We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small great location, helpful staff”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #73 of 164 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Kent UK
Level Contributor
340 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“small great location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The rooms are all small, the hotel is small. Staff are very helpful, the looked after my bags, and even popped them in my room when it was ready. Right next to the pagoda, free WiFi. Sure it's expensive but it's Rangoon in 2013

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhillKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    66
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

May shan

The hotel gives you a great first impression. The lobby is pleasant, the staff is very efficient and serviceminded and you look forward to seeing the room. Well, its an dissapointment. Worn out, old and shabby. Its more a 15 dollar standard then the 59 dollars they charge. But, you pay for the central lokation and the great service. The breakfast is also very poor. I asked for chinese tea (its on the table inthe reception) but I was told that only lipton is available, you get one egg instead of the usual two eggs in other (cheaper) hotels, and only bananas instead of the different fruits in other (cheaper) hotels. But, still we found it worth the stay - if- you get a windowroom, we stayed here 3 night and one was n a windowless room. The mahabandula guesthouse nearby has similar rooms and it costs 10 dollar a night...

Room Tip: A room witb a window is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamala11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We booked the triple room for four nights overlooking the Sule Pagoda. Initially there was a misunderstanding over the number of nights we were staying which was probably due to the way in which I worded my email. However, when we arrived this had all been sorted out for us and we did not have to move rooms for one night. The room had great views over the pagoda and the busy street below but was quiet at night. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. It was such a great location, within walking distance of Scott Market, the port and the train station. It was a relief to have lift access to our room. The staff were very knowlegeable and helpful about opening times of museums etc. We were visited by one cockroach during our 4 night stay but, apart from a snake in Bagan, that was the only wildlife we saw in Burma, which was rather disappointing.

Room Tip: Try for the triple room overlooking the Sule Pagoda. It does cost more but if you are staying for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lewiston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Yes, the rooms are small and most are windowless, but mine was spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable, etc. The staff are doing an excellent job of dealing with the sudden influx of tourists, many of whom are traveling in Burma for the first time and are not familiar with the state of accommodation and tourist infrastructure in this country. A teashop just around the corner to the right serves good mohinga and Shan noodles--a great alternative to the standard guesthouse breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front and back seem to have windows to the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lithophrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

After staying here two nights in mid-December and in four different hotels in Yangon over December, I can say that it's hard to get value for money (compared to other SE Asian destinations) in Yangon, at least in peak season.

This hotel, is, as other reviewers have mentioned, in a great location. This was useful for us as we travelled with a child, who needed to come back to the hotel from time to time throughout the day. Plus you are in the action - street food, markets etc

On the other hand, the hotel isn't particularly clean, and is quite noisy. We stayed in a triple room, which does have a great view. Note however that the wall in the room does not quite continue to the end (!!!) near the window, as we discovered when we noticed a man smoking outside our room - we could see his reflection in our window! Given this and that the hallways and rooms are all tiled, there is a fair bit of noise.

The breakfast was the worst we had in Burma. But the owner and staff were friendly and lovely to our son.

I personally would recommend spending more to get a better standard of accommodation in Yangon, particularly if you're travelling with kids, and go for cheaper accommodation in other places, such as Inle, Bagan and Moulmein, as you get much better value there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randomtraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 2 nights at May Shan at the end of November 2012. Location is great: right next to Sule Pagoda, easy walk to the Dala ferry, Bogyoke Aung market and China/Malay town. Sule Pagoda Rd is a hive of activity with tea stalls outside and endless street market bustle just around the corner. Still quiet at night however. Rooms were basic, but big and clean with the front rooms (eg 401,701) having views of Sule Pagoda and the city. Staff were always friendly and helpful. They organised lots of our acommodation, internal flights and transport in advance and all these arrangements worked seamlessly. They did this purely on the basis of email before we reached Myanmar. I cannot speak more highly of May Shan if you are looking for budget accommodation.

Room Tip: Rooms ending with '1' at the front of the hotel have better views and are generaly lighter a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_pastiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is my 3rd visit to Yangon and the Mayshan Hotel. In 6 short months, tourism has exploded in Yangon but there are no new rooms. So a single room that was $15 two years ago and $25 nine months ago, is now $45. Our triple, booked just a month earlier had gone up $10 in that period. So the maxim is, get a reservation with confirmed rate by email (they adhered to our lower rate without question).
The owners here are very helpful and booked internal air flights for us before we arrived - we paid them only on arrival. The rooms are internal or with window - the best looking out over the Sule Pagoda and costing $89. They are now looking quite dated (small TV, broken/old bathroom fittings, poorly fitting windows), but I have yet to see any viable competition in this mid price range in this location (right by the Sule Pagoda, and an easy walk to the markets, the river, Chinatown, and Little India).
Breakfast is adequate but could benefit from a little dressing up. Egg alone on a plate with toast, canned butter, pineapple jam, a banana, and tea or coffee is no longer the norm in Myanmar.
Internet is available in the lobby area only and is now faster than it was - which is not to say very fast... Beware what sites you access - despite sanctions having been lifted, Paypal will suspend your account if you access it from Myanmar until you get home and can call them.
There is now a branch of CB bank nearby with a functioning ATM that dispenses Kyats to MC and Visa debit card holders, but as the hotel takes only cash, I would still come with an adequate supply of dollars in hand. Taxis are cheap and reasonably fair - a ride to the Shwe Dagon pagoda is about $3, and the airport about $10.
**I like the Mayshan. I like the owners and the staff. I like the location.**
But I hope that they choose to reinvest some of the windfall rate gains they now have with increased tourism into the upkeep of the rooms and some of the services like breakfast (if you crave a luxury breakfast at western hotel prices, Traders Hotel is a 5 minute walk away with a huge breakfast buffet).

Room Tip: Rate dictates window or not; view or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#78 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#33 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 164 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing