We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

At the end of my pacific tour, and had to come back to Port Vila for a few nighst, the Grand is a great hotel when you visit on business, the hotel is in the centre of town, have a great room service menu and awesome showers. The staff are fantastic, very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The Brewery is across the road which is great, a few good restaurants in walking distance

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    221
    87
    20
    8
See reviews for
58
277
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

For some time now I have stayed in Vila at the Grand Casino, it is not without notice that the new approach to service and the comfort for the traveller has shone through, the team do their utmost to ensure your stay is pleasant and always serve with a wonderful smile.

Room Tip: All rooms have views, higher is better for sights, high standard in settings
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

we were in port vila for the second time this year we didn`t stay in the hotel but the rooms look fine.we really liked the restaurant great food and value .all lunches 1200 vanu and dinner 1900 vanu and they give you400 vanu for the poker machine for lunch and 1000 for dinner thats value.then i went and won 5000 vanu how good is that.meals are a good size and service was the best in port vila.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for six nights from 6th til the 11th April 2012.

Upon arriving into the Grand Hotel, we were greeted by wonderful staff who offered us mocktails. We were surprised by the grand gesture, as they took our luggage away to our room. The very first impression I got was "WOW". The hotel itself is located in Port Villa CDB, where it offered perfect location to all the restaurants, cafes, a market and a supermaket. Grand Hotel is also across Iririki Island which is a boat ride away.

Our room was given to us by mistake, which we learnt later but it took the staff a few days to finally move us. We originally chose the "Panoramic Room" but instead we were given the Executive Room which was quite roomy and had fantastic views of the sea and Port Villa.

Overall, I was really impressed with this hotel as it had everything we needed. The food however, was ok and was quite pricey so don't expect five star meals. Hotel staff were excellent and always smiled, and made sure we were comfortable.

I would definitely stay at the Grand Hotel in a heart beat. Well, that's probably because I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Wake up early and go to the Markets which is a stroll away from the hotel. You will experience the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I just got back from our holiday last night, I'm already planning the next trip back to The Grand Hotel! I wish we had that same amount of service and friendless here in NZ. They made my family feel like they we were part of theirs.This hotel is perfect for location - we have a young family so we just walked downstairs and you are in the main street, no need to catch a bus or taxi anywhere. Great facilities,one very big plus and draw card was the Dinner menu, fantastic - great selection and to get a main for 1900 Vatu was great, we had a look at Chill Restaurant mains 2800, the Waterfront Cafe 2800 main .... And also you have great water front views of the harbour - we sat outside, so the others didn't compare, we ate there 3 nights out of 4.
The lunch menu was great as well, and priced very well at 1000 vatu $10 , we mostly ate by the pool.
Breakfast had a great selection cereal,yogurts,pastries etc,also full cooked breakfast.
Bar, great staff, happy hour was great - 5-6pm all week,Wednesday 5-7pm, 300 vatu for a Tusker $3 ... cant beat that !
The staff were fantastic - always looked after us, they loved the kids - I cannot fault them in anyway, always smiling and helpful.Room service was done every day, all up to a high standard - I felt comfortable enough to leave valuables out - and they were always untouched.
The rooms are very modern - the beds are massive and to die for, we had interconnecting rooms which was great more space for us and the kids, harbour views were magnificent, I have also stayed before in the panorama suite before - that had wall to wall glass facing the water, very very nice. So we think this is a fantastic Hotel based on staff/location/amenities bars restaurant casino etc, I couldn't actually fault anything - we will be back !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenn_hoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stayed at the Grand last week - unfortunately I only had 5 nights here. I arrived in the middle of the night it was only 15 minutes from the airport and it felt like we were driving through the back country lanes. I got to wake up in the morning to the most spectacular view of the harbour and Iririkki Island. It looks just like the brochures! The harbour view rooms have a balcony and everything that you could need and were very clean. The breakfast was a little repetitive but the staff were so lovely, helpful and friendly you didn't notice. The French influence is evident in the pastries and the bread (my waistline definitely suffered). Yum. The casino area is just off the main reception and rather small but big enough to tempt you to have a flutter. It was nice to have a little action in the hotel all day and night as the rest of the town is a little quiet in the evenings. The location of the hotel is perfect - a five minute walk into the main town past the Au Bon Marche (supermarket that sells everything) and the local fruit and vegetable market open 6 days (and nights - the stall holders sleep on the ground next to their stalls). If you love to dive and swim the options are endless and the snorkelling is incredible- 2 metres off the beach on Hideaway Island you feel like you are swimming in a tropical fishtank. I really enjoyed my time in Vanuatu and would love to go back soon.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChampagneJane41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Situated on Port Vila harbor across from Iririki Island and directly on the town's main drag, the Grand was a considerable surprise. My refurbished room featured spectacular 180 degree views, from city to harbor. These "panorama" rooms are essentially mini-suites and if you can swing the money, are more than worth the extra vatu. The shower pressure was phenomenal and the bathroom had...very unusual...double sinks. Modern, slick, and everything worked. Unique bathtub with electric privacy screen allows one to soak while taking in the harbor view.

Excellent, friendly, responsive hotel staff (English & French spoken). ATM right at the main entrance. Restaurant was capable and prices fair. Breakfast buffet was a bit skimpy, but if it's included in your price it's hard to complain. Beautiful pool right on the harbor, with spacious sun deck practically in the water. All rooms face the harbor, so you'll have a view no matter which one is assigned to you. The casino is an acquired choice...it's there if you want it. Internet available. Easy walk through town. Free shuttle over to Iririki island. Nightclub on top floor...I was two floors below it and never heard the noise.

Room Tip: Splurge a little and get one of the panorama rooms, as high up as possible. You'll be glad you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
665 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing