We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start or end your Myanmar trip”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #85 of 179 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I stayed here one night at the end of my trip. It really is a great location - down the street from Trader's Hotel and near Sule Pagoda. Staff are great and very helpful. Can do money exchange here for a fair rate - they give good quality notes as well. It's not 5 star place but it's a lot better than other 1 star places I've been to. The rooms are clean and basic. Nice scenes of galloping horses (it's chinese owned). They have free wi-fi. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Extra money for a window room probably isn't worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights at the start of our trip in Myanmar. The location of the hotel is really good (beside Sule Pagoda), the staff who work there (or the family members) are very friendly and helpful. The room is very small and had no window. At times there was a smell of smoke coming into our room through the fan from one of the other rooms on our floor. wasn't the cleaniest of rooms that I have stayed in but was ok. The breakfast was the same both mornings (same as all hotels I've stayed in in Myanmar) egg, toast, banana and tea! There is a travel agency next door and it was easy to book flights/bus tickets from them. Would stay here again if in Yangon due to the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audsdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The positives are that the May Shan hotel is located in the very heart of Yangon, near the Sule Pagoda and within walking distance of many good markets and restaurants. Also, the staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.

The negatives are that the room we shared was tiny, had no windows and housekeeping forgot to clean it the first day. The breakfast is basic (coffee, juice, bread, a banana and two eggs)and is the same every day. The wifi is so bad that I was unable to download anything and had to wait for a long time for the email to appear, then it would constantly disconnect.

However, it is good value for money, as it is less expensive than most of the hotels in the center of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for the front rooms with two beds as they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveMuiNe_Vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The location of this hotel is right on Sule Pagoda, the center of Yangon. Plenty of restaurants and very easy to go around exploring the city from there. But even better than the location is the staff, they were very helpful and even booked all the internal flights in Myanmar for me before I actually arrived in Yangon. They respond quickly to emails and take care of every single request you have. They exchange money at a decent rate (although you can get more at the black market at May Shan they always gave me brand new Kyat bills, which is important in Myanmar).
The hotel itself is a bit old and the rooms, although quite clean, do not look very attractive, if you are looking for something fancy this is definitely not the place to go, but if you are looking for a great spot to stay in Yangon and an affordable (not very cheap for Myanmar's standards) price then this is definitely for you.
Wi-Fi in the lobby is ok but remember you are in Myanmar, so the correct statement is "WiFi in the lobby is ok when internet works". This has nothing to do with the hotel itself, the connection can sometimes be extremely slow or just not work at all for a while.
Some power outages might happen but I never experienced a power cut for more than 2-3 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back side, they are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapibarasan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a very basic but a friendly family run hotel in Yangon. It is centrally located and a good choice if you want to avoid big hotels run by corrupt officials. The owners are helpful with all your queries.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eloy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

So my most recent return trip to Myanmar began and ended with staying in this hotel and chose to stay here again based on my first experience staying here late last fall.
The price for a single room was only $29 US per night and the room is always clean.
When first emailing and informing of my reservation, as 'Scizorsim' had mentioned in their review, Ko Htaik (who I think is the husband and owner of this family run hotel) is very helpful and swift at returning your emails. He was extremely informative in letting me know about the availability of the room as well as other relative questions I had about my trip like bus tickets/times to Mandalay, taxis, and other modes of transportation.
Another great great thing in my opinion about this hotel is it's very central location. It's literally a stone's throw away from the Sule Pagoda, Town Hall, High Court, and the Maha Bandoola Gardens.
** It was also on this particular trip that I discovered that from the hotel, it's only a short 15 minute walk east on Maha Bandoola Rd. (DIRECTLY east of the Sule Pagoda roundabout), to a small local supermarket called "Sein Gay Har". It's great to go to and buy some of the local snacks and foods they sell there.
I think that when being in a foreign country and not knowing where to get some quick food when you're hungry, it's great to have a few locations on hand in which one can easily get to.
Anyways, this small grocery store has a good selection of foods like local snacks, crackers, cookies, sodas, breads, and other great things to pick up.
Thus, the walk and distance from the hotel to this store is a great match-up.
* Another great note; If you're hungry at night and want another kind of snack, there's a bakery not far away.
This time, when you walk out the front entrance of the hotel, walk right and around the corner, now going west on Maha Bandoola Rd. You only have to walk about five minutes and there will be I think it's a crispy fried chicken restaurant, and then a small bakery next to the chicken place. It's there you can buys this great round pudding as well as other kinds of breads if you want something to eat.
All in all, I can't say anything bad about this hotel and thought it was a decent place to stay is a not all that bad for price and excellent location wise. The staff there are also very helpful, very friendly, and the ac in the room runs great and the water is nice and warm.
A good hotel to stay at while in Yangon though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

The only good points I can offer are, the staff are friendly & helpful. Located in central location & an average breakfast.
If it wasn't for the Water Festival & all reasonable accomodation booked I would stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tacticalmunitions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#6 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
378 reviews
0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
426 reviews
0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#7 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#15 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
549 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#20 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
523 reviews
0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#9 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 179 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £19 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Shan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing