We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for Cheap Accommodation”
Review of Asia Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asia Plaza Hotel
Ranked #69 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed hered after being told the Panorama was full, when we returned from Inle Lake even though we had booked, and was pleasantly surprised. The room was cheaper than Panorama and was in much better condition. (I must say here though there was renovation going on and some of the unrenovated rooms we were shown first we ancient and stained. The air conditioning worked well and in the morning had to leave early to catch plane so they put on breaksfast for us before time. They also arranged the cab to get us to the airport. The front desk were extremely helpful and provided.

Location wise this hotel is just around the corner from the markets and railway station etc. Still a cab ride from Swhedegon Pagoda and the lake though.

Bad point is the unairconditioned lift which locks aromas in.

Room Tip: Asked to see several rooms as some have already been renovated.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tumbuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Asia Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

The room was completly run down. Stains everywhere. Only the bed was clean fortunately.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swede44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hi, I have been to this hotel for 4 night (Intrepid tour) in May 2012.
The room I got at the beginning of my tour had no view (except a wall) and it was quite dark. A/C worked well and I had supplementary mineral water. The carpet was stained and the bathroom looked old and not very clean. The room I got at the end of the tour was better (railway side). Breakfast was not very good (I can't eat noodles or fried rice in the morning) and the restaurant at noon or in the evening was OK but had to wait long before being served. I had several power cuts and I was a bit afraid to use the lift :-). Very good location. Taxi to the airport cost: MMK 6,000.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the 7th floor (You have WIFI in your room) and on the side of the railway (Front...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Netopyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

I stayed here with an Intrepid tour of Burma for three nights (2 nights in April and 1 night in May). The hotel is located near Ruby Mart, which is a large supermarket equipped with all Western brands (sure to alleviate homesickness). You can also see Yangon Railway station (which for tourists is where you catch the city circular train). It is about 10 minutes walk from Scott's Market (Bogyoke Aung San Market).

The hotel appears to be quite dated. The reception and the lifts are not air conditioned. There is meant to be wifi at reception but, like most of Myanmar, connectivity is an issue.

The rooms and bathrooms are clean and fair. There is an old TV, a fridge (with a bottle of free water). You can keep the air con running while you are checked out.

Of the three nights we were there, we suffered one blackout and one blown fuse. As for the later, we were moved to another room without any problems.

The staff are very friendly. My taxi from the hotel to the airport was 7000 kyats.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank franktastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed in 2 different rooms, at the start and end of a trip. Both rooms were similar in quality. I reported no bath plug but doubt if that would get fixed. Internet in the lobby did not work then the computer disappeared. Dining room on the 15th floor was fine for a late night drink - nice views from the open terrace. Breakfasts not special. I asked the egg chef for an omelette and wondered in which decade it would arrive. The egg chef said an omelette was made in the kitchen. Staff were using the guest elevator. Several rooms on the 8th floor appeared to be out of use. Renovation? Don't think that was going to be happening. Location was safe at night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

In the bath room :- Leaking sewer basin, very dirty shower curtains and fungus.
In the bed room :- Blanket don't change and stain, paper shoes can't used.
Breafast :- Distasteful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamjang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Returning to Asia Plaza after a year, to see Hotel has deteriorated. The dining room has been relocated to the roof, nice views although the breakfast is still not worth getting up for. Nightclub is closed. Rates have been doubled to 50 usd, with no investment in improvements by the chinese ownership. Virtually nothing in the gym. The place is filthy, in the manner of a provincial Hotel in the PRC. And, this Hotel is being used used by tour groups! Busloads from everyhere on earth: the major European countries, and Poland and Turkey, too. And, cigarette butts in lobby, and slime trails where sinus contents have been emptied unto whatever horizontal surface testifies to the prescence of an increased Chinese clientele. Beds will leave you with a sore back. Doubles are mostly two single beds pushed together. Internet in lobby, but too slow, unusable most of the time. Manager is a little martinette, most of staff is friendly but housekeeping is very erratic. Rooms are in various states of disrepair: look at a few, decide your priorities and make the best of it if no other Hotels in town are available. Too bad, this is a big, well-built structure, but only a gut rehab will bring it back. Some of the lower floors appear to have abandoned, with the rooms derelicted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paubranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#52 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
597 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#61 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Laurel Hotel
Grand Laurel Hotel
#67 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Star Guest House
Royal Star Guest House
#29 of 93 in Yangon (Rangoon)
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Plaza Hotel

Address: 277 Bogyoke Aung San St, Kyauktada | Corner 38th St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £43 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Asia Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon (Rangoon)
Asia Plaza Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing