We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but good choice”
Review of Hotel Hippocampe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brazzaville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Hippocampe
Ranked #2 of 33 Brazzaville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Not the fanciest hotel in Brazzaville but was a decent choice at a good price. It was clean, secure, in a central location not far from the river and many restaurants. By African standards was very good. Owner spoke English and was very helpful. Rest of staff was friendly. Our room was on the first floor. We had a sitting room with a single bed, table ,chairs, fridge and TV. Bedroom was comfortable with decent bathroom. Had a little trouble figuring out how to get decent water pressure from the shower but once I figured it out was OK. Wifi cost extra and was only OK but unfortunately was also among the best internet I ran across in Congo. AC did not have a thermostat so occasionally got cold at night - but this also shows the AC was effective. This is no resort but it is clean, friendly and reasonably priced with a decent restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darrenzo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hippocampe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

This was by far the best value of my (albeit short) trip to both of the Congos. The rooms are very clean, have everthing you need, and the restaurant has great food and a pretty lively scene. I couldn't get the immigration folks at the airport to let me in the country - the owner even sent someone to retrieve me as otherwise I was not going to be let in. I also left a bag there for a week with no problem. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winnie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

If you are looking for somethng very basic and very good Aian food (except on a Sunday, when restaurant is closed) this place is a good choice. The service was good and the place is safe and friendly. We were disappointed that the superior room (in price) was superior in size only- still on the first floor, with bathroom window (not shaded) coming out to where laundry was hangig and people were walking- anyone taller than an average person would see anyone taking a shower. The AC and small fridge were very loud and we had to turn them off in the middle of the night .The room ambiance was very basic, and towels would only wrap around a very small Asian person. Additionally, service cars and staff were active early on a Sunday morning, and right outside of our door. Probably, if you stay in a standard room, and dont expect much, this would be a great choice. Otherwise, if you go around the corner there are hotels that are a bit more expensive, but rooms are much more modern.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Snegrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hippocampe is good value in an expensive city like Brazzaville. The staff are friendly and attentive. The rooms are a little basic and my door couldn't be locked properly at first. But the technicians came around the replaced the locks. The WIFI dropped off occasionally but I suspect that may have to do with the poor infrastructure of the city.

There is a sumptuous Vietnanese buffet on Friday night - a wonderful and diverse spread for those desperate for variety in the heart of Congo.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twcsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Try this to get away from the very expensive alternatives. Friendly service, nice atmosphere and the choice of asian food.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Hippocamp offers very basic accommodation in a run of average sized units at the back of the property. Whilst basic, they are clean and tidy.

The lodge's best points are the quality of the oriental cuisine (the owners wife is vietnamese and her influence is clear!) and the general standard of hospitality.

They have wi-fi available too, which is always handy...that attracts a fair few coffee-shop type visitors by itself, but at night there is a vibrant atmosphere to the place without being overwhelming or rowdy.

The prices offer excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kamili-Safaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The rooms are basic but the price is fair for what you get.The restaurant is good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobeTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brazzaville hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Marina
Hotel Residence Marina
#7 of 14 in Brazzaville
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu M'Bamou Palace Hotel, Brazzaville
0.0 mi away
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
Hotel Residence Saint Jacques
#10 of 14 in Brazzaville
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mikhael's Hotel
Mikhael's Hotel
#2 of 14 in Brazzaville
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
GHS Hotel
GHS Hotel
#3 of 14 in Brazzaville
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
Ledger Plaza Maya Maya
#8 of 14 in Brazzaville
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hippocampe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampe

Address: Across From Radio Congo | Centre Ville, Brazzaville, Republic of the Congo
Region: Republic of the Congo > Brazzaville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Brazzaville
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing