We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Seachange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seachange Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

Our family ( 2 adults, 2 little kids) stayed in the waterside chalet in April. The location was great, an easy 5 to 10 minute walk to the center of town, supermarkets etc. The owners were lovely people and were so willing to give suggestions and advice. Our kids loved searching the coral beach when the tide was low and also loved going out on the kayak and motorboat. The accomodation was very luxurious and couldnt be faulted. It was a great family holiday

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 121212rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    33
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
28
58
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Gorgeous, quiet and, after a month of bungalows, remarkably luxurious. Super clean. Fantastic hospitality. Perfect, absolutely perfect. Rick knows tons and is a generous polyglot soul. It is only fifteen minutes walk to the center of Port Vila. It was perfect for us: luxury to end the trip but not a resort. Discrete. Mellow. Fantastic.

Room Tip: One of the lodges near the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Recovering_Hungarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed in the waterside chalet..... fully contained bungalow style chalet with private Jetty.... It was perfect... It's not luxury holidaying, but it is the closest thing you get to it without paying huge dollars... spa overlooking the water, private jetty, comfy bed, kitchenette, really nice bathroom. Incredibly relaxing place to stay. It's a good 20 min walk to port villa - but theres not a lot in port villa anyway.... get a scooter and see all of efate and then that wont be a problem. The owners/hosts were so friendly and accommodating as well.... go straight to their website for best prices..... I will go back again and again

Room Tip: pay a little extra and get the chalet - you wont regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwt991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Seachange Lodge might not be in the center of Port Vila's "action" , however its only a short walk away, and the Lagoon side is by far more relaxing. The owners are very nice, they will help you with any questions/bookings if you need help. Decent value, cheaper options exist, very clean, well stocked, a bottle of bubbly included. The pool is small and I didn't use it.
Beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the main house will have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maximilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

Seachange Lodge is on the lagoon side of Vila, about 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre. It enjoys a lovely setting with cottages set along a hillside that slopes down to the water, offering great views down to the lagoon and beyond. There are a couple of larger cottages right by the water but the garden cottages higher up are perfectly fine and charming in a homely, comfy sort of way. Mind you, nothing very luxurious but perfect all the same.

The cottages are cool, spacious and come with kitchenettes, while essentials like tea/coffee, etc are provided. Thanks to a very early morning flight into Vila, the first night I was in bed by 9:30 PM, being lulled to sleep by a gentle breeze being blown my way by the pedestal fan. The next morning I was up at the crack of dawn and enjoyed a beautiful sunrise from my patio while breakfasting on fruits from the market and danishes from one of the best bakeries in the region. It was such a restorative experience that for the rest of my stay I woke up at dawn to sit on my patio having breakfast while watching the sun come up (which it did on all but one rather grey morning).

My five day break in Vila was one of the most refreshing and relaxing experiences I have had in the Pacific. Seachange Lodge and its wonderfully hospitable owners, Rick and Wendy, played no small role in making that happen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssjlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

My sons, 26 & 17 years old and I stayed in the Waterview chalet last Christmas for 5 days and we had a fantastic time. Ric and Wendy's hospitality is so welcoming, warm and sincere. The place is very clean and comfortable. It is so peaceful apart from the odd noise that a school of big fish make. It is a pleasant noise though and spectacular to see. Our accommodation has a mezzanine where my boys stayed and I occupied the double bed downstairs with the mosquito net (certainly useful in a tropical place like this). The only downside was the heat in this part of the chalet. Because it is so close to the roof and it is not airconditioned, the boys found it very hot with only one fan. Maybe an extra fan would have helped but we didn't ask. Ric let us use the motorised dinghy and the kayak and didn't even charge us for the use and the petrol. We explored the beautiful waters around us and it was unforgettable. Our place was stocked with some basic items for start up when we arrived. Ample supply of clean crockery, cuttlery and cooking equipment. We'll definitely stay here again. Thanks Ric and Wendy for your hospitality.

Rose R, Martin and Patrick

Room Tip: If you have a hired car, the Waterside chalet is great because it is on a steep slope going down to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadTraveller_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at Seachange Lodge for the first few nights of our honeymoon. We had a lovely time and Rick you were a great host. We stayed at the Waterside Chalet which was beautiful - very private and secluded and just what we were after. The use of the motorised dingy was fantastic. We loved our stay with you guys and would highly recommend your place to anyone. Rick also was kind enough to offer us a ride in his car to our next destination saving us $$$ on a taxi ride - many thanks for that. Thanks again, Rich and Fern.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichandFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
0.2 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.5 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.6 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seachange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seachange Lodge

Property: Seachange Lodge
Address: Captain Cook Avenue, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Phone Number:
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Seachange Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly special place for special people, with an ambience you can't buy. Six units tucked away in an exotic tropical garden. It’s like visiting a friend's house instead of being in a commercial resort. From the Waterside Chalet, to the Garden Cottage that is ideal for two couples or a family group, to the single room studios, the care to detail makes Seachange Lodge that very special place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Seachange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seachange Lodge Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing