We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Family Holiday Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel And Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #21 of 48 Hotels in Port Vila
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Family Holiday Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

I just got back from our holiday last night, I'm already planning the next trip back to The Grand Hotel! I wish we had that same amount of service and friendless here in NZ. They made my family feel like they we were part of theirs.This hotel is perfect for location - we have a young family so we just walked downstairs and you are in the main street, no need to catch a bus or taxi anywhere. Great facilities,one very big plus and draw card was the Dinner menu, fantastic - great selection and to get a main for 1900 Vatu was great, we had a look at Chill Restaurant mains 2800, the Waterfront Cafe 2800 main .... And also you have great water front views of the harbour - we sat outside, so the others didn't compare, we ate there 3 nights out of 4.
The lunch menu was great as well, and priced very well at 1000 vatu $10 , we mostly ate by the pool.
Breakfast had a great selection cereal,yogurts,pastries etc,also full cooked breakfast.
Bar, great staff, happy hour was great - 5-6pm all week,Wednesday 5-7pm, 300 vatu for a Tusker $3 ... cant beat that !
The staff were fantastic - always looked after us, they loved the kids - I cannot fault them in anyway, always smiling and helpful.Room service was done every day, all up to a high standard - I felt comfortable enough to leave valuables out - and they were always untouched.
The rooms are very modern - the beds are massive and to die for, we had interconnecting rooms which was great more space for us and the kids, harbour views were magnificent, I have also stayed before in the panorama suite before - that had wall to wall glass facing the water, very very nice. So we think this is a fantastic Hotel based on staff/location/amenities bars restaurant casino etc, I couldn't actually fault anything - we will be back !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenn_hoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    209
    85
    18
    8
See reviews for
55
267
36
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed at the Grand last week - unfortunately I only had 5 nights here. I arrived in the middle of the night it was only 15 minutes from the airport and it felt like we were driving through the back country lanes. I got to wake up in the morning to the most spectacular view of the harbour and Iririkki Island. It looks just like the brochures! The harbour view rooms have a balcony and everything that you could need and were very clean. The breakfast was a little repetitive but the staff were so lovely, helpful and friendly you didn't notice. The French influence is evident in the pastries and the bread (my waistline definitely suffered). Yum. The casino area is just off the main reception and rather small but big enough to tempt you to have a flutter. It was nice to have a little action in the hotel all day and night as the rest of the town is a little quiet in the evenings. The location of the hotel is perfect - a five minute walk into the main town past the Au Bon Marche (supermarket that sells everything) and the local fruit and vegetable market open 6 days (and nights - the stall holders sleep on the ground next to their stalls). If you love to dive and swim the options are endless and the snorkelling is incredible- 2 metres off the beach on Hideaway Island you feel like you are swimming in a tropical fishtank. I really enjoyed my time in Vanuatu and would love to go back soon.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChampagneJane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Situated on Port Vila harbor across from Iririki Island and directly on the town's main drag, the Grand was a considerable surprise. My refurbished room featured spectacular 180 degree views, from city to harbor. These "panorama" rooms are essentially mini-suites and if you can swing the money, are more than worth the extra vatu. The shower pressure was phenomenal and the bathroom had...very unusual...double sinks. Modern, slick, and everything worked. Unique bathtub with electric privacy screen allows one to soak while taking in the harbor view.

Excellent, friendly, responsive hotel staff (English & French spoken). ATM right at the main entrance. Restaurant was capable and prices fair. Breakfast buffet was a bit skimpy, but if it's included in your price it's hard to complain. Beautiful pool right on the harbor, with spacious sun deck practically in the water. All rooms face the harbor, so you'll have a view no matter which one is assigned to you. The casino is an acquired choice...it's there if you want it. Internet available. Easy walk through town. Free shuttle over to Iririki island. Nightclub on top floor...I was two floors below it and never heard the noise.

Room Tip: Splurge a little and get one of the panorama rooms, as high up as possible. You'll be glad you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just spent 5 days in Venuatu. I was unsure on where to stay, and decided to stay at The Grand Hotel, in the centre of Port Vila. During my stay, I visited many of the other resorts, and was extremely happy with my choice - The Grand is a gorgeous property, with great food, rooms, decor, facilities and service. The location is central and convenient. I will recommend The Grarnd Hotel and Casino to anyone and everyone that is planning on staying in Port Vila.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MurrayDPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydneye13
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Grand Hotel and Casino has a great pool, great restaurant and helpful staff. Food is good, drinks are cold and Hemisphere bar has a great view in the evening. It's amazing decor is the best kept secret in Port Vila. If you want a convenient clean place to stay in town this is it. We stayed over New Year's Eve and couldn't fault it. Walking distance to the Markets and a short cab ride away to other incredible restaurants. Looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Just ask for the room with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneye13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Cant fault it**. Rooms well appointed and great views, service first class. Breakfast would be as good as I have had anywhere. Great selection, coffee good and strong, egg station on the ball. Selection of pastries just amazing.
** The only thing I might add in the rooms is a tray in the shower to hold the soap/shampoo (as opposed to on the floor).
If you are going on business THIS IS the place to stay. Good walk througfh town or the other way to Erakor lagoon. Watch the comings and goings in the harbour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

What is a holiday without a couple of hiccups that soon become “the good old days” or “do you remember when” conversation starters.

We decided, pretty much on a spur of the moment whim early this year that we would travel to Vanuatu for Easter and after looking at many options settled on the Grand Hotel & Casino.

Our initial experience with the communications we received from the hotel before we arrived, the transport from the airport and check-in process was excellent and we were looking forward to a great stay.

Unfortunately, despite our booking request for a non-smoking room we found ourselves in a smoking room which dampened our enthusiasm a little. A call to reception quickly sorted out the problem and we moved, again unfortunately into a room that I later found out from conversations with the General Manager was meant to be “off-line” but given the hotel was nearly fully booked just reflected the intentions of the front desk staff to be of as much assistance to the guests as possible (an attitude that we observed many more times during our stay)

We were just settling into that room when the reservations manager called and said he had another option for us and he would come and assist us to move to room 501 which is one of the best “non-suite” rooms in the hotel. It was called a panaroma view room and is very accurately named. Floor to ceiling windows that take in around a 240 degree view over the water and towards Iririki island. A comfortable king bed, a sitting area and great marble bathroom with plenty of space and light and, for me, the essential separate walk in shower made the time .we spent in our room very comfortable.

We would certainly try go back to that room again on our next trip to Vanuatu, it was all the web pages claimed it to be and then some.

We had a great time and were impressed by the happy smiling attitude of all the staff we saw / met during our stay. We were also very impressed by the way the senior staff in the management group (Dean as GM, Sarah as F&B Manager and Khadag as Senior Chef de Cuisine) were a very visible, friendly presence around the hotel, always had time to stop and chat to the guests and were willing to pitch in and help the staff, to us the mark of a management group who know what they are doing.

The hotel location is excellent and provides a great base for wandering around and doing some shopping, walking along the water front, visiting the markets and generally being in the thick of the action. The added bonus of an in-house casino finished off the experience.

We really didn’t know what to expect but were super impressed with the whole Grand experience and are already making plans to visit again

Room Tip: go for the high floors, be firm about non smoking if that is important and if you can afford the lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnMac1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 48 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#27 of 48 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing