We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monsoon Restaurant

Monsoon Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Vietnamese, Burmese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Paris, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

In colonial building, this pretty laid back restaurant offers a pretty good Asian food. There is something cosy and you feel good inside.
A great place for a first or a last dinner in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexparis183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    506
    218
    85
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun place!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Today my friend and I visited after reading about it in 36 hours by the New York Times. The atmosphere was very enjoyable and we both felt like travelers from the mid-19th century. They have an amazing juice and smoothie menu and a delicious Myanmar milk tea that comes with a shortbread cookie. They also offer good magazines that help explain what's happening currently in Myanmar and gives travel tips. I had the eggplant salad with shrimp and my friend had the yellow noodle salad. Both were delicious but we have learned that in Myanmar salad does not actually mean something with leaves (in fact it rarely does). Definitely check this place out and visit the boutique Pomelo next door!

Helpful?
Thank dcteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Especially the Eggplant salad,, yum! Some of the traditional dishes are interesting but when in Rome!! Try the Lime juice drink, so refreshing and suits the food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pleasant hangout for an atmospheric lunch”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Dropped in during a walking tour. Three of us shared dishes. The large menu is divided by country of origin - we selected two Burmese dishes (braised eggplants and pork curry) and one Laotian (curried chicken with green beans and eggplant). We had plenty to eat for three people and all the dishes were excellent. Fruit drinks were also very good as was the coffee. Service was with a smile. Would certainly be happy to eat there again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic dishes nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Monsoon is one of the best restaurants I've been to in Yangon well if not the best, I tried several restaurants like royal garden(which is definitely not worth what I payed for, and terrible dishes) monsoon is rated first among five, and yeah it's indeed the first, I love their dishes(tried several of their dishes) and I must say I'm in love with this restaurant. Their cook is the best. Going to Yangon without visiting here is like going to Paris and missing the Eiffel Tower on your list.

Helpful?
Thank Phemmy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing