We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Value!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Value!!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My daughter and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Grand Hotel and it was everything that I hoped it would be and better. All staff were wonderful, view and position fabulous and rooms extremely comfortable. Airconditioning great & shower always hot. I believe that it is great value and would not hesitate to return in the future. It is also perfect to base yourself there & it is easy to access transport to all of the great places to visit & snorkel. Cascade Waterfalls & Hideaway Island are a must! Just fabulous, thank you!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th or 5th floor are the best and best to go for the middle or left hand side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Janet F

Thanks for the great feedback, we are certainly proud of our great staff and are blessed with the perfection location.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    219
    87
    20
    8
See reviews for
58
275
37
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I stayed at Grand Hotel And Casino for three nights and I was positively surprised. The hotel is supposed to be the biggest building in Port Vila, looks kind of expensive from the outside but it seems that I managed to get a good deal during off season. The rooms are nice, the balcony view is amazing and the staff was very helpful all the time. Also when my airport taxi had a delay of more than 30 minutes the front desk kept on calling after the taxi until it finally worked out. Breakfast buffet is okay for the price. WiFi-Internet is for free. Location is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffenWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear SteffenWu

Thanks for the great feedback, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkdale, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It is great to wake up each morning to the view of life on the water in Vanuatu. We found the staff always friendly and helpful. The bathroom showed signs of being in a tropical climate although our room was cleaned each day. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast especially the offerings of the egg station chefs. Prices in the hotel for food and drinks were lower than many of the other hotels and restaurants in Port Vila. The restaurant menu offered a good variety of meals. The hotel is close to the main centre of Port Vila and other restaurants. Taxis and taxi boats park next door to the hotel so it is easy to engage a driver if wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 56turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear 56turtle

Thanks for the great feedback, it is good to hear that you enjoyed the Grand, and Vanuatu. Our staff and location are most definitely a positive selling point.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Grand is in a great location, particularly as I was in town for work. The hotel it pretty good, although a couple of disappointing things, in my three week stay I think i had lukewarm water in the bathroom for a few days, otherwise it was pretty cold! Nothing like a cold shower to wake you up. And the breakfast was a bit ho-hum. Otherwise though, the staff were great, very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inajar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear inajar

Thanks for your feedback, our location is certainly one of our greatest assets as are the staff. We will certainly look in to the hot water and are in the process of reviewing our breakfast buffet.

Thanks again.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a very relaxing 7 day holiday. Staff are excellent and helpful. The pool was a bit cold but great outlook. Rooms are very clean and cool. Go for the Panorama suite the views are spectacular. The food is cheap and the selection great, particularly the daily specials. We celebrated our anniversary while there and were made to feel very special. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: Panorama corner suite was the best, but other sea view rooms are equally as good for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 332VickiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear 332VickiS

Thanks for the great feedback, it is great to hear we were able to assist you in enjoying such a special day.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We did not stay here on our visit luckly but did have lunch at the restaurant which was very disappointing. The décor is very aged and Casino very small not at all what I thought it would be. We had to wait quite a bit of time to find someone to seat us at the restaurant and it took even longer to find a clean knife to use. The food was ok but would not eat there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Sharonsos

Thank for your feedback, I am genuinely sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience at Crystals Restaurant. We have such a strong reputation for great food and service I am immensely disappointed we were not able to show this to you. Please accept my sincerest apologies for your frustration.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Grand. It was perfectly located for meeting the locals and seeing the island. The restaurant was excellent, the room and service fine. All staff were friendly and nothing was a problem. Perfect if you don't want to be at a "resort" but want a special holiday. We did not have any issue with smoke , as has been recorded in past reviews. A perfect week away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Wendy M

Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that Vanuatu was the right tonic.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#12 of 47 in Port Vila
1,465 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
662 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing