We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
14
67
55
22
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
67
55
22
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2012

From a guidebook review I booked the best room in the May Shan for our arrival in Yangon. A great view over Sule Paya, especially as the sun was setting. They replied promptly to my email (other places took 3 months to reply!).
We were welcomed and the room was fine. The shower rooms are wet rooms and it is difficult to keep anything dry when you are having a shower.
Pillows are 'rubber' ones, a speciality of Myanmar.
Staff pleasant and room very clean, bright shiny white tiles everywhere. New fluffy towels as well.
However on our return, even though I emailed to say our flight was delayed they did not keep the room for us and charged us $10 more for the same size room 2 floors down. We felt as if we had worn out our welcome, we were like Cinderella after the ball. Not a pleasant feeling!

Room tip: Did not see any of the windowless room but both of ours had a noisy fan which was linked to the corridor outside, so we turned it off. Also 2 mosques nearby so you can hear the muezzin at the front.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oddwomanout
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2012

On the doorstep of the sule pagoda, not cheap for what you get, we paid $80 for a triple room as it was our first night and we thought we would get space. Room was tiny but it did have a pagoda view.Location was great for loads of eating places and strolling about.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squirrelgirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Hotel location is great. Very close to the Sule Pagoda and 5 minutes walk to the Baiyoke Market.
Next to it there are a loads of places to eat or have a drink.

On the other side the hotel itself is a bit old fashioned. It has wifi in the small lobby but not in the rooms.
The lift smells of dump as it has carpet on the floor and so do the rooms.
There are 2 types: rooms with and without window. The ones without windows are quite dark.
The bathroom is veeery basic

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthandheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Prices are pretty steep for what you get, but I suppose that is because of the lack of tourist infrastructure and the increase of foreigners the city has seen. For the price you get a room that is basic but has all the basics. Satellite tv, hot shower, air con. But rooms are windowless (mostly) and very damp. To put in perspective, we were in relative luxury with a swimming pool for the same price in Mandalay.

Location is amazing. Great base to explore the city and not too far to go for a quick air con refresher.

Staff helpfulness seems to take a hit in these reviews but we found the staff extremely helpful and would even say that we got more than they owed us in that respect. I don't think that we had a random request that wasn't catered for.

Room tip: I think the 01 rooms on each floor have windows
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Good view from the triple rooms, but the standard is quite poor, service is not amazing, the Internet is a joke.

But then, Yangon is a difficult city hotel-wise generally.

Doable for one night, but a stretch to stay there longer.

Date of stay: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaral82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews