We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was just OK”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It was just OK”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in 2 different rooms, at the start and end of a trip. Both rooms were similar in quality. I reported no bath plug but doubt if that would get fixed. Internet in the lobby did not work then the computer disappeared. Dining room on the 15th floor was fine for a late night drink - nice views from the open terrace. Breakfasts not special. I asked the egg chef for an omelette and wondered in which decade it would arrive. The egg chef said an omelette was made in the kitchen. Staff were using the guest elevator. Several rooms on the 8th floor appeared to be out of use. Renovation? Don't think that was going to be happening. Location was safe at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    52
    109
    30
    12
See reviews for
13
54
39
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2012

In the bath room :- Leaking sewer basin, very dirty shower curtains and fungus.
In the bed room :- Blanket don't change and stain, paper shoes can't used.
Breafast :- Distasteful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamjang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

United States
Level Contributor
225 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Returning to Asia Plaza after a year, to see Hotel has deteriorated. The dining room has been relocated to the roof, nice views although the breakfast is still not worth getting up for. Nightclub is closed. Rates have been doubled to 50 usd, with no investment in improvements by the chinese ownership. Virtually nothing in the gym. The place is filthy, in the manner of a provincial Hotel in the PRC. And, this Hotel is being used used by tour groups! Busloads from everyhere on earth: the major European countries, and Poland and Turkey, too. And, cigarette butts in lobby, and slime trails where sinus contents have been emptied unto whatever horizontal surface testifies to the prescence of an increased Chinese clientele. Beds will leave you with a sore back. Doubles are mostly two single beds pushed together. Internet in lobby, but too slow, unusable most of the time. Manager is a little martinette, most of staff is friendly but housekeeping is very erratic. Rooms are in various states of disrepair: look at a few, decide your priorities and make the best of it if no other Hotels in town are available. Too bad, this is a big, well-built structure, but only a gut rehab will bring it back. Some of the lower floors appear to have abandoned, with the rooms derelicted.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myanmar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I lived in this hotel , special deluxe room .It was cost 75 US$ The room is a little wide and can get the good view of city with Shwedagon Pagoda . The Air-con is not too much cold and there are only 10 lines of TV . If you are a smoker , you should take your own ash-tray . there is no it in there . The breakfast is buffet type and you can have Fried rice , fried noddle and some fried vegetable and also European breakfast . All of the food are delicious . The breakfast time is 6:30 to 9:30 . you should go early to see many dishes . Otherwise , your breakfast will be only European or some fruits .

Room Tip: Room on the North Side to get the good view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyalSithu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I stayed at the Asia Plaza for one night recently as the place I was staying at previously was full. The room seemed OK, although it was not very clean, but when I went to bed I was getting bitten incessantly and finally noted that the bed was literally crawling with bedbugs. I have to say that in over 25 years of travelling in fairly remote places and often very cheap guesthouses, I have never had such a terrible experience; I still have nightmares about it! Of course I informed the front desk upon leaving, also commenting on the general lack of cleanliness and dsyfunctional elevators (one elevator is constantly stalled and the staff elevator doesn't work so the staff use guest elevators all the time, carrying dirty plates, laundry, etc). One staff member told me "the owners don't like to spend too much money on these things". Need I say more? Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, check the sheets for signs of bedbugs before accepting your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carla_vds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel was a great disappointment....and the staff couldn't have cared less!

The first room I was given...for $50...was shabby and basic....and didn't even have a window!
The replacement room was somewhat better, but still pretty old and worn. Despite advertising tea and coffee making facilities ( and even listing the items on their inventory list ), there was nothing. A request for a hot water flask and a cup at reception was met with feeble excuses.

The TV reception is terrible...often just static...or, if there is a picture, then no sound!

AC was feeble.

Breakfast was acceptable, if one were selective, but certainly not good...except for the soup: cold eggs, nasty bread, horrible coffee...but the fresh fruit was OK.

As I was obliged to stay at the hotel again a few days later, due to bookings made by others, the poor quality and service were repeated.

I would definitely advise giving this hotel a miss: much better value for money available elsewhere.

It's only virtue is a good, central location, but that does not outweigh its vices.

Room Tip: Some rooms face Shwe Dagon Pagoda: at least the view is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Becasue we didn't book hotel in the peak season and all other hotels were full!!

It is a liittle old look outside while the room is so, too (But it is clean)

Hot water is quite good (Too hot.....)

Location is good and one department store is just beside it

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barib33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#45 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.3 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#46 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#32 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#57 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Property: Asia Plaza Hotel
Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | corner 38th st, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing