We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel with ok service nothing outstanding”
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
395 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“ok hotel with ok service nothing outstanding”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although there are some shortcomings of this hotel we enjoyed this this hotel. Among the good things is the friendly staff, a quite good breakfast, central location. Improvements could be done to the service (the fact that you need a deposit in cash is due to the U.S. embargo of credit cards) and the quite small and outdated rooms. Free internet is provided (but the usual long throughput times faced all through Myanmar applied here as well).


The rooms were rather small, the service was welcoming but there is still a way to go to achieve the hotel standards.
Breakfast was good (as usual in a room which is cooled down too much),
Everything friendly and

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
26
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

This small hotel has friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for me. I found the location was terrific as it was within walking distance of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda in one direction and the central markets in the other. The breakfast was adequate with fruit juice, fruit, toast and eggs, Asian noodles and salads.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hertle1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Alfa Hotel is one of the newer hotels in Yangon. It is located in Dagon Township and is within walking distance of the city centre, the railway station and the Bogyoke Aung San Market and for the very fit, the Sule Pagoda. However some may find the walk challenging and prefer to take a taxi.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of several acceptable restaurants and drinking establishments although some of these are tucked away in side streets. A supermarket is nearby.

The rooms are large, clean and there is a bathtub as well as a shower. Amenities provided in the bathroom are satisfactory but restricted to shampoo, body gel, a shower cap and soap. The hot water is very hot. An older style a/c was fitted to my room and worked perfectly well. The rooms do not have a safe but valuable items can be left in a safe at reception. Some of the rooms have excellent views of the Schwedagon Pagoda but these rooms are a little more expensive than those which do not.

With advance notice the hotel is guest friendly in a country where this is the exception rather than the rule.

The hotel has 11 floors which is serviced by a single lift with floors sharing a stop e.g press number 4 and take steps up to the 6th floor or down to the 5th floor. This is not a problem.

Alfa hotel has a bar on the ground floor and a dining room on an upper floor where breakfast is served. Asian cuisine is readily available but Western cuisine is limited at breakfast. Again this was not a problem as there was plenty of food available.

The hotel offers free wifi and has two computers for guests to use free of charge. Connections though were a bit hit and miss as is currently normal for this vibrant country.

We made a booking for this hotel through an international booking agency and although the agency confirmed my booking and debited my credit card it did not notify the hotel. This can be a problem in a city with limited acceptable hotel rooms. I phoned the hotel to see if they had been advised of the booking. The hotel had not been advised and had only one room left for the days I wanted to stay. I had to guarantee to take this room if the booking did not come through. Carol, from the hotel, contacted the agency and through her persistence eventually got them to confirm my reservation. Well done Carol!

The action by Carol was symptomatic of the excellent service offered by all levels of staff at this hotel. They were friendly,helpful and eager to please. One staff member, when my mobile phone ran out of funds at a crucial moment, provided me with his mobile phone to use without accepting any recompense for its use.

Finally the hotel offers reasonable value for the rates charged. It is true that you can find hotels with lower rates but when you do do not expect to get much.

Would I stay at this hotel again. Certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Shwedagon Pagoda. You may pay extra but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

The Alfa Hotel is not worth the money, $ 107.- per night for a filthy room fitted with a loud a/c which made sleeping almost impossible. The doors are extremely thin so that you can hear everything happening on the floor. They charged $ 15 for three short phone calls to Myanmar cell phones - a true rip off. Breakfast plentiful but poor quality. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The hotel is in a great location close to Pagoda and other hotels in the Yangon city center. Rooms are comfortable and clean but don't expect more than basic. The price was very competitive for Yangon as hotels try to get expensive. Together they have twin rooms which is good for friends traveling. Internet and breakfast was free with very good airless connection. The staff was very efficient for Asia and always smiling.

Room Tip: Get the rooms not facing the main road as they are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarricsBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This is a good mid-range hotel, off the main street (so somewhat quieter) in a central part of town. Just a short-ish walk from he main pagoda. Good rooms, comfortable beds, slightly older (so noisy) a/c units, very clean and comfortable. Passable breakfast buffet is included. Has a cozy bar downstairs off the lobby. Exceedingly competent and friendly staff. Overall, a solid choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Public areas seem to have been renovated so give an OK first impresstion, But the rooms have not been - poky, not secure (loose-fitting door handles), and dirty, with a bathroom that would hardly have been acceptable in a 1 star hotel. If the outrageous $95.night hadn't been paid in advance (and you're asked to pay a deposit on check in in case you eat or drink anything), I would have walked out. Owners that probably hope that the naturally warm and friendly staff will save them from negative reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 909CSTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Yuzana Garden Hotel
#114 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Yangon
Central Hotel Yangon
#73 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Property: Alfa Hotel
Address: No. 41 Nawaday St., Yawmingyi Qr, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel, founded in 1996, is now renovated and ready to welcome guests from all around the world to The Golden Land once again. Strategically located in the heart of Yangon, Alfa Hotel is situated right in the central area of the city. While providing quick access within walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, such as the Shwedagon Pagoda, the Sule Pagoda and the Scott Market, it also offers a serene environment for our guests to rest. Some of the rooms share the beautiful scenery overlooking the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. Alfa Hotel strives to provide excellent service to our guests, making this the perfect place for business travelers and tourists. Alfa Hotel has preserved the glorious time this country once had for the guests. Travelers who stay with us will be taken back in time, surrounded in an environment that compliments Myanmar's rich history and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing