We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic comfortable house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Port Vila House Location pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Port Vila House Location
pool view
pool
bedroom 2
bathroom
kitchen
ensuite
interior
dining
landscaped walkway
BBQ
pool
lounge
view
grounds
pool
pool
house
view
view
master bedroom
studio bathroom
studio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Port Vila, Efate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Megsy911
Willoughby, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic comfortable house”
Reviewed 22 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a group of 7 on holiday, 3 teenagers, 2 toddlers and 2 adults so needed a place that would cater for all. This place was perfect, it was big enough that the teenagers had their own space. The pool was a hit, we loved that after a big day we had the pool to ourselves instead of sharing with other hotel guests.

The air-con in the bedrooms was a plus, as was the large living area nd deck where everyone could spread out. The kitchen and laundry had everything you need for your stay, makes packing much lighter!

Location was perfect, quieter than in town and with magical views. Great few restaurants within walking distance and buses running past the house into town all day.

Owner was great in answering all questions and local staff were helpful and on hand if needed.

Would definitely recommend for a family holiday, it made me live Vanuatu and want to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KellyH495...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Amazing View”
Reviewed 7 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our week in Vanuatu couldn't have been better and this house was a big contributor to that! There was plenty of space inside with all the amenities we needed for a relaxing stay. The garden and pool were kept very clean and tidy with a shaded area for the hottest part of the day. Buses frequently pass the front of the property so transport is no problem and The Stone Grill was a short walk down the road with great food and helpful staff.

Couldn't be happier with the information Glenn provided and the services available. I have recommended this house to all my friends and family!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_Girl...
Gladstone Queensland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best house in Port Vila”
Reviewed 29 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This amazing house had all and more than what you would need. We travelled with family and friends and we were so looked after. We arranged airport pick up and departures with Alan, He even stocked up on some beer before our arrival as you can't but alcohol from lunch time Saturday to Monday. The house was well appointed with everything you need. We did use the BBQ area near the pool for all our breakfasts and most of our dinners. We walked down the front steps and within minutes a bus would stop and pick us up and take us to town. We enjoyed the lay back style sitting looking over Irrikki Island and Port Vila.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdwardJ33...
Mount Annan, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fantastic house, Fantastic Views”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Firstly, as stated by others, I wouldn't recommend this house if you have toddlers as it has many stairs - the house is built over many levels. If your children are swimmers expect them to live in the pool - while you sit on the deck and sip whatever you sip. The view is probably the best in Vila. If you can, try and get up early and take a cup of coffee and your camera on the deck to watch the cruise ships arrive - and depart in the evening. The road from the town to the wharf is below the deck level and is accessible by stairs (probably the only house with this street access - a huge plus) After a couple of uses i, an arthritic 75 year old codger, managed it with relative ease. Practically every other vehicle going past this "back gate" is a mini van bus which will take you anywhere for under two dollars (150 vatu) You certainly wont wait for more than 5 minutes...If the stairs are a problem when you come back - EVERY driver that we got back from town willingly delivered us to the front door - they will require directions as this is reached by a private dirt road which is in poor condition. Another great feature of this rental is that you will be picked up and returned to the airport by a very pleasant young man named Allan - you may even be able to arrange a 'tour' with him for a fee. Transport in Vila is like no other town that I have been to and ANY of these bus drivers will negotiate a price to take you around the island (usually 10 thousand vatu but that is only about $120) for example.
The house is well cared for and is cleaned twice a week. The nice garden and pool is looked after daily by a friendly caretaker named Carl and a professional pool cleaning company maintains the pool. When you come down those stairs the cruieship wharf is within walking distance to the left and it is nice to go and look at all the tourists excited to be there for a day, knowing that you are a "local". To the right towards town and easily walked to is the "Warhorse Saloon" , cold beer and great burgers and other food reasonably priced...very relaxed. There are also other good restaurants nearby. Almost next door is a great market and you should go there early in your stay and enquire about duty free prices etc to compare - I personally found it cheaper than in town. If you buy liquor they will deliver it to the airport.
So to sum up - it may not be the cheapest rental property but there is many that is more expensive with a lot less to offer- the ease of getting around, the great view, the great location, the well maintained house, garden and pool, and the owner Glenn, who answered my many questions by email promptly and with great courtesy - five stars!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunemanns...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big house at a great location and magnificent views.”
Reviewed 29 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Large house with plenty of bedrooms in a fantastic part of Port Vila overlooking the harbour and Irikki island. Swimming pool was great. House is well stocked with utensils, towels etc, all you need to be comfortable. Easy walk into town or catch a bus at the doorstep. Allan and Karl assisted us to and from the airport and were friendly to have nearby. Overall we had a great stay and it's a great holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position in Port Vila
Liked least: Multi level
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinemoa_5...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous family holiday rental”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We escaped the Wellington winter to Port Vila, and it was wonderful. We travelled as a family of 5 - my partner and I, 14 & 7yr old boys, and 5yr old girl. Our trip was probably the best family holiday experience I, (as a mum), have had. We were picked up from the airport by the local house manager, (recommend this) and after a short 10 minute drive through the main town centre we arrived at our rented holiday home.

It was a glorious view on a beautiful day (just like the pictures online). We were met by the housekeeper (Rose), who showed us around the house. The house cascades down the slope of the hill over 5 levels. We loved it, the children were amazed, and loved the basement porthole cabin bedroom. (It was also nice and handy to the pool).

The outdoor garden, and poolside living area is fabulous, for both children and adults. The children spent all day every day in the pool, and were so happy, that the adults got to truly relax either in the sun, or in the shade reading, or resting/enjoying the view. It was gorgeous to see the children enjoying themselves so much (and not needing anything). The pool is half shallow (chest on 5year old), and half deep, ( could only just touch the bottom) There were a selection of pool toys (floaties, beach feet, snorkelling stuff etc) including a childs lifejacket, which our little ones took turns with to jump into the deep end again and again.

The house was really well equipped, aircon, fans, kitchen/dining, laundry, towels, bedding etc. We were very comfortable. The temps were 24C to 28C during our stay. The best supermarket in the area is only a few minutes away by bus (loved the bus system), so getting supplies is really easy. With the house being so well located, and the ease with which one can hail a bus or cab, we didn't feel the need to rend a car. (Although there is an impressive secure double garage available).

We also enjoyed the local restaurants (the Stone Grill), being our favourite. This was only a few minutes walk up the road from our house, and there was also a handy ATM machine at the same location.

Rose came through and cleaned the house halfway through our stay, and Carl was regularly tending to the garden and pool (very considerate, helpful and easy to talk to).

Things to consider, that might not suit you:
- the location of the house is very central and perched on the side of a hill, thus there is a gas works across the road, and a bit of port noise, (outside is noticeable, inside not really),
- I couldn't find any dishpowder in the house or at the supermarket, so had to wash by hand
- all the floors are hard, and there is a sweeping open-sided staircase, so if your children are prone to tripping, or not looking at where they are going, they may come unstuck
- we had no issues with safety around the pool, but each parent needs to consider the risk to their child. If they can open the door, they can get in over their head, and you need to be close by. Running on the hard surface with wet feet can also be tricky.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gretchen...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We had an incredibly relaxing stay.”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The house was very easy to locate. The property was immaculately clean, comfortable and had every kitchen and grilling connivence we desired. Property staff was very friendly and easy to get ahold of. We had minor issues but they were handled quickly by the staff and owner. Our older kids lived in the pool which was exactly what we rented this property for. We loved our stay in this home, and thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor patio and pool.

My only caution would be to families with toddlers. This home has many many sets of stairs one of which you can clearly see in the photos as having no wall on one side. Don't use this property if this worries you. We had to watch our 2 year old like a hawk while staying in this property. However, I would highly recommend this lovely home to any with older children. It was a fantastic stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outdoor dining and pool
Liked least: stairs
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing