We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ranked #91 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

The room was small and clean and the sheets were comfortable. The a/c was strong and a welcome relief from the pollution outside though the toilet had a smell coming from it (which I got used to after a while). The breakfast is OK and the airport transfer is a definite plus.

The staff were rather surly and brusque and had a below-average grasp of English. Not the best experience I've had while in Myanmar. Location isn't great either and it's a 15 minute walk from the central of Yangon

Generally a value for money stay, don't expect great assistance from the front desk. Best part about it is the airport transfer which makes it a worth-it place to stay.

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor gets the noise from the kitchen in the morning and the smell from the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    84
    96
    33
    21
See reviews for
14
103
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I actually stayed in Aung Si Guesthouse (aka Ocean Pearl II) as the main hotel was fully booked. At $20 it was the most expensive place I stayed in Myanmar and was definitely not the nicest but I felt much better about parting with my money due to one man (who I think may have been the owner) going out of his way to help me. He recommended a great selection of things to do with my time in Yangon (and unlike some places, none of them involved a visit to a great tailor he knows...) and even wrote down the Burmese numbers for me so that I could catch a bus. The room was clean, no windows, good shower (en-suite), effective air con, slightly odd smell. Everything in central Yangon is easy walking distance. You can probably get more for your money elsewhere but Yangon is generally pretty pricey and if you are looking for advice on an itinerary then I would recommend chatting to the staff here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

After read the reviews here and also recommended by VT members, we decided to stay here on our budget trip to Yangon. Due to the expensive rate of accommodation in Yangon, this was the best I could find for the budget US$30 per night of the standard.

Pro: Good Location, acceptable clean, free airport transport, free refill of water, new air-cond, reliable, comfortable beds, hot shower, clean lobby, friendly staffs.

Con: Some of the rooms are smelly but acceptable, internet is slow but could be the problem with service provider and over used by guests.

Good To Know: Bring your own towers!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank cal6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

If you are travelling into Yangon via Air Asia Ocean Pearl provide a free transfer.  Staff are welcoming and very willing to assist with transport requests and speak good English.  It is an older style hotel, some of the stair access to higher floors are quite narrow.  Request room with balcony high up if you can, I believe some rooms may not have windows.  Breakfast is adequate - fruit, eggs and toast with coffee or tea.  It is clean.  Wifi works but tends to be slow and sometimes it is better to sit downstairs in the breakfast area.
This is basic accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Ocean Pearl 2 (Aung Si). The room was comfortable enough although it had no window. The bathroom would smell a bit after showers but I soon learned that is the standard in myanmar and not really specific to the inn. The manager was very friendly and helpful in planning out days. Breakfast was basic. In the end it was a comfortable value for a city that is becoming more and more expensive.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The room itself is adequate, nothing special, but does have hot water and the bed sheets were clean. The beds were very uncomfy though. We were on the 4th floor, which had some pretty steep steps up to it - which may be a problem for older visitors. There was soap and water provided in the room which was nice. The staff at the front desk were a bit rude, which is a shame as everyone else we met in Burma is so nice. We became ill when we visited and the staff couldn't have been less interested or accommodating. It is in a great location though, and is better than hn inn next door.

Room Tip: A room without a window will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I booked the room via email without deposit, they trust me and I trust them.
All the staff are very helpful and polite.
I stayed in the double room on the 3rd floor. It is equipped with standards furniture. Bed, toilet, floor, they are clean.

From here you can walk to superstores nearby and it's close to Botathaung Pagoda.
It's also close to Sule Pagoda where you can take a bus to Shewedagon Pagoda.

Good location, good quality of room and service with a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslanli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#84 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#62 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
AKT Hotel (A Kyi Taw)
AKT Hotel (A Kyi Taw)
#78 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel 63
Hotel 63
#32 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#92 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#72 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Property: Ocean Pearl Inn
Address: No. 215 Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing