We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed in 3 different place in Yangon during our stay in Myanmar in November so we can compare a bit. In general we found all 3 hotels in Yangon overpriced for what was offered. Ocean Pearl Inn is a Backpacker style accommodation but as the other two place was overpriced with $25 a night for a double room. This place even more so than the other two. We would never stay there again. We don’t have very high expectation when it comes to accommodation and don’t mind very basic rooms but it needs to be clean(ish). We found the room fairly dirty despite having apparently just be cleaned and we didn’t feel comfortable sleeping in the bed. We found the staff really unfriendly and unhelpful, something we have not experienced during the rest of our trip through Myanmar. Ocean Pearl offers help with bus tickets etc. but when we had some questions regarding bus tickets for Ngwe Saung Beach we just got told they can’t help. If they sell tickets for only certain busses that’s fine but they could have said so and maybe could have given advice of who might be able to help. A few times we had to leave our accommodation before the official breakfast time and we always got a breakfast box for take-a-way. Not so at Ocean Pearl Inn. Initially we had planned to stay with them another two nights after our stay at Ngwe Saung Beach, but luckily we found another place. We don’t really like giving bad reviews and normally always find some good things about the places we stayed but not this one.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BerlinGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed here for my first night in Yangon before next days early onward travel.
Room was good, clean with shower for $18. Service was ok.
They answered my emails very quickly - very important for going to Burma as tourist numbers had overtaken available rooms by Feb 2012. They also arranged to pick me up from the Airport.
Location was not exactly the centre of town but for a few days it probably wouldn't matter.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Turin74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Booked a night stay on 8-Nov and paid USD$20 for the room. The complimentary pickup from airport is ok. Mixed feelings about the service at the reception.Was told that they do not provide train ticket service but did not offer me solutions to it. Asked if there would be room on my return trip to Yangon and they said "I don't know?!? All fully booked" Room is decent. Was provided pillow case and i just wrapped my bed sheets on top of the pillows. Breakfast is the usual toast, eggs and fruits. Not centrally located and will be a good 15-20mins to the actions, which is not easy under the heat. They did helped me booked air tickets for Bagan to Heho leg which I think is quite efficient. Probably will find other accomodation if ireturn to Yangon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radical_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Booked this over the Internet. They answered emails quickly and arranged airport pickup. By Asian standards this hotel is overpriced but by Yangon standards it is okay. The infrastructure in Myanmar cannot keep up with the number of tourists now coming to the country. This hotel is okay for a couple of nights. Well located with free breakfast. Try Mickeys restaurant close by for inexpensive food. Staff are friendly and helpful and made our introduction to Myanmar easier.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TassieRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I've stayed in a few different rooms here and they've all been good. The service is excellent, without being over friendly. It is well located for walking distance to all the popular sites. They are very email attentive and reply very fast, which is good today as Yangon is almost booked up until next January. The new interest in Burma is outstripping the supply, so book well ahead of your arrival. I didn't and spent one full day walking around and calling other hotels. Found one less quality and more money than OPI.

Room Tip: The stairs to the top rooms are worth the walk. Good aircon too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kevinhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Well located (about 10-15 minutes walk from Sule Pagoda, close to eateries and a supermarket), possible to book ahead through their website, average rooms with no extras, breakfast included. Free airport pick-up which is probably the reason why most people book it.

Our room was very small but ok, no windows is a minus but it´s not unusual in Yangon or Mandalay. Bathroom clean, functioning air-condition.

Quite poor exchange rate offered by the reception, bus tickets for onward journey arranged smoothly.

There is not much to say about the hotel, it´s ok for a night or two, probably wouldn´t stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeLud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Friendly staff, but will never stay or recommend this to anyone any more.
We stayed here for 2 nights before flying to Heho for Inle Lake,
the room was dirty, no hot shower, with TV but no signal.
We asked them to book for 2 air tickets to Heho and found that we were charged 125 each
while others were charged only 117 with the same flight same day. (only few dollars different is not a matter but why its not the same price)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goYai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#86 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#69 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
190 reviews
0 mi away
Nice Day Hotel
Nice Day Hotel
#118 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#117 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
66 reviews
0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#87 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3 reviews
0 mi away
Asahi Hotel
Asahi Hotel
#99 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Address: No. 215 Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing