that the resort's chef Tyrone puts up is first rate, and far better than some of the larger, well-known resort's food. The menu is there as a guide, but he is more than happy to adjust anything on it to suit you or your kids, and if you're happy to just let Tyrone suggest the evenings meal by way of the specials, he will never disappoint.
Abi, the resort's manager was amazing, she worked tirelessly to make us feel at home just as she did with her regular holiday guests. Also reflected by the treatment of our family and friends who visited us at the resort.
Felix looks after the day to day operation of the resort and is worth his weight in gold. On more than one occasion he put aside his own personal plans and stayed beyond his normal work hours in order to make sure we had a great time. Lagoon beach resort will not disappoint when planning your trip to the South Pacific, the people make the difference.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 weeks and we loved it. Our two pre-school children loved the freedom of exploring the playground, trampoline, pool, lagoon and kyaks. One day they blew up a jumping castle which was a treat! Being vegetarian was easy as the excellent chef Tyrone can adapt any meal you like. Our son is wheat-free and what a relief that Tyrone cooks his chips in GF flour, along with hand made gnocci and other pasta. The food is seriously amazing quality and we are booking our next trip now! The staff are so warm and friendly to children. There are games available for rainy days too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

After much research and reading all the great reviews on trip advisor we stayed here in October for 10 days. With two teenagers and a 2 year old we had made the right choice! Huge grounds, trampoline, playground and a nice clean pool, our kids loved it. Our two year old was dragging us out to the playground before breakfast, she was in paradise! We could see the lagoon from our room, just such a beautiful setting. The grounds are very well maintained with the staff raking and cleaning every day. Friendly, accommodating staff, always willing to help you with anything. The units were very spacious and clean. No bath though for our 2 year old, but I just bathed her in the kitchen sink which she thought was great! Huge beds which were great. The stairs were directly outside the main bedroom which you had to be very aware of on your way to the toilet in the night! The chef was very accommodating for our vegetarian daughter making her meals that weren't on the menu. Be prepared to wait though when eating at the restaurant, always took at least an hour (one night it took two hours to get my meal because they missed it on our order, then overcharged me for it!) even when there were only two other people there. Although I guess people were probably ordering meals to their rooms as well, which we started doing so we didn't have to try and keep our toddler amused at the restaurant. They would bring our meals to our unit for no extra charge. We paid as we ordered so we didn't have bill shock at the end of our stay. I would advise to check your bill though. They add it up but don't offer to show you the bill, but we looked over the counter while they were doing it. On a few occasions we were charged for things we didn't order and on one occasion charged too much, by about $18 so keep an eye on that. Buses were passing by the road front constantly, never had to wait at all. Would definitely recommend to stay here. If we go back to Vanuatu this will defiantly be our choice again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamandaTheChannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed 5 nights here in October. It was perfect for us. Great location and only a short bus trip into Port Villa. Really friendly staff. Kids had a ball. Great food at the restaurant. The coconut kindy was a real hit and gave us a little break in the mornings. We were a little sad to leave. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed for 10 days in October and had one of the best holidays. The apartments are spacious and well equipped, and the staff will jump at the opportunity to help. We lived in Port Vila for 2 years, 5 years ago and this was the first time we had been back. We knew most of the good restaurants and eateries to go to, but the best meal we had was at lagoon beach. Tyrone the chef is amazing, as are the cocktails. Despite the resort being full, it was not noisey or packed. Having the self-contained kitchen in the apartment was great with young children. The babysitters on-call for evenings out were great too. We plan to holiday in Vila every 2 years or so, and will plan on staying at lagoon beach for those trips as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rozandal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at Lagoon Beach for 10 days in July (i know Im a bit late writing this but life gets busy when you get home) with a group of friends to attend the Kwinana race day and charity ball and what a fantastic time was had by all! This was our second trip to Vanuatu and we previously stayed at the sister resort of Erakor island, and enjoyed the holiday so much we brought back a bunch of friends. Due to being a large group of people with differing needs and requirements Lagoon beach suited us perfectly, the apartments are large, clean and comfortable with all necessary equipment and gave us the option of cooking ourselves, which we didn't do very often due to the great meals provided at the onsite restaurant run by chef Tyrone who was doing an amazing job as the restaurant had only been open a couple of weeks! We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with our daughter and 2 other couples stayed next door to us and another couple choose to stay in an over water bungalow and while i have no complaints about our room i'm staying in one of these next time i come they are stunning (the pictures on the website tell the story and you get what you see). All the staff are amazingly helpful and Abbie, Felix and Natalie went to great lengths to help us with the many activities and day trips we did. If you have young children they are more than catered for with great play area, pool and always someone willing to help keep them entertained! The resort grounds are stunning and extremely well maintained. We all had a fantastic time and its not if but when we will all return!

Room Tip: if you can afford the over water bungalows do it! simply stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tezzac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This would have to be one of our top five ever holidays, the staff were excellent, so personable and willing to help at any time. Restaurant food was superb with the seafood marinara a stand out. Facilities were excellent and the backdrop of the lagoon and local village life an added bonus. There is easy access to Port Vila by bus and other tours & attractions then await. The lagoon is a great kayak (resort supplied) area but take note of tide times and plan accordingly or you may be in for a hard slog back. We had our daughter, husband and grandkids with us and facilities for kids was the best we have seen at a resort, they had a ball on the trampoline, playground and cubby house not to mention the pool. The staff were exceptional with the kids and our thanks go to Annie, Isabel, Tyronne, Sampson, Abbie, Felix and all other staff for an excellent holiday, we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Only advice would be a room further in from the main road, noting that we were the second block of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
4.5 mi away
CoCo Beach Resort
CoCo Beach Resort
#20 of 47 in Port Vila
226 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
201 reviews
4.6 mi away
Angelfish Cove Villas
Angelfish Cove Villas
#27 of 47 in Port Vila
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#4 of 47 in Port Vila
723 reviews
3.5 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#6 of 47 in Port Vila
528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cocomo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocomo Resort

Address: Teomou Road | Tassiriki, Port Vila, Efate 9999, Vanuatu (Formerly Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Vila
#15 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Port Vila
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range: £101 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cocomo Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cocomo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagoon Beach Resort Apartments Hotel Port Vila
Lagoon Beach Hotel Apartments
Lagoon Beach Port Vila
Cocomo Resort Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing