We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vila Views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel And Casino
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Port Vila
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Vila Views”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are wanting to be in the thick of things this is the place to stay. Right in town so you can walk to all the restaurants and bars. Rooms all have a water view with glorious sunsets looking towards Iririki Is. Rooms were nice though the air con is fairly non-existent - a constant 25 really and that is if you shut the door and close the curtain to stop the sun in the afternoon.Breakfasts were good with an omelette/egg bar. It is lovely sitting on the terrace overlooking the pool and water. The curry night was excellent. One downfall is the smell of smoke in the lobby as you walk in that comes from the casino.The much touted Hemisphere Bar on the top floor is disappointingly only for VIP's or private functions. Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Probably third floor and higher is the best but you can get a view from any level really. The hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaylegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear gaylegreg

Thanks for the great feedback it is good to hear you enjoyed Vila. Please be assured that we will look in to the air-conditioning immediately. With regards to The Hemisphere Room, it is available for hotel guests with the only exception being if it has been reserved for private use.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Carey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    218
    86
    20
    8
See reviews for
58
275
37
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June this year. We found it to be an excellent choice. It seems that all rooms have an excellent view of the harbour, are clean and comfortable. The shower was hot and had good water pressure. The buffet breakfast had a good variety of bakery products, cereals, fruits, juices and hot food, with eggs cooked and served at your request. The staff were all local, very friendly and helpful. The lounge bar was relaxing as was the pool bar area. It's right in the centre of town and next to the ferry to Irriki island, where you pay 1500vt each to go there but you get a voucher of equivalent value to use on the island for hire of things like snorkelling gear, canoes, etc or you can use it for food and drinks so essentially it's free to go there. We had dinner a couple of nights in the restaurant and it was great food and service. We heard a lot of negative comments about other resorts in and around Port Vila, but the Grand Hotel is just that for a small island nation...Grand. We'd stay here again and we've already recommended it to a couple of other people.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to have harbour views. You can watch the cruise ships come in which is quite an ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayBee5409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear JayBee5409

Thanks for the great feedback and the word of mouth advertising! It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay and all that both Vanuatu and the Grand have to offer.

We look forward to having you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Wonderful place to stay. Right in the center of town. Walking distance for shopping.
Staff where friendly and nothing was too much. Highly recommended.
Thank you for making our trip stress free and easy.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hdring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear hdring

Thanks for the great feedback, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we were able to make it as stress free as possible.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Is a good choice if you just want to walk out the front door, the hotel rooms are very comfortable and in good condition. The views are fantastic and are probably the best in town. The restaurant was a let down, not alot of service and the manager smelt of cigarettes every time we where there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Willy S

Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback. It is good to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Please be assured we will be following up on your comments regarding the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Finished off our stay in Vanuatu with 3 nights here. Booked online - panorama suite, requested high floor and early check in. Arrived early, couldnt check in til 2 so left our bags and went to town.
Convenient location within walking distance to shops, duty free alcohol shop and restaurants.
Pros - Great Location, every room has a balcony with a view of the harbour, fantastic cooked breakfast, friendly staff, casino for entertainment (half price drinks for hotel patrons), watch the locals go about their daily business, room service menu well priced, but no menu in room.
Cons - aircon didnt work our whole stay (getting someone from AUS to come and fix!), our room was right next to a spotlight, no handle on outside of balcony door, so don't shut all the way or you may not get back in! Forgot our wake up call and also our ordered breakfast on last morning, pool was shut the first day for maintenance.
We would stay there again for the convenient location.

Room Tip: Room 201 is right next to a spotlight, as would most of the panoramic suites be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear frangipani69

Thank you for your posting and feedback, it is most appreciated. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our location is certainly king as are our staff.

We are sorry to hear of your difficulty with the air-conditioning, we do endeavour to have it serviced regularly however it is sourced from Australia. Please be assured we will follow up on your feedback to ensure we do not have any recurrence.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Spent 7 days at this hotel in Port Villa. overall, feelings are quite positive. It is the best accommodation in Port Villa - there are resorts further out. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall the people in Port Villa are the genuinely friendly people we have ever met. The hotel lacks sometimes as it tries to meet international standards - but would return.

Room Tip: You need a room on the third level or higher to ensure an excellent view of the stunning bay and poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ColinHopkings

Thanks for the review, we are certainly endeavouring to achieve higher standards at all times. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A nice size hotel in a very convenient spot, but a 'boutique' casino. The games room had a bit of everything and a lovely room to look at - but would be the smallest I have been to. The food was good, staff friendly (and local - not transient workers from Europe, etc., which kept the authenticity). Because it is a casino, there wasn't a lot of children, so poolside was very peaceful :).Prices for accommodation, food and drinks was about 75% of what you would pay in Australia. Rooms were comfortable and incredible view! Booking tours each day with hotel staff was easy, and the tours were great fun!

Room Tip: Third floor upwards for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carey N, General Manager at Grand Hotel And Casino, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear LeahTC

Thanks for the great review it is good to read you enjoyed both your stay and Vanuatu. We are certainly blessed with great staff, sensational views and even better location. I trust you were successful in the casino, it deserves its reputation as the best in Vanuatu.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Carey Norton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.7 mi away
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
Warwick Le Lagon - Vanuatu
#13 of 47 in Port Vila
1,463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
Holiday Inn Resort Vanuatu
#15 of 47 in Port Vila
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#29 of 47 in Port Vila
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Melanesian Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Terraces Boutique Apartments
0.2 mi away
Iririki Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel And Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel And Casino

Property: Grand Hotel And Casino
Address: Lini Highway, Port Vila, Efate 0001, Vanuatu (Formerly Sebel Vanuatu)
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
#12 Luxury Hotel in Port Vila
#17 Family Hotel in Port Vila
#20 Romantic Hotel in Port Vila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel And Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel And Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Port Vila
Sebel Vanuatu Port Vila
Grand Hotel And Casino Vanuatu/Port Vila

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing