We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for an early flight”
Review of Myanmar Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Myanmar Life Hotel
Ranked #97 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Like many travellers, we had a 6:30am flight from Yangon to Bagan so chose this hotel based on its proximity to the airport. You can definitely walk to the airport, but not advisable in the dark unless you have a torch, and the road is a bit gravelly so your wheelie suitcase may not like it. We arrived late afternoon and were checked in and in our room in minutes. The staff were friendly and we ate dinner in the Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel, which was pretty good. The grounds and pool area looked lovely, though we were too tired to use them. There are also a few shops and other local restaurants a few hundred metres up the road.
The rooms and corridor were very dated (think mid 1960 communist era), but very large. The bed was hard but pretty comfy. Only two pillows in the room and both were very high or big which I wasn’t used to making for an uncomfortable sleeping position. However, the room was very quiet through it was facing the front of the hotel. Bathroom was pretty standard – shower over bath with curtain, toilet in the middle and large bench with basin along the other side. But it was in need of and seriously good scrub and some maintenance. When you showered, water did flow out along the top of the bath onto the floor despite the curtain. My partner had to fix the tap so the water would flow up to the shower head instead of through the bath spout. At least there was no drama with hot water or water pressure.
We received a breakfast pack of a roll, egg and juice for our early departure. Again, the staff were very helpful and hailed a taxi for us (though it was 1500 kyats which is outrageous but it is a trapped market). For an early flight, the hotel is a perfect choice. Probably 3 + 1/2 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

We landed on at midnight in Yangon and had to be back at the airport at 5am the next morning - so we were after somewhere that was close to the airport.

We booked the cheapest room which was very dated, but clean and tidy. Airconditioner worked very well. Bed was comfortable although the pillows were very high.

Check in was very fast and efficient, and they had a take-away breakfast package ready for us.

They also called a taxi for us the next morning so it was a cheap ride back to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nothing_beats_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Chose the hotel because it was the closest option for the airport. We arrived exhausted in the early evening having flown from London via Bangkok. The next day we had an early internal flight so proximity to the airport seemed like a good idea. However we got little sleep as the room walls were paper thin. The room rate included a pack-up breakfast which consisted of two slices of bread with a thin spread of jam and a hard boiled egg. Wouldn't wish to stay there again although it was much cheaper and more convenient than other options.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Agree with Mosolygo with all that was said. We only stayed as it was close to the airport & had an early flight. Booked Agoda, stayed in Room 309, cost with taxes US$100.00. Good sized room, plenty of hot water, TV with extra channels, veranda & VG aircon, free WiFi all over inc our rooms. Tacky in that my pillow case had a stain on it, & the lampshade had big stains. Not a big deal, however $100.00 in Myanmar is quite outrageous. Including breakfast but when we arrived, it wasn't set up for the western meal. So small bowl of corn flakes & 2 slices of stale french stick & coffee hardly constitutes a descent breakfast.They do eggs, unfortunately there were too many ppl waiting, def need to get their act together.Had dinner in the same place, as there is a captive audience don't think they try too hard, menu is the same as in the room. Waiter was great, none the less, but to be professional, staff should not be eating in the same room, & have paper work spreadout all over the table.Business centre was where we were sent for check in, there seemed to be a bigger degree of efficiency than at main reception.I was expecting an email & had to go get it, & was glad to get it but doubt if it would have been delivered. The pool is new & did look fab. Agoda advertises airport shuttle & inroom safe, neither exist. To summarise i would only stay here to go to the airport.

Room Tip: The Room in the 3 block were silent, had free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foreverdreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed with a group and all of us were placed in the cheapest rooms in the main block above the reception desk. The rooms were okay. Very clean and basic. However, they were also quite old. No one had showers that worked very well--alternating freezing and roasting water. The showerhead was about at my chest level. Internet did not work for some of the group at all. It did work for others. My room looked out over the street (a rather fancy word for the mostly dirt road outside) which turned out to be much louder than expected. Several of our group had troubles sleeping given the noise outside--shouting, motorbikes, dogs and so forth. In addition, the noise from the reception area was also quite loud. However, the pool area was quite nice and the rooms that surrounded the pool appeared to be significantly nicer. The price difference was only $10, so I think it would be worthwhile to invest in the upgrade. Breakfast had quite a lot of food options, although quality was only mediocre. We did have dinner at the same place. Despite a prominent sign displaying "seafood," fish was finished. However, the other dishes we ordered were surprisingly good.

Room Tip: Select a room near the pool, which is quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smith294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We recently (March 2013) spent two great weeks at this moderately priced hotel. Room was very comfortable and quite large, yet sparsely furnished in keeping with its cost. Free breakfasts and inexpensive meals. Great swimming pool. Handy to airport ($3 taxi fare) but long way to Bogyoke Market (about $10). We'd gladly go again. Hospitality excellent.

Room Tip: Bungalow accom is vg. Hotel room less expensive. Cost about $80US per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skyblue20040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

As others said, 5 minutes from airport, but fair distance to town. Generally up to national standards, pool is its best feature (salt water, as most). Very adequate deluxe rooms with parking, a/c, fridge, pleasant verandah. Nothing otherwise wrong, but nothing quite right (fairly normal in Myanmar). Staff generally friendly and hopeless. Only English speakers in business centre, who are very good and helpful. Make use of them for anything you need. Wifi only available here. Despite recent info, the restaurant now serves lunch and dinner too (fairly simple).

Room Tip: 300 series quieter than most. Beware of the original main building, heard terrible stories about con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
High Five Hotel
High Five Hotel
#46 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangon Airport Hotel
Yangon Airport Hotel
#67 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seasons Of Yangon Hotel
Seasons Of Yangon Hotel
#123 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
#81 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
7 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Hotel Myanmar
Holly Hotel Myanmar
#37 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
40 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Floral Breeze Hotel Yangon
The Floral Breeze Hotel Yangon
#129 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Life Hotel

Address: 41 Radio Station Road | Mingalardone, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £36 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Life Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Myanmar Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Life Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing