We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brenda D
Sydney, Australia

Look no further, this is THE hotel for you

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Mar 2020via mobile
We stayed at the Yangon Excelsior for three nights, the hotel itself is a small boutique hotel in a great location. It’s a relatively new hotel having only been open for about 18months. The hotel has been decorated beautifully and has a modern but old world charm.
We enjoyed our breakfast each day, the staff remembered our preferences for coffee and drinks for the days we were there, I have a Pomelo and cucumber obsession and would go early to the markets in the morning at 630am, to buy these items and the staff would prepare them for me for breakfast, no request was too hard. Thanks Je for your advice on how to pick the best Pomelo, obviously I have a lot to still learn haha.
The staff at the Yangon Excelsior go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to help you with any requests, they always had a smile and were quick to offer assistance to questions or requests.
After going out in 36 heat, we loved coming back to our room for a rest during the heat of the day before heading out again, the location of the Yangon Excelsior was central to walking and exploring around Yangon. We enjoyed the mini bar in our room with the cold drinks and the glass water bottles in our room with water. The soaps and shampoos had a lovely scent, and the shower was the perfect water pressure. Our bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean, the high ceilings gave the room and light and airy feeling.
If you love street food, try the pickled ginger dish, and the green tea salad from the street cart at the end of the road where the hotel is located (Bo Son Pat Road) turn left out of the hotel, walk to the end of the street, on the right hand side will be a serious of street carts, chose the second cart (should be under a blue sign all in Burmese and next to that is a sign that states MPT, delicious!
Thank you Yangon excelsior for making our stay in Rangoon so enjoyable, we highly recommend staying here.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this review
Responded 10 Nov 2020
Dear Dib Family

We were absolutely thrilled to read your review! happy to read that you a truly magical and memorable experience and we are very happy that you took the time to share your experience with us in such a positive and complimentary way; it means a lot to us. We hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back again, thank you. With best wishes,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£95
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.6 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.1 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£32
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
£68
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£21
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
£57
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.1 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£19
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.9 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Infinity Pool overlooking to Shwedagon Pagoda, Trinity Church and Yangon City
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £86
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    £61
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
150
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
150
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Look no further, the Yangon Excelsior is a stunning hotel in what must be the best location in Yangon. As others have said, the road approaching the hotel is a bit run down, but that only makes entering the hotel all the more fabulous. Wonderful staff at hotel and restaurants, gorgeous rooms that will make you question whether you want to leave to explore this fascinating city. I truly hope to return one day. Thank you for showing me the definition of hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Jcorbett72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear J Corbett

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It has been my personal pleasure to share your sentiments with the team who helped to create an experience, and showing you the definition of hospitality.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

I had the privilege to spend two nights living like a king at the charming new Yangon Excelsior Hotel. What an incredible hotel. Located in an old colonial building constructed around 1930, this hotel made me feel super special the moment I stood in front of its beautiful entrance.

Decorated to reflect the rich history of the building, the rooms are stylish and modern, with a flair of history - including an old typewriter with a personal welcome letter from Mr. Philippe Arnaud, the friendly General Manager, as well as old-style telephones. The bathroom and beds are heavenly.

Thanks to Philippe and the staff who made my stay so very special. Indeed THE place to stay when you are visiting Yangon!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear KH Trekker
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Yangon Excelsior Hotel.
We are so happy to read you appreciated the high level of our incredible hotel, knowledge and kindness delivered by the Team to make a special moment for you!
I personally thank you for choosing to stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you soon during your next visit in Yangon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2020 via mobile

What a fabulous hotel with amazingly helpful and smiley 😊 staff. They were so helpful from start to finish and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious 😋 and they got to know my favourites. Lunch was delicious and the mocktails mouth watering It was a wonderful welcome to Yangon as a single female traveller. The building itself was immaculate and my huge bedroom full of luxury and good taste. Goes down as a favourite for me 💙💖🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 🌟Thanks you

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank flossknight66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glorious review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel full of good taste with an amazing team. We do hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020 via mobile

This beautiful and swanky hotel could easily be in NYC where it would be $600/night. It’s truly 5 star as is the staff. They can’t do enough for you and speak perfect English. I stayed 3 nights and ended up eating dinner here every night because I was too tired to venture back out after long days of sight seeing. Food was great. Breakfast was the best of my trip. The linens on the bed were nicer than those I have at home. My only (small) complaint would be that I found the bed too hard *but* that was the case everywhere during my two week trip in Laos and Myanmar. Think it’s just their norm and personal preference. You can’t go wrong here- it deserves it’s accolades.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Casinoroyale72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind review.
It was a pleasure to host you during your visit in Yangon!
I am pleased to read you enjoyed our food, especially our breakfast, and it is always a pleasure reading nice comments towards the team!
I am also delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant.
With best regards
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

This hotel was quite a surprise for us. Located very close to everything, this hotel was modern with a traditional touch. The food ,decor was great. Attention to every detail in terms of service , definitely will stay here again.

Room tip: all rooms are great
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 256rinia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glorious review! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel beautiful. We do hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews