We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff but desperately needs rennovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Ranked #114 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good staff but desperately needs rennovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Well located only a short walk from the main railway station and Sule Pagoda, and with very friendly and helpful staff but it really, really needs some work doing to it. Our room, whilst delightfully colonnial, had huge cracks on the walls and ceiling and smelled strongly of smoke. Hot water can be in short supply as can water pressure.

Breakfast is a half-hearted affair with a few luke warm offerings at the buffet but if you ask, freshly cooked eggs are available.

It's a good 45 minute drive from here to the airport, more on heavy traffic, so plan to leave the hotel with plenty of time to catch your flight.

There is an ATM in the lobby which accepts international Visa and Mastercards. Check with your bank before travelling.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    25
    39
    20
    8
See reviews for
6
31
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

The Yuzana is worn down and in desperate need of some renovation, however the location is excellent and as long as you plan to eat out, services are facilities are sufficient (although i didnt dare jump in the pool). The friendly staff work really hard but havent really been given enough of the right tools to do the job fully. I awarded 4 for value only because every hotel inYangon is overpriced right now and whilst of course you can stay in a better place, you'll pay $400+ and be lucky to get a room.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick-selective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pune
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here as a group of six women and enjoyed our stay here. The rooms were large andthere is internet in the lobby you pay for. The buffet breakfast was quite extensive with both Burmese and Western style all tasting great. There is a nice swimming pool too welcome after a day of sightseeing. Staff were attentive too.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sahibbibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

We usually choose our hotels pretty carefully but this one was selected by a tour operator - and we were underwhelmed - although it satisfied our basic needs on two stays (before and after time in the north).
The staff was helpful. The grounds are nice and the old building has some character - but it's been run down. Some things, like breakfast and meals, could easily be improved. Rooms would need more work - but they were satisfactory.
The location is a bit off-center but not bad. Since I love to walk, and hate being at an isolated hotel, I would still prefer it to many others, such as places that are out toward the airport. But I believe there are much better options until this place is restored to its rightful beauty.
Contrary to another review, there is a pool (although you almost have to ask about it) - and it was refreshing - especially having it entirely to ourselves since no one else seemed to know about it!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler_D-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We were there 3 times during our stay in Myanmar. Each time we had a big suite and they were clean and the beds were comfortable. The taps work in the opposite direction that we are familiar with, ie. clockwise to turn on and anti-clockwise to turn off, extra attention needed when using the hot water tap. The staff is friendly if they are not hiding behind the high reception counter. Try not to have breakfast too early for at 6.30am when they are supposed to start, you still find staff sleeping outside and just beginning set up breakfast. The hotel needs badly to be renovated to remove the feeling of an old abandoned house.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungog, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

Hey, there are limited options in Yangon.....lets be honest, most of the city is pretty ratty and this hotel follows the theme.....breakfast is so so....wifi, about $1 an hour (hit and miss).....no fitness centre or pool ......but location is pretty good.....it is across the road from the park royal....down the road from some ok restaurants and the main markets.....and find santinis for coffee and free wifi......

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DungogSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Cornwall
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great Location in Yangon

Not the best Hotel in the world but really helpful staff ok breakfast (try the local food it's much nicer than the western stuff). The rooms are ok for budget travel bed and bathroom both clean and fairly quiet at night.

Just try to remember when you go to Myanmar that it is just emerging from a long period of isolation and has suffered a lot from sanctions, the economy is now starting to benefit from a lot more investment and things are changing quickly.

In 2010 they only got 250,000 foreign tourists and in 2012 that number grew to 1 million and this year they are expecting 1.5 million, improved hotel services will take time to develop but they are already on the way.

Just give the people a chance speak to the locals and you will find them friendly courteous and always willing to help. The people of Myanmar are some of the nicest we have met in the 40 countries we have visited.

Myanmar is not Thailand but put in some effort and you will have an amazing real travel experiance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stayrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.4 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#44 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#94 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#47 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.4 mi away
Yuzana Hotel
Yuzana Hotel
#125 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clover Hotel
Clover Hotel
#33 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuzana Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuzana Garden Hotel

Property: Yuzana Garden Hotel
Address: No. 44 Signal Pagoda Road, Mingalar Taung Nyunt Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yuzana Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JovagoAsia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Yuzana Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuzana Garden Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing