We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“best for business travellers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is nice but a little tired. Shower was grotty which is the only bad thing I can say about room. Views from room balcony are beautiful. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast buffet was excellent as were the main meals. Location for access to town is perfect. Convenient for tours or shopping. Pool is not large and would become overcrowded very quickly, but many lounges are supplied to take in the view. Easy access to Irririki Island via ferry for a fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susankris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear susankris

Thank you for your feedback, it is good to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently reviewing our rooms including our showers, to identify areas for improvement.

Again, thank you for your feedback, it is most appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    211
    85
    18
    8
See reviews for
57
269
36
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on the main street in Vila, making it a good choice for business in Vila.

I think the highlights of this hotel were the friendly and helpful staff, and the views onto Vila and Iririki (amazing at sunset).

My room was located on the fifth floor. While it was pleasantly furnished and confortable, there were a couple of cracked tiles in the bathroom, some stains on the carpet in the corridor which make the hotel look a bit older than it proably is.

The breakfast is OK with the usual breads, cereals, fruit and bacon and eggs. I much prefered the hotel restaurant in the evening though, The organic Vanuatu beef they serve is out of this world, probably the best meat I ever had.

I have been to Vila many times and stayed at several hotels and resorts. All in all, I would say that for a holiday I would rather stay at a resort such as Iririki for the beach and direct snorkelling access, but the Grand is great if you like being close to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneybanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear barneybanana

Thanks for the great feedback, it is good to hear that you enjoy Vanuatu. Our location is superb for those wanting to explore Vanuatu while our staff are no doubt our greatest asset.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

This was my first time travelling solo as I was looking for some R&R. I was not disappointed with the Grand Hotel and Casino. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
The food was fantastic and the staff even catered for any whimsy I asked for. If I asked for a coffee and cake at 3pm (after lunch had finished) the staff were more than happy to oblige.
I was so impressed with everything that I sent the staff and management flowers to thank them for everthing.
I will be back.
Lynda Davies - Room 511

Room Tip: My room was in the centre of the building on level 5. I would probably recommend the side closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 19Serenity51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear 19Serenity51

Thank you for the wonderful feedback and the flowers. By general consensus the flowers were put pride of place on the lobby bar.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and Vanuatu, we look forward to having the pleasure of your company soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Good location and staff are so friendly. We always travel with the kids but after 13 years husband and I have a short getaway and The Grand Hotel and Casino in Port Vila is a good choice for us. Restaurants and Shopping area is just outside the hotel. Buses available anytime for just 150 vatu each. Such a beautiful balcony view of the Harbour and Iririki Island.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktubs_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Ktubs_08

Thanks for providing the great feedback, it was good to hear that you were able to enjoy your precious time away.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Booked online and without prior knowledge of the hotel, it proved a pleasant surprise. Situated on the water front, all rooms had a view across the bay facing the sunset. The rooms were very clean, well equipped if a bit dated but in good condition. The TV was flat screen (but did not really interest us). The bathroom was spacious with a deep long bath (bliss) and the amenities replaced daily. The view was magnificent and the sunsets beautiful with a little balcony for perfect viewing.
The service was outstanding. Super friendly and efficient. There was nothing that was too much trouble and always with a smile. This was across the board from reception, house keeping and restaurant. The restaurant was good value for good quality and the breakfasts ample. The main street and markets are just a hop, skip and jump away and anything further can be accessed by the endless stream of taxies and busses. The corridor carpets need a change and perhaps fluffier towels but small points in the greater importance of things. We loved it and would be happy to recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank you to the staff that really made our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: levels é, 3 and 4 give you a better view "across" the bay rather than "down" to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chitchat68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear chitchat68

Thanks for the great feedback, the staff here a wonderful and a true asset to the hotel. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu.

Thanks for the endorsement, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at The Grand for 10 days in Jul/Aug. Had never been to Vanuatu before so wanted something central and walking distance to everything. We were not disappointed with the hotel. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for us. We organised alot of tours and every question was answered with a smile. We were on the 1st floor but still had a good view of the harbour. If you are after somewhere that is close to the shops and restaurants and has great service then we recommend The Grand!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Steve B

Many thanks for the great feedback. It is good to hear that you departed Vanuatu with positive impressions, both of the country and the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Excellent location! Grand hotel is right across from irrikki island and a 2 second walk from the supermarket and market place. About a 5 min walk from the town centre! I cant stress enough on its great location! The staff here are amazing! EXCELLENT customer service, so friendly and helpful! Our room was lovely, over looking the harbour and irrikki island from our balcony! Just great! Room service was good for when I was in bed sick! The pool was beautiful and relaxing, and the deck was right on the harbour! The casino was fun and relaxed, only thing I didn't like was that smoking is allowed! yuck! The restaurant is great! Breakfast Is amazing! all cereals and juices, fresh fruit, pastries and loaves, they switch up the hot food everyday. anything from baked beans to mini pancakes! My favourite part was the egg station! A chef cooking your eggs for you however you like, right in front of you! Amazing omelettes! The restaurant is nice as it too has big windows so you can view the harbour and boats. The flying fish gave everyone a good show one morning! Food and accommodation is very well priced! Loved it! We are going back for our one year wedding anniversary next month and I cant wait to stay here again! I will never stay anywhere else! Absolutely excellent! We do hope the excellent Fabius (tour desk guy) is still there! He was amazing! Impeccable customer service and so friendly! He was a highlight of our trip! I also visited the spa! Amazing! Hot stone massage was beautiful! They do everything, facials, massages, hair makeup! Beautiful ladies who are so friendly! This hotel has everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Dear samantha b

Thanks for the great feedback I am glad to hear that your stay went so well.

While our location is fantastic our staff are certainly second to none. I will have great pleasure in passing your feedback on.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#14 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
2.4 mi away
Nasama Resort
Nasama Resort
#7 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.1 mi away
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
Erakor Island Resort & Spa
#5 of 47 in Port Vila
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing