We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Zing Z

A true gem in downtown Yangon

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Dec 2023
Yangon Excelsior has just reopened on 1 December 2023, I chanced upon their Facebook page and booked directly with them. Their reopening packages are incredibly affordable for the standard it provides.

A true gem in Yangon, tucked away in a busy alley way near Sule Pagoda, easily assessable to major tourist attractions.

This boutique hotel is impeccable. Beautifully and tastefully decorated; old world charm meets modern amenities.

The room is spacious, high ceiling, warm, and soothing tone and sufficiently lit. Everything was carefully considered, the bed and linen were comfortable; the shower pressure was superb!

High compliments for the attentive service all round. Mr Zaw, the manager, was extremely helpful and always around greeting guests at the front desk.

I looked forward to breakfast every morning, handsome choices (traditional noodle soup was excellent) and good quality food.

I stayed in 3 different hotels in Yangon during the trip and Yangon Excelsior tops the list.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yangon Excelsior, Marketing at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this review
Responded 14 Feb 2024
Dear ZingZ2,

Thank you immensely for your wonderful review and for sharing your experience at the Yangon Excelsior Hotel on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to learn that your stay with us was up to your expectations, especially following our reopening on December 1, 2023.

It is particularly rewarding to read that you found our hotel to be a true gem in downtown Yangon, offering both old-world charm and modern amenities. We have put a lot of effort into the decoration of our boutique hotel to ensure it is both beautiful and functional, and it is wonderful to know that you appreciated the design of your room, its comfort, as well as the quality of service.

We will pass on your compliments to Mr. Zaw and our entire team, who will surely be delighted to know they contributed to making your stay memorable. Excellence in service is at the heart of our priorities, and your comments are a beautiful reward for our dedicated staff.

We are also glad that breakfast met your expectations, with its many quality options, including the traditional noodle soup you particularly enjoyed.

Knowing that the Yangon Excelsior Hotel was your favorite among the three hotels you stayed in Yangon is a tremendous honor for us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon for another exceptional experience.

Thank you again for your support and for choosing the Yangon Excelsior Hotel for your stay in Yangon.

Warm regards,

The Yangon Excelsior Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£95
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.6 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£35
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
Deluxe Room
£61
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
0.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Room service
£19
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£17
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.9 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Restaurant
£57
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.9 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£53
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
5.0 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
£51
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
Biggest Suite Executive
£22
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    £22
6.0 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Novotel
    £57
  • Booking.com
3.7 miles from Yangon Excelsior
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
150
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
150
4
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

This Hotel is really, really good with fantastic location!!

The rooms are really beautiful and comfortable and all staff amazing.

Best Value in Yangon!!

New, Beautiful, And absolutely Fantastic Hotel!!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SofiaGMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear Sofia
Many thanks for staying with us and we are really happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Yangon Excelsior.
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2020 via mobile

I cannot compliment more this beautiful ❤️ hotel ! The service is perfect ! The rooms are just amazing ! Nothing more to say and cannot find the words to recommend the Excelsior ! Please don't hesitate just stay here !

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank gladysEris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Yangon Excelsior Hotel.
We are so happy to read you appreciated the high level of service delivered by the Team !
really appreciated that you recommend our hotel
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

We stayed at the Yangon Excelsior for three nights, the hotel itself is a small boutique hotel in a great location. It’s a relatively new hotel having only been open for about 18months. The hotel has been decorated beautifully and has a modern but old world charm.
We enjoyed our breakfast each day, the staff remembered our preferences for coffee and drinks for the days we were there, I have a Pomelo and cucumber obsession and would go early to the markets in the morning at 630am, to buy these items and the staff would prepare them for me for breakfast, no request was too hard. Thanks Je for your advice on how to pick the best Pomelo, obviously I have a lot to still learn haha.
The staff at the Yangon Excelsior go out of their way to make you feel welcome and to help you with any requests, they always had a smile and were quick to offer assistance to questions or requests.
After going out in 36 heat, we loved coming back to our room for a rest during the heat of the day before heading out again, the location of the Yangon Excelsior was central to walking and exploring around Yangon. We enjoyed the mini bar in our room with the cold drinks and the glass water bottles in our room with water. The soaps and shampoos had a lovely scent, and the shower was the perfect water pressure. Our bed was large and comfortable and the room was very clean, the high ceilings gave the room and light and airy feeling.
If you love street food, try the pickled ginger dish, and the green tea salad from the street cart at the end of the road where the hotel is located (Bo Son Pat Road) turn left out of the hotel, walk to the end of the street, on the right hand side will be a serious of street carts, chose the second cart (should be under a blue sign all in Burmese and next to that is a sign that states MPT, delicious!
Thank you Yangon excelsior for making our stay in Rangoon so enjoyable, we highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear Dib Family

We were absolutely thrilled to read your review! happy to read that you a truly magical and memorable experience and we are very happy that you took the time to share your experience with us in such a positive and complimentary way; it means a lot to us. We hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back again, thank you. With best wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

Look no further, the Yangon Excelsior is a stunning hotel in what must be the best location in Yangon. As others have said, the road approaching the hotel is a bit run down, but that only makes entering the hotel all the more fabulous. Wonderful staff at hotel and restaurants, gorgeous rooms that will make you question whether you want to leave to explore this fascinating city. I truly hope to return one day. Thank you for showing me the definition of hospitality.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Jcorbett72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear J Corbett

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. It has been my personal pleasure to share your sentiments with the team who helped to create an experience, and showing you the definition of hospitality.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

I had the privilege to spend two nights living like a king at the charming new Yangon Excelsior Hotel. What an incredible hotel. Located in an old colonial building constructed around 1930, this hotel made me feel super special the moment I stood in front of its beautiful entrance.

Decorated to reflect the rich history of the building, the rooms are stylish and modern, with a flair of history - including an old typewriter with a personal welcome letter from Mr. Philippe Arnaud, the friendly General Manager, as well as old-style telephones. The bathroom and beds are heavenly.

Thanks to Philippe and the staff who made my stay so very special. Indeed THE place to stay when you are visiting Yangon!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hk-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Philippe Arnaud, General Manager at Yangon Excelsior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2020

Dear KH Trekker
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us at Yangon Excelsior Hotel.
We are so happy to read you appreciated the high level of our incredible hotel, knowledge and kindness delivered by the Team to make a special moment for you!
I personally thank you for choosing to stay with us and looking forward to welcoming you soon during your next visit in Yangon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews