We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but basic rooms, overpriced, but then so are the rest of Burmese hotels”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #74 of 167 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Clean but basic rooms, overpriced, but then so are the rest of Burmese hotels”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

at $69/night for a double room this basic but clean accommodation is very overpriced, but you will be hard pushed to find much cheaper in Yangon. We paid for a room with a window but never once opened the curtains or window because there's no view at all! Just a wall! Very near sule pagoda and a decent (if not half missing) view of Sule Pagoda from the roof terrace. But to be honest, other than Sule Pagoda, its not near much else and you still have to get a taxi to visit Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya lake, so you may as well stay anywhere else in Yangon if you can find it cheaper!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a room with a window, because unless you pay $90 for the triple room (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teenytinytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    66
    54
    22
    10
See reviews for
12
57
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay there for two nights but left after the first night. The neighborhood is pretty dodgy, the room had no windows, an annoying light from the hallway were shining into the room and you had to hold the shower head yourself while showering. Not least was the breakfast pretty bad. Two pieces of dry bread and an egg. Not even juice. Stay away!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank GitteHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is very centrally located but hugely overpriced for what it is. The rooms feel cold and characterless, breakfast is as basic as it gets. We were also woken up by busy traffic on the road in front of hotel at 5am. We stayed in Yangon for two nights and chose to move out for the second night for a much cheaper and cosier option in Northern Yangon (we went for Windsor but there are many similar hotels). Go north - you'll save 50% and get a much cosier quieter room (and you can take a cab downtown any time for $3).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _AnnnnaLondon_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Owner seem to be chinese. Can speak chinese very well. Hitel near the pagoda area. Near trader hotel too. Stayed there for 4 nights. Was pretty ok. Execpt mosquito are plentiful. Wifi was only available at lobby. Breakfast was basic too. Should you need basicfood or drinks, please buy it at the supermarket. As it is difficult to find supermarket after 10pm.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lineasy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I paid over $70 USD a night for a double room with a window. Didn't get much for my money - the toilets didn't flush properly, the bottom bedsheet was polyester and kept slipping off the bed, thongs were mouldy. The free wifi internet didn't work for the three days I stayed there even though it was fine at the internet cafe down the road and at the other hotel I stayed at in Yangon.

Accommodation in Myanmar is limited and the poorest value of any SE Asian country I have visited. It's about 3-5 times more than you would pay for equivalent accommodation in Thailand or Vietnam. For Myanmar May Shan hotel is probably average value, but would have appreciated a little bit of attention to detail from the managers of this hotel.

On the positive side, the location is excellent and the people are lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noisha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at the May Shan in early September and I kind of expected the hotel to be basic but as I found no other better options I went along with it. The room that I stayed in had no windows. The bed, TV, A/C, table, minifridge were all in good/working conditions. The bathroom was very very basic. The lady at the reception desk was pleasant and attentive to any questions. Location wise, its a good place right next to the Sule Pagoda and you can walk around Downtown to see the different markets and other pagodas.

I probably would not return to somewhere like May Shan but then again I don't quite know where I would go. And I was there solo, definitely not recommended for solo travellers...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexlimbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It is not a cheap hotel. We traveled in 3, so that I have booked the room 601 with a street view, it was the first day I arrived in Yangon, and I looked out of the hotel window, I have seen the busy street and shrined Sule paya. It was very impressive. Compare to boutique hotels, it is too simple.

If you are like me, use Yangon as a transfer point at both ends of your entire trip, you can stay here one night then stay in the north of city for another. It is not bad, just let you see another facet of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alertbutsafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.1 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#78 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Space Boutique Hostel
Space Boutique Hostel
#9 of 87 in Yangon (Rangoon)
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
Wayfarer's Rest - Chinatown
#13 of 87 in Yangon (Rangoon)
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel @ Yangon Heritage
Hotel @ Yangon Heritage
#14 of 167 in Yangon (Rangoon)
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
30th Corner Boutique Hostel
#21 of 87 in Yangon (Rangoon)
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Property: May Shan Hotel
Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 167 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — May Shan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing