We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price, but nothing special”
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Windsor
Ranked #115 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Kleve, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Okay for the price, but nothing special”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The room was big enough and we had possibillities to store the suitcases (which is not selfunderstanding in hotels in Myanmar). The communication with the staff was surprisingly easy, they spoke well understandable english. Pretty good bathroom in our first room, in the second one they had replaced the water heater. The result: open cables twisted together, missing tiles. The breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank truth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    14
    26
    13
    8
See reviews for
6
21
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is best @ value for money. I had stayed here for 1 week. The rooms are spacious and clean.We could not find many choices in breakfast menu but you feel happy from staff service.
The new floor ( 4th Floor ) is recently constructed so,it has new fixtures.

Room Tip: Ask for 4 th floor room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sushilgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

The price for Hotel Windsor was in line with other budget hotels in Yangon. The room was spacious and clean though the mattress needed to be flipped over. There was a TV I never used, an aircon that worked well and a well-stocked refrigerator.

The bathroom was run down compared to the sleeping area, mainly because the window area wasn't meant to be constantly wet from the shower; paint was peeling off the wood. The hot water worked fine - use the hand-held shower. Toiletries were provided.

The hotel is located along a wide, quiet road with other hotels. You can find a travel agent, convenience stores, restaurants and a small shopping mall 5 to 10 minutes away on foot. Shwedagon Pagoda is a longer walk away. Plenty of taxis run along the road.

The staff are very polite and friendly. The buffet breakfast is serviceable with the option to go Western or local style with fresh fruit, coffee/tea and juice-flavoured drink.

Keeping in mind that the prices for Yangon are higher than other budget destinations, the Hotel Windsor is undistinguished but quite alright for the price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Nomihodai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel located on very dark street with not many shops in the area. Front entrance of hotel looked inviting but things quickly went downhill. We had reservation for standard double bed room on top floor. We were given room 107 with 2 metal cots and directly off the dining room. Curtains on window appeared to be a bed sheet. You needed a hazmat suit to take a shower. Curtain was so full of mold it was disgusting. We refused this room and after an hour wait we were taken to another room on the top floor. Upon a close inspection we found the bed to be ok, clean linen and clean bathroom, wifi had strong signal, t.v. was ok and the a/c worked well however no windows and top floor has no doors on the fire escape which meant the mosquitos entered the hotel at will. The room had no safe and door latch was not up to par. As it was late and we were only staying one night and since the second room was much cleaner than the first, we stayed ($60 night).
Breakfast was also a disappointment..buffet style with only western items being pre cooked eggs and toast.
Stayed in several hotels in Myanmar, this was the worst. Recommend you stay elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrankCovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights (4.-6.1.2014) the Price was 49$ per night,Doubleroom with breakfast, this was more or less o.k., i made a Reservation When i left on 6th of Jan for the 25-27th of Jan....When i arrived on the the 25th i was told, the Price is Not 49$ anymore but 120$ per night for the SAME ROOM! Hotel Windsor is a ** Hotel on European Standards .....and 120$ per Night IS far too much, i moved Down town and stayed in a guesthouse WITH SINGELROOM BUT Shared Barthroom for 10$ the night, my advice: TAKE CARE WITH PRICES IN MYANMAR

Room Tip: Check the Price carefully!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roland M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at Windsor Hotel: very well located, very quiet, clean but it is a scam. We stay there a first night when we got back from sittwe and we liked it so we decided to book a room there for our last day before flying home. We turned up there with a reservation (booking.com) and we were told that the hotel was fully booked and that they had no room for us!!!! The owner of that hotel owns another hotel called "MGM" which is not the same standard. (dirty, poor location and I have doubt about safety and security there). So Winsor hotel does overbooking and them try to transfer Customer to the other hotel.While we were waiting at the reception another couple experienced the same problem and I am sure they are many more...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank nipfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We booked for three nights with booking.com
The reservation has been made correctly but, when we arrived at the hotel they said us: Sorry but the hotel is full. So, they offered us a room in an other hotel MGM (The owner of these hotels is the same).
In MGM hotel there was a lot of noise. Every night there is karaoke until 2 pm on the 11th floor
So, for us it was all a disaster and a lack of profesionality.
Please, be prudent with Windsor and MGM.
.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank teresa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
2.3 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#79 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
1.8 mi away
New Yangon Hotel
New Yangon Hotel
#100 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
64 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grace Treasure Hotel
Grace Treasure Hotel
#82 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#67 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel H Valley Yangon
Hotel H Valley Yangon
#63 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
10 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#30 of 155 in Yangon (Rangoon)
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Property: Hotel Windsor
Address: 31 Shin Saw Pu Road | Sanchaung District, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 155 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Windsor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JovagoAsia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing