We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location and great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and great views”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in late August, it was our first visit to Port Villa. We arrived to the hotel very late at night and the first room we were given was very smokey, so next morning we requested a new room and were given a choice of two which was very nice. The rooms are quite newly refurbished but the main corridors outside the rooms badly need the carpets renewed. Unfortunately people can smoke on the balconies and also in the casino so there is always the smell of stale smoke around, I don't know the answer to this problem. The foyer is very nice and we spent a few enjoyable afternoons there enoying cocktails. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening, the view is stunning. The breakfast each day was very nice, great location with a fantastic view. We didn't go swimming in the pool but sat outside a few times, lovely. We picked this hotel because of its central location and were not disappointed, it was perfect for everywhere. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, all in all we enjoyed ourselves. Oh yes, the beds were very comfortable which is important to me.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a room on a hight floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robyn010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Dear Robyn0 10

Thanks for the great feedback, it great to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Our staff certainly are a wonderful asset to the hotel followed closely by our location and views. With regards to the decor, we do have a refurbishment plan for this year where we will be looking to address things such as the corridor carpet.

Thanks again for the great feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    214
    86
    19
    8
See reviews for
58
274
36
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Fair hotel with attached casino. Slow front desk. Clean pool and outdoor deck overlooking the harbour. Hard to get into the harbour water - beware sea urchins and boats. Towels from front desk only. Adequate numbers banana lounges. Breakfast average. Good omelettes. Soya milk available. Nice restaurant setting. Room clean. Dozen cable TV channels. Shower very temperamental in temperature. Beds comfortable. Wifi free but patchy. Safe in rooms. Casino with 8 or so tables and pokies - blah. No gymnasium. In the middle of the city.

Room Tip: All have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Dear Phil L

Thanks for the feedback, being a central city hotel, safe access to swimming in the harbour is somewhat restricted. However, we are well situated to take advantage of the many beaches in Port Vila as they are a close bus ride away.

Our location and staff are our forte, and we certainly remain very focussed on improving the service wherever possible.

I do hope that overall you enjoyed your stay, and Vanuatu in general. I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Port Vila in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have been very slow to review our visit to Vila for the spectacular Vanuatu Cup Kiwani races.
We have travelled and stayed in Port Vila many times, but we can never go past the location, value for money, luxury and service of the Grand hotel and casino. The Friday night happy hour in The Hemisphere Bar is legendary and popular with ex pats as well as tourists. The views are
to die for and you really feel like you are sitting on top of the World. When entering the Grand Foyer on arrival at the hotel, you are immediately taken by the magnificent vista of the Harbour and pool area, (where lunch and grazing meals are served with your freshly squeezed Lime Juice Cocktails)
Breakfast on the Terrace at Crystals Restaurant is also a must, with the local children on their way in from the islands traveling to school on the harbour. It is the only place in the world i
can hear the singing and laughter of little children on their way to school. We have stayed at 8 different resorts in Vila, and they all have their good points, however, for convenience, reliability, style and definitely value for money, we always choose the Grand. We have considered a place of our own in Vila, as we feel it is a home away from home now, but why would you bother with the expense when it is all laid out for you and you are treated like old friends in the heart of the Town? I hope to return before Christmas, for another Happy Hour in the
Hemisphere bar and another Sunset Cruise on the harbour. Tankyu Tumas to all.

Room Tip: All harbour view rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bombersefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Bombersefc

Thanks for the fantastic feedback, it is great to hear you think of us as home, certainly Vanuatu is a wondrous place if you take the time to listen and enjoy.

We are pleased with a great location and wonderful staff.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the next couple of months.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We had a short break in Vanuatu for my wife's birthday. Arranging the hotel through their website and direct emails to arrange airport transfers were a breeze. We had a room on the 5th floor and the views were amazing, across the bay, and the sunsets were not to be missed. The location is great for a walk down the main street, but the shopping was not that good. You certainly only go for the relaxing atmosphere and the scenery and not the shopping. Staff were very helpful with local knowledge. The lobby did smell of smoke from the casino but no where as much as I thought it would based on the previous reviews. Nothing is rushed in this place, or in port Vila in general, and attention to detail is not a high point. Don't expect matching plates or cups with your meals, but hey, that is part of the experience. Buffet breakfast is basic, but the omelettes are well worth trying. I was surprised that the fruit appeared to be tinned fruit, considering the tropical location and availability of local fruits. The rooms were basic, but the views made up for it. The shower is small but adequate. The air conditioner in our room had a mind of its own, and you really do need the air conditioning. I would definitely return to this hotel for the location and views. You could sit on the balcony for hours and watch the local boating traffic.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Tryatleastonce

Thanks for the great feedback, we are blessed with great views and a great location, in what is a great country!

We certainly work toward achieving a high stand though I am sorry to hear the attention to detail was lacking in parts of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very pleasantly surprised, as 'The Grand" didn't even make it into Lonely Planet, and some TripAdvisor reviews were not great. The staff were so helpful and so pleasant. Breakfast (included in our room-rate) was superb, and the view from our balcony was out of this world, with constant comings and goings of water-taxis and ferries just beyond the hotel pool below us. Not to mention the exquisite sunsets. To top it off we won in the casino on our first and only visit.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a 'harbour view room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Bob B

Congratulations on your win! It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Vanuatu is a magical place that can leave ever-lasting impressions....all good.

Thanks for the great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was my first stay at this hotel and I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff throughout the hotel are excellent and very efficient. My room was on the third floor and had a nice view out over the pool area and beyond to the harbour and Irriki Resort. The room was a good size for one person and would have coped easily enough for two. Small fridge, wifi, safe for valuables and bathroom with bath and shower were nice to have. The TV had about 7 channels so usually something okay late at night though the cable channels seem to repeat content over and over. Check in and check out were easy and professional. Airport transfers were arranged by the hotel and added to my bill, so that was simple. The location of the hotel is great if you need to be right in Vila. My only tiny issue is the design of the hotel. If you are like me and like to sleep with your blinds and windows open then this might be a problem. The semi-circular design means that other guests at the hotel can see straight into you bedroom. I was just a bit more careful on that score than usual :) would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pussintaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear pussintaps

Thank you for your great feedback. We are certainly blessed with a great location and a great hotel. It is good to hear that you have enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Definitely the best located hotel in Port Vila. Walking distance to everything in town with every room having great views across the harbour and to Iririki Island, especially at sunset. The rooms were on the smallish side and the shower was very small, but it was neat at tidy with everything you need.
The food was very impressive, the buffet breakfast was nice and fresh with everything you want. Dinner was a lot better than we expected, the sharing platters were big and great quality. The staff were very friendly and helpful, always willing to help and if they couldn't they would find someone that could.
The only downside kids the smell of stale cigarette smoke in the lobby from the casino, but aside from that a great hotel for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Andrew M

Many thanks for your great feedback. It is good to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its wonderful location.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Breakas Beach Resort Vanuatu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing