We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fading Glory But Still Acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fading Glory But Still Acceptable”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

The Yuzana Garden Hotel is located across the street from the Park Royal Hotel and about an easy (very slow) 30-40 minute walk to the Shwedagon Pagoda. Taxi was about 1,500 kyat to the Shwedagon.

The place is fading as you see immediately by the scafolding covering almost the entire exterior of the building. The interior could use a remodel too. But its not bad if you can get a room at a reasonable price. A rather dark lobby with fading carpets gives you the idea. They always seem to have rooms available which is not the case at most of the better hotels in Yangon these days because of huge tourist and business demand. We were sent here at the last minute after our agent, who had confirmed rooms at another hotel three months earlier, told us those rooms were no longer available when we arrived in Yangon. They were good enough to give us a suite (Room 401) which was huge with high ceilings, parquet wood floors and ceiling to floor curtains. It was quiet and clean. No complaints there.

Keep in mind too that they do a huge wedding business especially on holidays and weekends. The reception facility is in the back, behind the hotel restaurant. One day they had receptions at 9:00am, noon, 3:00pm and 6:00pm. It was not a problem though as it was almost as if it were a separate facility and parking lot, unlike the Summit Parkview, where we have stayed in the past, and who runs weddings right through the front entrance and lobby.

TV received Bloomburg and Al Jazeera. No CNN or BBC.

Bathroom: Huge but water ran constantly out of the sink faucet and they could not fix it. Small shower plus a separate bathtub but the water ran so slowly that it would have taken all day to fill it up for a bath. Water stopped at times but a call to the front desk would usually cure the problem.

Front Desk people were all fairly young. Not all spoke English well but they were always friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any problems. Nice bunch of young people trying hard.

Breakfast: A descent buffet with eggs cooked to order, cornflakes, assorted fruit, rolls, tiny pancakes and honey, noodles and rice porridge, plus bacon and potatoes.

Restaurant: Not many people ate there but we did on two occasions because we returned to the hotel late at night and other places were closed. The food was actually fairly good and relatively inexpensive. I suppose after serving hundreds of wedding guests all day preparing a few extra dishes wasn't a big deal.

There are only a few restaurants nearby. One is a Thai/Western food place called Santino's which is good. Air-con, quiet and huge portions. There is also a nice noodle shop located on the nearby corner that is frequented by a large number of Burmese and foreigners.

Internet: Charged 1,000 kyat (about $1.20US) per continuous hour, meaning that once your hour starts it runs straight through, whether you use the computer or not. It was slow and very spotty in the rooms but fairly good in the lobby. Also note that phone calls going out of the hotel are very expensive. You can use phone shops across the street for much less and there is a funky little internet shop down the street that has much faster connections and reliable service.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    25
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
6
31
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Note that there are other "Yuzana hotels" also in Yangon. The Yuzana Garden hotel is an old character hotel now undergoing renovations. During my stay, some guests did have some bathroom leak problems. The rooms vary in size and if you can get a large room (and they are big!), that will be a bonus. The pool needs some work as the water did not look too inviting. However, I did like this hotel because of its central location, being set off the street and close to shops (Plaza across road) and local restaurants all close by. The train station is a easy walk from here. During my stay, the staff were helpful, friendly and polite. The breakfasts here were also good and better than what I experienced at most of my other Myanmar hotel stays.
If you are not choosing a top end hotel, then expectations with cheaper hotels in Myanmar may not always be met. However, I would consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripperC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

we stayed here on our Gadventures tour and were appalled at the treatment that we recieved. The hotel is old and tired, pool unuseable, and restaurant completely un-inviting.. The rooms are huge and there is hope that maybe the management will do a complete make-over.. The final straw was checking out at 430am to board a tour bus, the hotel front dest person came on the bus and demanded to know who stole the small teaspoon from the hotel room!..it was humiliating and very unnecessary considering that we were a group of 15... talk about poor public relations... they made the occupants of the room get off the bus and demanded payment, delaying our trip out of yangon...the spoon was finally found in the room and we were excused to go...wow....lets get this hotel on board with customer service...dont go there unless you have to!!!

Room Tip: all the guest rooms are large,,but thats about it....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gildasasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

This hotel is quite old and expensive for the quality (80usd). they were performing some renovation work on the outside but would need to be renovated inside as well.
We had a leak in our bathroom, some water falling above the toilets.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamyTaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2013

As a number of the reviews here have noted, this hotel is quite tired and could desperately use a coat of paint and some TLC. We travelled with a group tour and a number of people commented on how nice the rooms were, but we had one of the smaller ones at the back and it REEKED of cigarettes and there was nothing we could do to fix it. Bathroom was also pretty basic, but adequate.

On the positive side, it was really conveniently located with Scotts Market just around the corner. Plus the guys at reception were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for them – from negotiating taxis on our behalf to calling their friends to see whether a concert we were going to was still running. They also remembered us when we returned to the hotel a couple of weeks later.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s340466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

I had a reasonably good experience with the Yuzana Garden Hotel. I stayed in another Yangon hotel (see my review of that hotel) and it was terrible. I definitely preferred the Yuzana Garden over that one (but strangely enough, the other inferior hotel seems to have better reviews on Trip Advisor). As another reviewer noted, there are four presidential suites and I stayed in one: room 201. The other presidential suite on the second floor is definitely not a good choice with cheap furniture and no safe. Room 201 is good, but I also stayed in room 308 which is just as big as a presidential suite, but not as expensive.

I found the staff to be generally quite good. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. And the rooms were kept clean. Sure the dining area is dark and depressing, but the other hotel in Yangon I reviewed didn't even have a proper dining area. The Yuzana Garden could definitely stand some improvements, but hotels in Yangon can be pretty dicey. You can do better, but you can definitely do hugely worse. I wouldn't hesitate to suggest the Yuzana Garden Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 308 is definitely a really good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRBinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed here at the beginning and end of trip since higher class hotels were all full. Location is good - near some decent cafes and the big market. Not sure why they call it "garden" since there wasn't one. Rooms are huge but we didn't even use the "living area." Water pressure varied by time of day fro some reason. Staff was fine. Breakfast buffet was better than average. Overall, fine but wouldn't chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_B415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.4 mi away
Yuzana Hotel
Yuzana Hotel
#123 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
92 reviews
0.4 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#49 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#95 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#37 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel
Rose Garden Hotel
#9 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuzana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuzana Garden Hotel

Property: Yuzana Garden Hotel
Address: No. 44 Signal Pagoda Road, Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yuzana Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, JovagoAsia and Priceline so you can book your Yuzana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuzana Garden Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing