We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel Venus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Venus
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I booked there in 2008 and bearing in mind the high quality of the place as well as the service.
For this trip (January 2012); my choice went to Venus again for a long stay period(2 weeks):
no difference between smoking and non-smoking room; room smelly ; restaurant aircon system not working; restaurant staff unfriendly staff in the restaurant.
Wonder if this hotel have sold to someone else due to the dramatic drop in quality service.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALBERT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

This was my first visit on business to Kinshasa and I was looking for comfortability without paying a fortune. Hotel Venus certainly fitted the bill. The room was well fitted, clean and comfortable. The dining area, bar and swimming pool area were however quite sparse and not particularly inviting. Breakfast offering was rather poor. However, the staff were very friendly & reception efficient. Unfortunately, whilst it was comfortable and affordable, it lacked the ambiance, convenience and facilities that the normal business traveller looks for and needs. For these rather use the better known, more expensive hotels in the city. For general accommodation at a good rate for Kinshasa, go for it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Venus it's a nice hotel, with a relative good standard for DRC. Don't worry that the road to go to the hotel is very bad - it's Kinshasa!
The room's are very big, nice furnished, fridge and very modern bath room. Most of the time you'll have water and electricity - the hotel has his own group! - luxury for Kinshasa!
Nice Swimming-Pool in the middle of the hotel, every Friday night it's Barbecue- time, with local food. Very large choice even for breakfast.
But attention; do not compare the standard and the price of this hotel with a 4* hotel in Europe!!!
The staff it's very friendly, but the personal isn't formed for work in a hotel - be patient!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

You can stay at the other more upmarket hotels but the difference is minimal in terms of service etc. For the amount the other hotels charge it makes sence to stay at the Venus

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreqTravDSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Located in the centre (Gombe), Hotel Venus offers a cheaper alternative to Memling and Grand Hotel. Very close to the 'Club français' and 'Halle de la Gombe' which are nice places to go out. It has recently been refurbished and the room as well as the bathrooms are up to standards. Reliable wifi and cable internet (the internet connection once broke down and the staff immediately fixed it). The swimming pool and the bar are very pleasant and constitute a small heaven in the middle of this bustling city. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. They are always pleased to help you. Kinshasa being an extremely expensive city, this hotel offers a good value (although prices remain steep). The credit card terminal did not work upon our departure, so always check with the reception on the last day of your stay if credit card payments work properly. It seems that the problem was more attributable to the bank than to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnLinden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

I was a bit reluctant to trust the recommendation that our local partner gave us concerning the Venus Hotel as earlier reviews here in tripadvisor were quite negative. However, as Hotel Venus seemed to be the only middle class priced hotel, I decided to try it at least for one night. On arrival I was positively surprised by the big and clean rooms. The hotel is situted in Gombe, an area where most of the expats live. All rooms are build around an atrium (a large open space within the building, which gives a light and open impression of the floors. Bathroom is big and equiped with a funny three type shower and (warm) water supply is good. The rooms have air conditioning, mini bar, safe and good accessible wifi available. Electricity cut-offs do occur, but the hotel has a good generator system, which almost immediately takes over the energy supply. The price of the rooms (US$ 210) are quite acceptable, include all services (breakfast, wifi, fitness, swimming pool) and are negotiable if you stay for various days. Breakfast buffet is good, with fresh fruits and nice breads. The restaurants serves good food with servings too big compared to European standards. Prices of meals are between 15 and 25US$. Contrary to earlier experiences of other visitors, I appreciated the service. Personnel is very service oriented, polite and accurate. I definitely can recommend a stay in this hotel when you are in Kinshasa.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinshasa hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Belle Vie
Hotel Belle Vie
#16 of 26 in Kinshasa
27 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
Hotel Royal Kinshasa
#5 of 26 in Kinshasa
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Sultani
Hotel Sultani
#12 of 26 in Kinshasa
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pour Vous
Hotel Pour Vous
#22 of 26 in Kinshasa
11 reviews
0 mi away
La Difference Plus
La Difference Plus
#24 of 26 in Kinshasa
4 reviews
2.3 mi away
Leon Hotel
Leon Hotel
#3 of 26 in Kinshasa
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venus

Address: 306, Avenue de la Gombe, Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Region: Democratic Republic of the Congo > Kinshasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Kinshasa
Price Range: £83 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Venus 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Kinshasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing