We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money and just OK!!!”
Review of Hotel Invest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Invest
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Kinshasa is a very expensive city, even for a UK visitor like me! This Hotel does the job at $145 a night for a room for 2.. The rooms are tired and oldish but clean and well serviced - The bed; nice and firm with clean sheets, very small TV with satellite channels (about 5 in total) the bathroom small with bad shower (trickling water but hot) if you can put up with it, you will save money and not end up paying thousands of dollars to stay 1 week in other hotels, as this was my second visit to Kinshasa I was OK staying here! Good points are; The Restaurant is good - Food is well prepared and not too expensive, drink are a little expensive but generally the staff are very friendly with prompt service. The pool location is brill and its a nice place to chill out, so you don't have to spend all your time in the old room! Its also nice to invite friends and relatives round to the pool for a drink or meal..saves on you traveling round in expensive taxis in a generally unsafe city! If you are a well traveled person and you don't mind a little inconvenience this hotel is recommended to save you money so you can enjoy the great food and atmosphere

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cwsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

It is sadly impossible to find a reasonably priced, safe hotel in Kinshasa. Decades of kleptocracy and civil disorder ruined whatever economy there had been. The current massive UN presence awash in hard currency guarantees that all the best hotels, restaurants, goods and services in town are enjoyed (sometimes almost exclusively) by the UN peacekeepers and officials, which drives prices up for everything to be paid in dollars. That's background.

The only reason to stay at the Invest and pay such high prices is to avoid the even more outrageously overpriced Grand Hotel and Memling; more on them in other reviews. The Invest is old and fighting a losing battle against African grime. Maintenance is lacking (windows cracked or shattered, poorly closing doors or windows, threadbare furniture), though the pleasant staff appear to (slowly) do the best they can with what they have. The restaurant is more overpriced that the rooms, but the food was safe - no GI problems.

The pool appears acceptably clean, though I did not use it. There is wifi in some rooms or in the lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapitaineAchab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

A welcome respite from the jungle. We thourougly enjoyed ourselves and the staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montana7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Go Congo, my tour operator, booked me into this place after I selected it from their website.

I was not disappointed. The hotel is very reasonably priced ($80 for a single) and clean with hot water and properly functioning air conditioning. The TV is small and a bit fuzzy but the bed is a generous queen size. The mattress was definitely worn out by too many folks sleepig in the same position but other than that comfortable. The building has a vaguely institutional feel--like a dorm--but its mercifully quiet.

It's a little out of the center of town (about ten minutes from the center) close to the radio station. It's in spacious gardens (there's an outdoor bar there) and boasts a pool. Monkeys and parrots are in a cages in the garden.

They have nightly Congolese fish specialities, but otherwise the food is bland and the menu somewhat limited. All prices are in dollars. The room rate includes a "simple" breakfast of tea or coffee, croissant with jam or honey. If you want eggs, cheese, fruit or Nutella on your croissant this costs $6 more.

I will stay here again when in Kinshasa.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank cambiomerce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arturo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Plum1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinshasa hotels
0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Fleuve Congo
0 mi away
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
#5 of 26 in Kinshasa
105 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Pour Vous
Hotel Pour Vous
#22 of 26 in Kinshasa
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Beatrice Hotel
Beatrice Hotel
#11 of 26 in Kinshasa
32 reviews
0 mi away
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kinshasa
103 reviews
0 mi away
Kin Plaza Arjaan by Rotana
Kin Plaza Arjaan by Rotana
#1 of 26 in Kinshasa
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Invest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Invest

Address: Av. Kabinda | Cité RTNC Lingwala, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Kinshasa
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
About 10 minutes from the city center, Invest Hôtel de Presse offers you 38 rooms and 10 flats, all of them are conditionned and equiped with shower and toilet. A swimming pool, a nice and large garden, a terrace bar and a comfortable restaurant are at your disposal. We would be very pleased to welcome you in our establishment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Invest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing