We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Olympic Palace
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Brazzaville
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Owing to previous reviews from 2011 I was a little apprehensive at being booked into this hotel. Well as an up to date review I found this hotel to be very welcoming and clean. No sign of previously mentioned issues, the bathrooms have recently been upgraded and they do now have a gym. The staff were very welcoming and the management accommodating. All round a pleasant stay and well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinL691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    25
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
4
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel twice (2009 and 2011).
The hotel has nice premises (for Congo) and venues are celebrated every single day during my 2 weeks stay (it is a gold mine for its owners).
For food, they now have an overpriced (but good) lebanese restaurant.
Swimming pool is ok (and only way to do exercise).
Now the bad things: Noisy because of the above mentioned venues that take place every night.
Worse: room was not done even after complaining to housekeeping and arguing with staff.
The worst: Noticed that I had bugs in my bed and after coming back my body was thoroughly covered by bites.
For the money you pay at this place you would expect some basic hygene!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chriscocinero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Olympic Palace Hotel is marked as the best hotel in the town and offers free wifi but does not have a fitness center :( The breakfast buffet is pretty minimal and so is recommended to carry your own snacks. Running outside the hotel even for 1.2 miles made me feel very dry so pretty much resort to plyometrics and ab workout. The hotel front desk can exchange the currency which is super handy. The only English channel in the hotel is CNN which gets repetitive pretty soon. The hotel offers free wifi but the speed is about 15-25 Kbps which is the best in the city apparently. So no video streaming but audio streaming worked pretty seamless so could listen to some favorite music at least.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArunGupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

unfortunately the management of the hotel thinks that ithas more value in organising marriages, concerts which prevent the guests to go to sleep before 4 am in the morning. Further the management does not seem to see it as a nuisance, not giving any reduction or notice in advance.
Further the hotel solely accepts american express for payment, not warning the guests at check in. In my case, checking out on a sunday evening a few hours before my departure, and not having enough cash for one week stay, I had found myself being taken in hostage ( my luggage was not being kept away) and there was no possibility to contact the manager in charge to find a quick solution.
My guests had to come over and to garantee that the payment will be done when I return to my country.
the cleaniless of the sheets were not ok, but were changed at once when asked for.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nany66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel is big for nothing and not maintained. The walls have chipped paint and the floor have huge cracks in them, the lobby has this real bad odor, dont know how people live with that.
If you are looking for decent accomodation in brazza; check out the villa lys. Its real nice there and very clean. Also check out the potal hotel.
These are the best hotels by far, small hotels with all the upgraded features such as electronic card for the open, safe, massage, roof top parlor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I stayed in Olympic Palace Hotel for 2 nights and my stay there exceeded my expectation for Brazzaville. The room was clean and the air-conditioning cold, which makes all the difference. The pool looked very inviting but too bad I did not get to enjoy it. There was always a security guard stationed outside my room in the corridor. Checking in took quite some time. The air crew of Air France stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed for 5 days at the Olympic Palace in May 2009. It was much better than my previous stay in Brazzaville at the Meridien in 2007 (now Laico Maya Maya and closed until July 09 for much needed renovation work). On the plus side, the hotel has an accommodating front desk staff which upgraded me to a much larger room for the duration of the stay after a very early arrival and which also offered me a late check-out at no additional cost. The hotel also provides free Wifi internet for its guest which was fairly reliable, albeit slow, Some of my colleagues who were staying at other hotels could not get any internet access so it is a definite plus. There is no business center per se but the front desk staff would help for basic task such as printing. The room itself has seen better days but was nevertheless clean and comfortable. The hotel has a new wing with better rooms that I did not have the opportunity to check.

The sole restaurant of the hotel is expensive but fairly good. The bar looks nice but seems to be the meeting point all all smokers of Brazzaville: to be avoided at all cost unless you enjoy cigarette smoke. Even if you decide to have a drink outside, you will have to deal with indifferent staff

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brazzaville hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu M'Bamou Palace Hotel, Brazzaville
0.8 mi away
Mikhael's Hotel
Mikhael's Hotel
#2 of 14 in Brazzaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHS Hotel
GHS Hotel
#3 of 14 in Brazzaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
#9 of 14 in Brazzaville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Marina
Hotel Residence Marina
#8 of 14 in Brazzaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
#10 of 14 in Brazzaville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic Palace

Property: Hotel Olympic Palace
Address: Avenue de l'Amitie, Brazzaville BP 1050, Republic of the Congo
Region: Republic of the Congo > Brazzaville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Brazzaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olympic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Olympic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing