We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel without the budget pricetag - clean & excellent location”
Review of May Shan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
May Shan Hotel
Ranked #79 of 177 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel placed anywhere other than Myanmar (Burma) would be a no-no, however in Myanmar it is and therefore its charms cannot be overlooked - unless you are lucky enough to consider money no object.
The hotels major attraction is its location and friendly family run atmosphere. The hotel is overlooking the Sule Pagoda and is walking distance to the Independent Monument, Scotts Market and a small number of coffee houses / bars.
Inside - the hotel rooms are a comfortable size and more importantly the beds are comfy, if perhaps a little firm for some. Two things that are immediately apparent; 1) they are fully tiled. Walls & floor - Fully tiled however 2) they are spotlessly clean. Bathrooms are often made up of colourful sanitary ware (ours was electric blue this time) But the air-con was cold and a recent addition is the flat screen TV's.
Breakfast is 2 eggs, fried - toast - bananas and honey/jam. Tea or coffee. Ok they will never win a culinary award, but it is sufficient to get you started.
Overall - we have stayed here three times now, its not somewhere Id like to spend a fortnight, but its a great place to stay for a couple of nights whilst exploring this incredible city at a very reasonable price, comparatively speaking.

Room Tip: If you get the family rooms at the front of the hotel the views of the Sule Pagoda are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali-Ludwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at MayShan for a night at each end of our trip... great location in Little India (close to lots of great places to eat, and Sule Paya) and staff were helpful in arranging taxis, letting us into the room early, etc. Room was clean, but fairly small (particularly the second room we had) and with no window. No hot water the first time we stayed, but was fine the second night. At $65/night it's not cheap for what you get, but seems this is the case across Myanmar.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for one night in a twin room with air conditioning. Basic room. We had the room without a window which was perfect. Slept well with air conditioning on. Basic breakfast of instant coffee, toast , banana and bread. Free internet worked great. Great location. We walked to the National Museum, shwe dragon pagoda and Scott market.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Silvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

at $69/night for a double room this basic but clean accommodation is very overpriced, but you will be hard pushed to find much cheaper in Yangon. We paid for a room with a window but never once opened the curtains or window because there's no view at all! Just a wall! Very near sule pagoda and a decent (if not half missing) view of Sule Pagoda from the roof terrace. But to be honest, other than Sule Pagoda, its not near much else and you still have to get a taxi to visit Shwedagon Pagoda, Inya lake, so you may as well stay anywhere else in Yangon if you can find it cheaper!

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a room with a window, because unless you pay $90 for the triple room (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teenytinytin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We were supposed to stay there for two nights but left after the first night. The neighborhood is pretty dodgy, the room had no windows, an annoying light from the hallway were shining into the room and you had to hold the shower head yourself while showering. Not least was the breakfast pretty bad. Two pieces of dry bread and an egg. Not even juice. Stay away!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank GitteHolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The hotel is very centrally located but hugely overpriced for what it is. The rooms feel cold and characterless, breakfast is as basic as it gets. We were also woken up by busy traffic on the road in front of hotel at 5am. We stayed in Yangon for two nights and chose to move out for the second night for a much cheaper and cosier option in Northern Yangon (we went for Windsor but there are many similar hotels). Go north - you'll save 50% and get a much cosier quieter room (and you can take a cab downtown any time for $3).

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _AnnnnaLondon_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Owner seem to be chinese. Can speak chinese very well. Hitel near the pagoda area. Near trader hotel too. Stayed there for 4 nights. Was pretty ok. Execpt mosquito are plentiful. Wifi was only available at lobby. Breakfast was basic too. Should you need basicfood or drinks, please buy it at the supermarket. As it is difficult to find supermarket after 10pm.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lineasy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#18 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
517 reviews
0 mi away
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
Sule Shangri-La Yangon
#6 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
2,863 reviews
0 mi away
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
Chatrium Hotel Royal Lake Yangon
#8 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
Rose Garden Hotel Yangon
#10 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
395 reviews
0 mi away
Esperado Lake View Hotel
Esperado Lake View Hotel
#14 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
536 reviews
0 mi away
The Strand
The Strand
#3 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May Shan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May Shan Hotel

Address: 115 117 Sule Paya Road | Kyauktada Township, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £21 - £35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May Shan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your May Shan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
May Shan Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing