We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but needs an immediate makeover”
Review of Yuzana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yuzana Hotel
Ranked #132 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for a day. The views of Shwedagon Pagoda was stunning. Rooms are big and clean but room illumination is unsatisfactory. Thankfully the rooms don't have carpets as the ones on the corridors & elevators need immediate replacement. Staff is courteous & helpful. Used room service and was okay. Buffet breakfast simple. Best part is the location - not too far from the CBD and generally a quiet hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

we booked a room on 9th floor with direct breathtaking view to shwedagon pagoda. Room was very spacy and absolutely clean. Flat screen TV with many english channels,. Quiet hotel. Breakfast room somehow dark, breakfast simple, but ok. Staff is speaking English!!

Room Tip: book rom in upper floors, but not the top one (Aircondition)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Omg ... So so so bad and yet so so expensive. I paid more than 80 usd per night for 2 nights for my stay and it had mice, which staff saw but did nothing about. I asked for the room to be cleaned at 1 pm, then 3 pm then 5 pm and nothing. Finally around 7 I had to catch somebody walking around to show them my room had my been cleaned. There were also room service plates stacked in the hallway for my entire stay that were never removed. Rooms are dated, but big. However nothing to fill it with in terms of furniture. It's really criminal. On the plus side its near shwedagon if you haven't visited it yet and there's a nice Thai food restaurant nearby with wifi (turn right as you exit hotel and walk 3 min). Staying here is criminal.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luvtotravel2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

It's unbeliable to find out the hotel's terriff rates are much cheaper than travel agent I booked through. It's wasn't the false of the hotel in fact somehow, my point is that Yuzana hotel should be in control of communicating the rates with travel agents. No other rates should be more than walk-in rates.It's simply ruin the image of the hotel and customer's trust.
And the room wasn't really have a good smell although amenities that provided in the room were just acceptable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

They could fix some of the problems so easily: a phone for service, located near guest rooms on an upper floor, rings at all hours; coffee at breakfast runs out and sometimes it is served to you at the tables, sometimes not. The internet is finicky and the desk staff should probably help you get it started rather than wait for you to fail. The needed minor repairs should be more of a priority. But, there is quite a generous breakfast buffet and some of the rooms are quiet. The staff are attentive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that are near a phone sitting in a nearby hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datwoofus-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I've stayed at the Yuzana several times over the last few years. always very comfortable with friendly staff and a decent buffet breakfast to get you started.
You can't beat the location. Across the street is the Park Royal and the Thamada hotel/ movie theater as well as a small mall for a little shopping. Take a pleasent walk over the railroad bridge into downtown, turn right and you just a block from the one of the greatest markets in SE Asia, the Bogyoke Aung San Market.
Things have been going crazy lately since Myanmar opened up the economy so the prices have gone up but this is a hotel worth checking into.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms upstairs that is on the entrance side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

I don't know where to begin in reviewing this place. From the outside I could tell that the hotel had seen better days. After stepping into the lobby, it was clear that those better days were over 20 years ago, as it seemed like it's been that long since any maintenance had been performed on it.

The condition of our room, unfortunately, was even worse than that of the public areas of the hotel. Immediately upon walking into the room, we noticed that it was very dim. We tried flipping all of the light switches, but many did nothing at all. We then found a worker on our floor, and asked him to replace five light bulbs that were out. He returned within few minutes and proceeded to replace said bulbs, most of which necessitated him stepping on the chairs or chair arms with his bare feet. When he looked at the bulb that needed replacement in the bathroom, however, he told us that the bulb in the same bathroom fixture in very room did not work. At least we were happy to have a less dim room, even if we had to live with a very dim bathroom.

After we took a look at the bathroom tiles, however, we reasoned that he may have wanted to keep the bathroom dim so that we wouldn't be able to notice so much of the mold and stains on practically all surfaces. The gray and smelly towels didn't help.

We thought the hotel would be able to raise its marks through service or other means, but that was not the case. Our tour group was not told the truth by hotel management when they said that several members could change their rooms; they even tried to defend their words, and never apologized when confronted with the truth.

The buffet breakfast was filling, but not very diverse. Internet access was slow and intermittent. We experienced power outages on two nights. The mini-fridge in the room never worked, and we never bothered asking the staff to fix it, given our experience with the light bulbs.

On the positive side, our room was very large, hot water was available, and the air conditioning worked. Also, one of the floors was completely gutted, and it looked as though it was getting a makeover. The entire hotel certainly needs it.

Some rooms have a gorgeous view of the Shwedagon Pagoda. Ask for one of those, if you must stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Shwedagon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank onbalance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
5.1 mi away
The Floral Breeze Hotel Yangon
The Floral Breeze Hotel Yangon
#122 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pleasant View Hotel
Pleasant View Hotel
#56 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lavender
Hotel Lavender
#35 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel H Valley Yangon
Hotel H Valley Yangon
#60 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
19 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#29 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Butterfly Hotel
Golden Butterfly Hotel
#75 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yuzana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yuzana Hotel

Address: No. 130 Shwe Gon Dine Road, Bahan Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £20 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yuzana Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Yuzana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yuzana Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing