We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced for what you get”
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #111 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have travelled with family in december 2012, The hotel was very expensive especially given the grotty rooms. Positive points: good location between centre town and swedagon pagoda and nice view over the pagoda from basically all rooms and the vicinity of the market behind of the hotel

Room Tip: higher floors for a view on swedagon pagoda
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fred o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

Yangon at the moment is still much lacking in its infrastructure and tourists orientated fascilities compared to other SEA countries. To find a good quality hotel at a low price is almost impossible. Alfa Hotel to me is the one with relatively affordable room rate and acceptable quality.
Its location is good, within walking distance to Scott market and Schwedagon pagoda (30 min walk).
Nearby eateries are plenty, street hawkers are seen everwhere, as long as you have an iron stomach to try them out.
Taxi is always available at the doorstep and at reasonable rate.
The front desk staff are super helpful, esp Mr Khin, who had helped us in sorting out our itinery.
The breakfast is simple but tasty.
The room is quite small but no big deal unless you plan to spend most time in.
And for those who plan to visit Myanmar, I would advise you to change USD to local currency in Airport, which in contractradictory to many other comments given, offered the highest rate (1 USD: 848 kyat) which is higher than hotel rate (barely 810 kyat) and those money changer in downtown.

Room Tip: Lower floor if u wish not to climb stairs. The lift is slow at stop at even floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DHS2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Good location budget hotel decent breakfast but not much vegetarian choices. Free WiFi is a plus. Scott Market and Shwedagon pagoda nearby. They take cash $50 bucks deposit upfront. Nice view if Shwedagon Pagoda from the rooftop terrace.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fulldistance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

Hotels in Yangon are relatively expensive compare to other south East Asian countries like Thailand or Vietnam.

I have stayed in 2 quite affordable hotels in Yangon and found that this hotel offered much value than the others. At least they don't charge us wifi Internet access like other hotels in Myanmar would want us to pay.

Also, the hotel was also not looking tired and run down like the other hotels.

Overall my stayed in this hotel was a satisfactory one.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I was staying at this hotel at Alfa Hotel in September 2012. The hotel is nice. The room is clean even it is not a branded new room. The ceiling is not high but enough for any people with 2.2 m tall as long as you do not need to do jumping exercise inside. The aircon is old fashioned and a bit noisy. The toilet is clean and electric water heating (ariston) is located inside,so you can get warm water for bathing. Only the water faucet for shower is not good, you will need to hold it by one arm when you bath. The internet is terrible. It comes and goes anytime. First time I need to call the technical and finally the put the wifi device inside my room, but still the line is interrupted any time. Also the breakfast is not variable, similar food everyday. Overall, it is good hotel for business travel as you do not need so much time at hotel, just come to take a bath and sleep. The hotel is also located at good area so you can find some restaurant nearby like noodle, fred chicken, even a japanese restaurant is located closed.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better from noisy but do not too high as there is only one elevator and very slow. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHandaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel is about 1 mile from the Shwedagon Paya, and 15 minutes' walk from Bogyoke Aung San market. As we were there in the cool season, walking to either was not difficult.

The room was reasonably sized, clean, and with a comfortable bed. Wifi was available in the room and was quite reliable.

Service was good and there was at least 1 good English speaker.

We were only there for 1 night but I'd be happy to stay longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevejb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Although there are some shortcomings of this hotel we enjoyed this this hotel. Among the good things is the friendly staff, a quite good breakfast, central location. Improvements could be done to the service (the fact that you need a deposit in cash is due to the U.S. embargo of credit cards) and the quite small and outdated rooms. Free internet is provided (but the usual long throughput times faced all through Myanmar applied here as well).


The rooms were rather small, the service was welcoming but there is still a way to go to achieve the hotel standards.
Breakfast was good (as usual in a room which is cooled down too much),
Everything friendly and

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haktus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel G Yangon
Hotel G Yangon
#20 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
109 reviews
1 mi away
Summit Parkview Hotel
Summit Parkview Hotel
#19 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
675 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#32 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Winner Inn
Winner Inn
#9 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#31 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Address: No. 41 Nawaday St. | Yawmingyi Qr, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £46 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel, founded in 1996, is now renovated and ready to welcome guests from all around the world to The Golden Land once again. Strategically located in the heart of Yangon, Alfa Hotel is situated right in the central area of the city. While providing quick access within walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, such as the Shwedagon Pagoda, the Sule Pagoda and the Scott Market, it also offers a serene environment for our guests to rest. Some of the rooms share the beautiful scenery overlooking the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. Alfa Hotel strives to provide excellent service to our guests, making this the perfect place for business travelers and tourists. Alfa Hotel has preserved the glorious time this country once had for the guests. Travelers who stay with us will be taken back in time, surrounded in an environment that compliments Myanmar's rich history and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing