We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expat good”
Review of Monsoon Restaurant

Monsoon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Expat good”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A lovely varied menu,good Asian and Western food, illy coffee, good wine, good service. I had a very good Vietnamese salad, my husband a steak!. Not burmese.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    517
    224
    86
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty good choice”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

As a vegetarian, I appreciated the choice on offer here. The tomato peanut salad is particularly good. I highly recommend this. I also had an interesting carrot and ginger drink and felt virtuous.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My friend and I found this restaurant through those restaurant top 10 lists for authentic foods list for the city. The review did say it wasn't the most tasty for authentic Burmese food but it was close by, so we decided to try it anyways. The restaurant is clean and two stories. We read that President Clinton came here to eat a few years earlier and we saw many tour groups coming it. The restaurant caters more to tourist and expats. The food was good but not memorable. The service was good but not outstanding. Overall, it was good experiences but not anything remarkable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtai01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesneven, France
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A good place to stop by for lunch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A very good location (quiet and away from heavy traffic of Yangon) and the decoration of the restaurant is in colonial concept. They serve very good range of local cuisines to Asian cuisines with fair price for the service and quality.
It is worth to go there for at least once while visiting Yangon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BurmaGirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A favourite if visitors would like to try Myanmar food”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A comfortable restaurant where it is possible to try Myanmar food. I find it tasty and good value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing