We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth US$104 per night.”
Review of Alfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alfa Hotel
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth US$104 per night.”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked two rms n were most dissipointed with the rooms.The a/c was very noisy , pillows were very hard,sewerage smell during the day n night through thr bathroom.Never had any hot or warm eggs or sausage for breakfast it was alway cold.Same breakfast everyday did not see ant bacon at all.The room was stinking of smoke and we r non smokers.The bathroom is very dingy n water leaking from the bottom of bathtub. I believe all the hotels in Myanmar are not worth the money they r asking but due to lack of hotel accommodation in the country n high influxes of tourist the hotels that were asking $20 to $100 about 8 months ago is now demanding $100 to $350 for the same without any improvements in food or accommodation . The staff are very good n gave their very best day n night.We stayed 5days n were very glad to check out n will never go back again.

Room Tip: Never trust on pictures you see on the web of the hotel . We were shocked in what we found.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
11
26
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

I enjoyed my stay in the hotel: the staff members were very friendly, the room was clean (except for traces of water in one corner of the ceiling) and functional (desk allowed to work, lamps provided light where needed, internet connection worked), the bed was comfortable, the AC rather quiet, the breakfast buffet offered a selection from soups to fresh fruit.
The hotel´s roof top terrace offers a nice view and can be the place for a quiet evening.
The room price per night was not modest, alas.

Room Tip: I enjoyed from my room a view of the Shwedagon pagoda - ask for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asiana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on two separate occasions and have been quite happy. This is a no frills hotel in a central area and for the price (usd 100), we got exactly what we expected. The service, on the other hand, was much more than expected. Yes, there are language barriers but the manager speaks English fluently and when he was called to assist me with extending my stay he was wonderful. The rest of the staff are very cheerful, pleasant and helpful. If you are looking for a clean, centrally located hotel with great service you've found the spot!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkylrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed there one night on the way home. It was clean and the staff were fine. The internet didn't work in the room nor did the kettle , the water was between cold and lukewarm and only had a hand held shower. they did have a business centre with fast, free internet. The breakfast was good. The location was ok during the day but would have rather have been in a busier area at night as other than the hotel the restaurants in the area didn't seem too great. The view on the roof was good of the pagoda but at $2.50 for a third of a cup of lukewarm (but very good) coffee it was a bit pricey. They also seemed to have a different plug than other places we'd stayed in Myanmar and there weren't any instructions on how to use them.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayakchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

The location is excellent near to the market and the famous pagoda. We had a superior room which was big, clean and comfortable. The view from the bar on the rooftop terrace is marvelous. The staff ist friendly, helpful und veryprofessional.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chililounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed night prior to running in the Yoma Yangon International Run event Jan 2013. Would give 3.5 stars - the building is rundown, with cracks in corners. Unfortunately, Yangon right now is not cheap - I've stayed in Traders and Parkroyal Yangon as well and would say the Alfa Hotel rate is not unreasonable given its excellent location but old facilities.

Stayed on top 12th floor, very nice unobstructed view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. However, could hear singing from the rooftop bar over the A/C (a wall-mounted unit above the window) - didn't bother me, but it might others. Bathroom was well-maintained (considering the age of the rest of the building). Nice, helpful staff around the clock. The bedding was clean and I slept quite well.

Wifi is spotty - if your connection slows, just turn off and re-connect.
There is an internet cafe about 3 blocks away on Nawaday Rd called Spider Web (there is a phone shop in front where you can buy a USD20 GSM SIM card). The download speed was much slower. I gave up and came back to the hotel.

No safe box in the room, so I handed in my laptop and valuables to the front desk when I left at 5AM for the run event. Apparently, there is no safe in the front desk area either - they just tag your stuff with your name and leave it in the back.

Someone else has already pointed out that there appears to be only one fire escape - If you are seriously paranoid about earthquakes etc but prefer not to pay for a more modern building, you may prefer to look for a building with lower floors.

Room Tip: I think you have to be on the 7th storey and above in order to see the Pagoda from your room, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salsayfiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I really regret having paid for this room for a longer stay in advance, as I cannot cancel, which I had not realized. It is too bad all the hype about the hotel shortage in Yangon scared me. There are better places for half the price. The Alfa web site says the hotel is recently renovated. DON'T BELIEVE IT!!! My room is clean enough, but has seen no maintenance since it was built. It is a totally charmless box. This could be a generic motel room anywhere. Very low ceilings, peeling wallpaper, water stained woodwork, horrible smoke smell that just won't go out of the room, cheezy indoor outdoor style carpeting, dull, cheap buffet, Internet not adequate even for Skype voice only calls. $100 a night. Whoopee. Sure, the staff is sweet, which I appreciate. The owners clearly aren't. They rip guests off on exchange rates (790 Kyat for a dollar when the going rate is 853). I really wish I could get my money back.

Keep looking. There are better alternatives. The owners are just milking this tacky building, putting nothing in and taking way too much out. It shows in every detail. Newly renovated. Sure. Prices newly jacked up, and then nothing done - but refusing to allow guests out of prepaid deals.

The Alfa web site promises to take guests back in time. Unlike the newly renovated claim, I suppose that's true enough. Unfortunately, the period of Myanmar history this hotel harks back to is 1970s socialism. Sadly, even those days of dubious glory are long gone at the Alfa!

Room Tip: Higher floors, back side away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoodmanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.3 mi away
Yuzana Garden Hotel
Yuzana Garden Hotel
#114 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.5 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#11 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Central Hotel Yangon
Central Hotel Yangon
#69 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alfa Hotel

Property: Alfa Hotel
Address: No. 41 Nawaday St., Yawmingyi Qr, Dagon Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alfa Hotel, founded in 1996, is now renovated and ready to welcome guests from all around the world to The Golden Land once again. Strategically located in the heart of Yangon, Alfa Hotel is situated right in the central area of the city. While providing quick access within walking distance to many of the city's famous attractions, such as the Shwedagon Pagoda, the Sule Pagoda and the Scott Market, it also offers a serene environment for our guests to rest. Some of the rooms share the beautiful scenery overlooking the famous Shwedagon Pagoda. Alfa Hotel strives to provide excellent service to our guests, making this the perfect place for business travelers and tourists. Alfa Hotel has preserved the glorious time this country once had for the guests. Travelers who stay with us will be taken back in time, surrounded in an environment that compliments Myanmar's rich history and traditions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Alfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing