We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming staff”
Review of Ocean Pearl Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ranked #96 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Macau, China
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my friend for the first 2 days of Myanmar trip at Ocean Pearl 2, Aung SI Guest House. We booked the hostel online and requested pick up. However, we arrived a bit late and by the time out of the custom, it was almost 9:00am. But then we saw a boy holding a sign of the hotel name. We got on a car and it took an hour to get to there. It was located at a small market and on the first floor of a building. It was a bit far from Sulu pagoda but the famous lucky seven teashop was just at the opposite, which I got the delicious mohinga. A double room costed USD25/night which was fair at Yangon standard nowadays, price almost double as Lonely planet for most hostel at Myanmar. We got a room at the back of corridor, which was a bit small but ok for two Asian girls. However, the air-con was cool, bed was clean and tidy, and the bathroom got really hot water and nice toilet:) The breakfast was nice with toasts, banana and hard-boiled egg. But the best of this hotel was its extremely helpful staffs, the girl was very nice and helped us to book bus to Nyuang Shwe; staffs helped us to carry luggage upstairs, and the father-like manager was so kind that he helped us to book taxi to bus terminal and accompany us to the taxi:D Would like to stay again if travelling at Myanmar again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Oriolekam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    85
    98
    34
    21
See reviews for
15
105
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This review is actually for Ocean Pearl Inn 2 or Aung Si Guesthouse. I'm giving it a high rating because of the lovely hotel staff who are always ready to help with a smile. Special mention to Mimi who speaks perfect English and she helped us book our accommodations in Bagan and Mandalay after. The guesthouse offers very basic features and facilities: comfy bed, own t&b with hot/cold shower, simple breakfast, free mineral water everyday and free airport pick up (plus point!). I think the only negative thing I can say is the smell of the bathroom but the hotel staff offered to spray air freshener to eliminate the odor. The outside of the guesthouse is an alley full of market vendors, there are also restaurants near the place. I can't complain much because of the very low price, paid $25 a night for two pax. The accommodation served its purpose.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnaPatriciaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed 2 rooms. The first one with window, clean and fine. But the second room is a bit dirty. It looks they haven't cleaned the room before we moved in. We found the floor is very dusty. The staff is helpful.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 949adal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oud-Turnhout, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Stayed for 3 days:
Room was quite big and the sheets were clean. The bathroom looks kind of sketchy, but it will do.
Other friends I stayed with had repeated problems with the toilet; it clogged constantly. The staff tried to solve it, but it was not a permanent solution. Also, their sink fell of the wall.
Breakfast was included (Western style) and is very filling; usually you only get 2 pieces of toast and some fruit in a place like this.
Wifi was free, but the connection was not that good.
Located near a prominent pagoda and some markets, but not very central.
Staff is very helpfull.

Overall, I thought this was rather expensive for what I received, but I had no complaints and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DominiqueVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was good size and clean. Good bed. they clean blankets over the sheet after each guest. which is very unusual in Asia in Budget hotels. This is a big plus .Breakfast was adequate .Tea or coffee , toast egg and fruit. Location is actually not bad. We walked to night market, to Bogyuke Aung San market, to Sule pagoda and to ferry. It is really not too far away.
When we arrived they picked us at the airport .
This very decent hotel. Only staff is little bit chaotic and to see them smile ... almost
impossible.
We would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oremilak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I'm enjoying my three night stay here at Ocean Pearl Inn. I book the hotel via online, and send an email for the response of my bookings; the staff responded to my email pretty fast. I terrified there is none of the staff will pick up us (as the also provide for free airport transfer), when I reached Yangon since this is my first visit there but the staff already waiting us. The hotel quite clean and staff was really helpful and friendly. The price also quite reasonable and worth spend money for me.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syairah87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I didn't enjoy our stay here - the bathroom had a dank smell and made our room damp. We tried to open the window, but it opened out onto a smelly courtyard. But who knows, we might have been unlucky with our room.

I also didn't like the location very much - quite a hike to the centre of town in you're on foot. I would recommend Agga guest house or Agga Hotel - nicer rooms, and right in the heart of bustling Chinatown.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmm2613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#81 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#100 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
64 reviews
1.9 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#67 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Sky Hotel
Sky Hotel
#69 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orchid Hotel
Orchid Hotel
#59 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
Min Nandar Garden Hotel
#84 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pearl Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pearl Inn

Property: Ocean Pearl Inn
Address: No. 215 Botataung Pagoda Road, Pazundaung Tsp., Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Pearl Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ocean Pearl Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pearl Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Ocean Pearl Inn Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing