We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 170 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Good, clean hotel centrally located next to Sule Paya. Very friendly helpful staff. Breakfast is toast,fried egg,coffee/tea,bananas and very filling. Hotel has computer that you can use for reasonable cost and very good connection or free wi-fi. Good water pressure and hot water. In all a comfortable hotel with helpful staff if not a little expensive. There is also a lift which is great if you don't want to take the stairs!! Also check out the view from the roof.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ushenrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    66
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We had a triple room (room was recommended by lonely planet). It was clean adn with air-con, but it was quite small and very basic. It had a small old TV and a small bathroom (albeit with hot water). The beds were not made every day and the water was not replenished either. We had to pay for water and one bottle had something quite curious floating in it. The breakfast consisted of toast with butter/jam, tea or coffee and a banana. The best thing about the room was the view across to Sule Pagoda and the fact that the hotel is ideally situated in the city near all the hustle and bustle. The worst thing about the hotel was the price. At $90 per night for what we got we thought it was way too much money. $60 would have been more reasonable and in line with the other hotels that we stayed in Myanmar.

Room Tip: Look around for better priced rooms in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rylee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our room was small, windowless and very old and dated but it was clean. It was not the kind of room you looked forward to coming back to at the end of the day. The breakfast was pretty basic with a banana, egg and bread. It was also one of the more expensive hotels we stayed at in Myanmar.
On the plus side the May Shan is in a great location and the owners and staff are very hospitable, knowledgable and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

The room is overpriced, the room is small, and facilities are incomplete but location is strategic, food are around that area. This hotel is suitable for backpacker, for family it is not recommended. I will rate the hotel as three stars.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed her for two nights and really enjoyed it. As others have mentioned Yangon is extremely expensive so this is a good find. We reserved a room with a small window, which is exactly what we got. The room was quite small compared to American hotels, but quite normal for the rest of the world. The breakfast is the same everyday with no options, 2slices of white toast and butter, one fried egg, pineapple jam, two bananas and tea or coffee. Seriously, what more do you need for one meal?
Free wi fi in the lobby but lots of chairs that were comfortable. Extremely helpful staff on reception,what more do you need. How about a roof terrace withviews over the Sule Pagoda and rooftops? They seem to be in the middle if building that. We are staying for two more nights at the end if our trip around Myanmar and looking forward to it. It certainly is much better than the hotel i am currently at inBagan!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My wife and stayed in Yangon at this hotel and were not pleased. It is backpacker quality with rates a lot higher than expected. The rooms were clean but they were small and dank. The location is quite good however located close to all amenities. I would not ever stay in Yangon again! If I returned to Myanmar I would get out of Dodge (Yangon) as quickly as possible. We found this hotel quite disappointing. Also do not book using Agoda as you cannot cancel or change bookings online, ever! We were therefore stuck in this hotel. I must say though the family are good people and were very nice to customers.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dabblanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Sutter Creek, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I must agree with most of the other reviews of the May Shan - the location is ideal and the service was excellent, even if the rooms were on the small side. From my first email exchange with Ko Htiak, the staff at May Shan were professional and very helpful. It was virtually impossible for me to make local Myanmar airline reservations from the USA, but they readily reserved all the flights we needed and had our tickets ready for us when we arrived. Also by contacting them directly, we were able to get a room in the back of the hotel with a window which let in some natural light. They also helped us find a room in the Inle Lake area by making numerous phone calls when our original reservation fell through.
Although they did not tell us about the free breakfast, we did not go hungry! Across the street is a little tea house called Kings which has beautiful steamed buns made in house, and down the road past Sule Pagoda there are some other tea houses where you can enjoy a steaming bowl of mohinga. And in the evening, a fun, 15 minute walk will take you down to 19th street to the beer/barbeque spots that are both delicious and entertaining!
We were fortunate at the end of our trip to secure a room at the May Shan on a days notice. It's difficult in Yangon, and most of Myanmar to find small, local, mid priced hotels, but we did with May Shan.

Room Tip: Email ahead to get a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoothillTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#45 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
East Hotel
East Hotel
#51 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
591 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 154 in Yangon (Rangoon)
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#10 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scott @ 31st Street
Scott @ 31st Street
#6 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
72 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
#13 of 89 in Yangon (Rangoon)
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing