We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yangon stop-over”
Review of Myanmar Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Myanmar Life Hotel
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We used Myanmar Life as a stop-over base in Yangon for our tour through Myanmar (see review 'Return to Myanmar' in forum).
We spent four nights in all there, with breaks between them to visit different parts of the country. This hotel was selected because of proximity to the airport and an excellent swimming pool for relaxation between each trip.
The hotel was ideal for our purpose. The service was first-class. We had a room over-looking the pool. It was spacious and very clean, and internet connection was good. We cannot fault the hotel, although perhaps the breakfasts could have been better
We ate most evenings at a local cafe/mini-mart just 800 yards from the hotel. This in itself was an experience! Little English spoken, but wonderful camaraderie and friendship.
All in all a most enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My poolside room was neat/clean and included a king size bed . I used room service for my meals and found them fresh and tasty . Staff as in most south east Asia hotels where helpful . WiFi can be hard to access but once connected could support even a FaceTime call home . Taxi from airport should cost you USD$3.00 . Make sure you travel with new/clean USD$ as locals are worried about counterfeit notes .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank ToddyOboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Very pleasant stay here lovely food, beautifully set out room (329) which was clean and tidy and very spacious, beds were firm mattresses towels were a bit frayed around the edges though. Pool is filled with salt water, but very nice after a long day travelling or working to slip into for a swim.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank awk29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at this Hotel just for one night as it is close to the airport.

We took the rooms close to the reception.

They need urgently to do remodeling, reforming, refurbish, etc, etc, in rooms and bathrooms.

The restaurant is open 24 hours a day.

The reception staff is very helpfull and professional , but all the other staff was iqually very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xanoca63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is located a few minutes taxi ride (1500-2000 kyats) from Yangon Airport. It is perfect for a transit stop where you don't have time or do not wish to visit the downtown area or suburbs. A taxi ride to the downtown area will run 7000 kyat.

Otherwise it's an average older-style hotel that's a bit on the expensive side for what's on offer. You are paying for the location. The rooms are clean, tidy, and quiet but ordinary. The bathroom was clean enough. Hot running water worked fine in my bungalow-style room.

The breakfast was a bit ordinary, heavy on the vegetables, light on the options. The restaurant is in the basement of one of the buildings. There is a pool that looks clean but with the chilly weather in December I was not going in. Wifi worked in fits and starts and was not reliable.

I found the service just passable. Plenty of staff on the desk but there are two reception counters and when I had a problem with the wifi I was sent from one counter to the other which entailed a walk across the property.

You definitely get the feel it's a stop and go for most travellers with a constant stream of taxis and buses loaded full of people entering or leaving the place. I'd suggest it's ok for an overnight stay but if you have any business at all to do in town there are better places on offer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

You can't get closer to the airport than this hotel and there's really no other reason to stay here...

The room was adequate but bland. The staff were friendly and arranged a breakfast box which was a dodgy sandwich and boiled egg.

Dinner was in the basement (bizarre) but the food was actually ok. There's really no other close options - so they had a captive audience.

But yes, it's close to the airport - walking distance for sure. US$2 taxi back at 5am - easy.

And we walked to the Yangon Circular Railway and took a leisurely train into town for a dollar - great experience but don't expect to train back late as the last train is around 4.30pm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreqFlyerAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had previously stayed at this hotel. This is an older property. Its one redeeming feature is its proximity to the airport. The first time I stayed, I had a nice clean room with decent furniture. On my second stay, I was given a much different room that cost more but had water stains, pain peeling off the walls and a generally musty, unkempt feel to it. The building I was put in was really old and it showed in the furniture, bed, armchairs. I was scared to hang any clothing in the closet as it was very dusty and dirty. I felt very let down. I am not going to go back this dump - ever!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEmmanuelLasPinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.9 mi away
High Five Hotel
High Five Hotel
#42 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Yangon Airport Hotel
Yangon Airport Hotel
#63 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
84 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holly Hotel Myanmar
Holly Hotel Myanmar
#41 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Seasons Of Yangon Hotel
Seasons Of Yangon Hotel
#126 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
68 reviews
0 mi away
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
#71 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
8 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel M
Hotel M
#67 of 161 in Yangon (Rangoon)
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myanmar Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myanmar Life Hotel

Address: 41 Radio Station Road | Mingalardone, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 161 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £35 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Myanmar Life Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Myanmar Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myanmar Life Hotel Yangon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing