We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relatively good hotel in Yangon” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relatively good hotel in Yangon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Hotels in Yangon are relatively expensive compare to other south East Asian countries like Thailand or Vietnam.

I have stayed in 2 quite affordable hotels in Yangon and found that this hotel offered much value than the others. At least they don't charge us wifi Internet access like other hotels in Myanmar would want us to pay.

Also, the hotel was also not looking tired and run down like the other hotels.

Overall my stayed in this hotel was a satisfactory one.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    44
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
26
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was staying at this hotel at Alfa Hotel in September 2012. The hotel is nice. The room is clean even it is not a branded new room. The ceiling is not high but enough for any people with 2.2 m tall as long as you do not need to do jumping exercise inside. The aircon is old fashioned and a bit noisy. The toilet is clean and electric water heating (ariston) is located inside,so you can get warm water for bathing. Only the water faucet for shower is not good, you will need to hold it by one arm when you bath. The internet is terrible. It comes and goes anytime. First time I need to call the technical and finally the put the wifi device inside my room, but still the line is interrupted any time. Also the breakfast is not variable, similar food everyday. Overall, it is good hotel for business travel as you do not need so much time at hotel, just come to take a bath and sleep. The hotel is also located at good area so you can find some restaurant nearby like noodle, fred chicken, even a japanese restaurant is located closed.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better from noisy but do not too high as there is only one elevator and very slow. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHandaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is about 1 mile from the Shwedagon Paya, and 15 minutes' walk from Bogyoke Aung San market. As we were there in the cool season, walking to either was not difficult.

The room was reasonably sized, clean, and with a comfortable bed. Wifi was available in the room and was quite reliable.

Service was good and there was at least 1 good English speaker.

We were only there for 1 night but I'd be happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevejb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
319 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although there are some shortcomings of this hotel we enjoyed this this hotel. Among the good things is the friendly staff, a quite good breakfast, central location. Improvements could be done to the service (the fact that you need a deposit in cash is due to the U.S. embargo of credit cards) and the quite small and outdated rooms. Free internet is provided (but the usual long throughput times faced all through Myanmar applied here as well).


The rooms were rather small, the service was welcoming but there is still a way to go to achieve the hotel standards.
Breakfast was good (as usual in a room which is cooled down too much),
Everything friendly and

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

This small hotel has friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for me. I found the location was terrific as it was within walking distance of the Shwe Dagon Pagoda in one direction and the central markets in the other. The breakfast was adequate with fruit juice, fruit, toast and eggs, Asian noodles and salads.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hertle1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Alfa Hotel is one of the newer hotels in Yangon. It is located in Dagon Township and is within walking distance of the city centre, the railway station and the Bogyoke Aung San Market and for the very fit, the Sule Pagoda. However some may find the walk challenging and prefer to take a taxi.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of several acceptable restaurants and drinking establishments although some of these are tucked away in side streets. A supermarket is nearby.

The rooms are large, clean and there is a bathtub as well as a shower. Amenities provided in the bathroom are satisfactory but restricted to shampoo, body gel, a shower cap and soap. The hot water is very hot. An older style a/c was fitted to my room and worked perfectly well. The rooms do not have a safe but valuable items can be left in a safe at reception. Some of the rooms have excellent views of the Schwedagon Pagoda but these rooms are a little more expensive than those which do not.

With advance notice the hotel is guest friendly in a country where this is the exception rather than the rule.

The hotel has 11 floors which is serviced by a single lift with floors sharing a stop e.g press number 4 and take steps up to the 6th floor or down to the 5th floor. This is not a problem.

Alfa hotel has a bar on the ground floor and a dining room on an upper floor where breakfast is served. Asian cuisine is readily available but Western cuisine is limited at breakfast. Again this was not a problem as there was plenty of food available.

The hotel offers free wifi and has two computers for guests to use free of charge. Connections though were a bit hit and miss as is currently normal for this vibrant country.

We made a booking for this hotel through an international booking agency and although the agency confirmed my booking and debited my credit card it did not notify the hotel. This can be a problem in a city with limited acceptable hotel rooms. I phoned the hotel to see if they had been advised of the booking. The hotel had not been advised and had only one room left for the days I wanted to stay. I had to guarantee to take this room if the booking did not come through. Carol, from the hotel, contacted the agency and through her persistence eventually got them to confirm my reservation. Well done Carol!

The action by Carol was symptomatic of the excellent service offered by all levels of staff at this hotel. They were friendly,helpful and eager to please. One staff member, when my mobile phone ran out of funds at a crucial moment, provided me with his mobile phone to use without accepting any recompense for its use.

Finally the hotel offers reasonable value for the rates charged. It is true that you can find hotels with lower rates but when you do do not expect to get much.

Would I stay at this hotel again. Certainly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Shwedagon Pagoda. You may pay extra but it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

The Alfa Hotel is not worth the money, $ 107.- per night for a filthy room fitted with a loud a/c which made sleeping almost impossible. The doors are extremely thin so that you can hear everything happening on the floor. They charged $ 15 for three short phone calls to Myanmar cell phones - a true rip off. Breakfast plentiful but poor quality. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Yuzana Garden Hotel
#114 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#41 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#37 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#27 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.6 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#60 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Property: Alfa Hotel
Address: No. 41 Nawaday St., Yawmingyi Qr, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel, founded in 1996, is now renovated and ready to welcome guests from all around the world to The Golden Land once again. Strategically located in the heart of Yangon, Alfa Hotel is situated right in the central area of the city. While providing quick access within walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, such as the Shwedagon Pagoda, the Sule Pagoda and the Scott Market, it also offers a serene environment for our guests to rest. Some of the rooms share the beautiful scenery overlooking the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. Alfa Hotel strives to provide excellent service to our guests, making this the perfect place for business travelers and tourists. Alfa Hotel has preserved the glorious time this country once had for the guests. Travelers who stay with us will be taken back in time, surrounded in an environment that compliments Myanmar's rich history and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing