We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“try potalhotel.com” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Olympic Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Olympic Palace
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Brazzaville
milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“try potalhotel.com”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

This hotel is big for nothing and not maintained. The walls have chipped paint and the floor have huge cracks in them, the lobby has this real bad odor, dont know how people live with that.
If you are looking for decent accomodation in brazza; check out the villa lys. Its real nice there and very clean. Also check out the potal hotel.
These are the best hotels by far, small hotels with all the upgraded features such as electronic card for the open, safe, massage, roof top parlor.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelou24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    24
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
1
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

I stayed in Olympic Palace Hotel for 2 nights and my stay there exceeded my expectation for Brazzaville. The room was clean and the air-conditioning cold, which makes all the difference. The pool looked very inviting but too bad I did not get to enjoy it. There was always a security guard stationed outside my room in the corridor. Checking in took quite some time. The air crew of Air France stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denny1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2009

I stayed for 5 days at the Olympic Palace in May 2009. It was much better than my previous stay in Brazzaville at the Meridien in 2007 (now Laico Maya Maya and closed until July 09 for much needed renovation work). On the plus side, the hotel has an accommodating front desk staff which upgraded me to a much larger room for the duration of the stay after a very early arrival and which also offered me a late check-out at no additional cost. The hotel also provides free Wifi internet for its guest which was fairly reliable, albeit slow, Some of my colleagues who were staying at other hotels could not get any internet access so it is a definite plus. There is no business center per se but the front desk staff would help for basic task such as printing. The room itself has seen better days but was nevertheless clean and comfortable. The hotel has a new wing with better rooms that I did not have the opportunity to check.

The sole restaurant of the hotel is expensive but fairly good. The bar looks nice but seems to be the meeting point all all smokers of Brazzaville: to be avoided at all cost unless you enjoy cigarette smoke. Even if you decide to have a drink outside, you will have to deal with indifferent staff

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2008

We had searched for somewhere to stay in Brazzaville before arrival, and seen only bad reviews of the city's other "5-star" hotel, the Laica Maica, and so had braced ourselves for the worst. With a 2-year old in tow, a couple of painful weeks in Brazzaville (for work reasons) in bad or limited accommodation was transformed into an enjoyable and relaxed stay in the Olympic Palace Hotel.

The pool was very nice, shallow end for kids and just about big enough for exercise. The garden was a decent size and well laid out, with the odd water feature making for a calm atmosphere. A domesticated fish eagle wanders around the pool and terrace area.....

The restaurant had a limited but good quality menu, and also did pretty good breakfasts - not the fastest service but decent French-style cooking. Good bar as well with decent selection of whisky and frequented by the Air France crews who use the hotel. The restaurant opposite the hotel is also meant to be good, though we never got a chance to try it.

The room was a slightly run-down but clean and with a comfortable bed and a balcony overlooking the pool and garden. No problem with hot water and aircon, though we needed to put up our own mosquito net (which was essential!)

The Lebanese owners have been refurbishing the rooms and the hotel, and they looked very nice although were not ready when we were there.

I am pretty sure that this is the best hotel in in Brazzaville, and it certainly made a potentially difficult couple of weeks into a pretty straightforward and relaxing stay while my partner was at work.

I guess the only frustrating thing was the wifi internet, which was pretty slow, although worked better in the bar area. And on paying, change money at a bank and pay in CFA - paying in dollars/euros at the hotel will cost you as they use a lower exchange rate. But overall this hotel was a bit of a life-saver, and I will always think fondly of the Olympic Palace!!

  • Liked — The fact it existed at all......
  • Disliked — The slow internet, but given the context that really is being picky!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank claws3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brazzaville hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu M'Bamou Palace Hotel, Brazzaville
0.8 mi away
Mikhael's Hotel
Mikhael's Hotel
#2 of 15 in Brazzaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
GHS Hotel
GHS Hotel
#3 of 15 in Brazzaville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residence Marina
Hotel Residence Marina
#9 of 15 in Brazzaville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
#8 of 15 in Brazzaville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
#10 of 15 in Brazzaville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic Palace

Property: Hotel Olympic Palace
Address: Avenue de l'Amitie, Brazzaville BP 1050, Republic of the Congo
Region: Republic of the Congo > Brazzaville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Brazzaville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olympic Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Olympic Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing