We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and service”
Review of The Strand Cafe

The Strand Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Escape the bustle of Yangon, and enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, a light meal or the Strand High tea, a long-standing tradition that harks back to Myanmar's Colonial past. Using only the freshest ingredients, sourced at grass roots level to maintain the authentic feel of what is on offer, The Strand Café has a variety of dining options available.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and service”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The food here is very good. I recommend the trio of Burmese salads if you would like to try something more local. There are wines available by the glass. Prices are on the higher side (for Yangon) but very reasonable considering the setting and the gracious service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle9406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    163
    87
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A lovely time warp”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a traditional high tea and on another occasion, dinner.
A place with a sense of occasion and very well prepared and presented food.
Good napery and cutlery.
The staff were attentive, well skilled and met international standards.
Prices were appropriate for an boutique hotel of this kind.
The quality shines through.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathaniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I've seen it described here as "old and run down"... Not sure what they expected... Philip Starck designed furniture? It's a classic! It's impeccably maintained grand splendor with great food and good service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTastic4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

had a lovely lovely lunch here while writing postcards. it really isn't as expensive as you'd think and is definitely worth it for the atmosphere of calm, perfect coffee and delicious food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank joanna_mountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
228 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was disappointed when I was unable to secure a reservation at the Strand and had to stay elsewhere. That said, I looked forward to at least going to the Strand for a meal and a drink in the bar. I was let down.
The lobby is drab, furniture is second-rate. It reminded me of how the old E&O Hotel in Penang looked prior to its renovation - truly! I don't consider it to be worthy of a 5 star rating. The restaurant was deserted and appeared unappealing. No one appeared to ask if I wanted a table, and only two people were there eating at 7:00 PM. The shops on the lobby level were okay, but the same things could be found in Scotts Market. There is an ATM on the premises.
I left the Strand feeling that it truly could do with a careful make-over.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamarindwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strand Cafe also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to The Strand Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing