We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay there” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of White House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yangon (Rangoon)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White House Hotel
Ranked #80 of 158 Yangon (Rangoon) B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Do not stay there”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Let me start by saying that finally we did NOT stay in this guesthouse.
the story enrolled like this: we made a couple of days before our return to Yangon a reservation (we called) and booked a doubleroom for 27 Dollars with breakfast. The day we arrived the (very unfriendly) man at the desk could not find our reservation. After staring at his agenda for like 10 minutes he found out that he misunderstood my friend who was making a reservation for the twentyfirst. He booked us for the twentythird. So far so good. we tried to solve the situation diplomatically by saying it was neither our nor his fault and asked if they still had a free room. To find out if there was a free room he stared again for 10 minutes on his sheets and then gave us the keys to check out two free rooms (for which he wanted over 30 dollars). we had a look - the rooms were terrible! you feel like in a mental hospital! and it smelled everywhere from cat pee. (oh, they even offer condoms in the rooms). we also saw the kitchen where dozens of cats reside. Consequently, neither breakfast nor staying in one of these kinky disgusting rooms seemed appealing and we left. We found a beautiful guesthouse a couple of blocs away: okinawa guesthouse.
In a nutshell: White house hotel is not a welcoming place. staff is unfriendly and stubborn, rooms and kitchen do not seem very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sa_als
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    29
    34
    24
    26
See reviews for
2
53
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Coming from a backpackers point of view this hotel was average.

yes the rooms were grubby, but if you are planning on not spending too much money on accommodation in Myanmar then this is how the majority of the rooms are. I think we paid $27 for a room with no window for 2 people

One of the guys who worked there was very friendly, as most of the Burmese are, he helped us book our bus to bagan and even sorted our taxi for us.

the breakfast was the best I had in Myanmar, all of which vegetarian.

the internet only works at reception but expect this for the majority of Myanmar.

The location is perfect, right in the centre of Yangon.

Over all I had a nice 2 night stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pully, Suisse
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

At 22 $ for a double room with shared bathroom, you can find much better in Yangon. Room apparently clean but don't look behind the beds or below. Sheets had holes. Overall, the guesthouse need to be refurbished. Large breakfast buffet. Booked bus ticket to kinpun (golden rock) asking for aircon and he confirmed but no aircon in the bus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 90JDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We reserved two nights here since the hotel was in the Lonely planet and people seemed reasonably happy with it online. At first glance, the room looked spartan but OK according to Myanmar/Burmese standards however when we approached the beds we saw that they were literally covered with fleas. The owner was not surprised when we complained and gave us keys to two more rooms. The first had just as many fleas and the second was depressing but no sign of fleas. It should be pointed out that these are rooms at 45 USD - there is nothing in these rooms that makes them worth this amount. The situation in Burma is special but the owner should reinvest in some insect extermination. After the first night we went next door to a hotel called Daddy's Hotel - clean, completely ok and 30 dollars per night - we would recommend this instead!

Room Tip: Beware of fleas, we visited rooms on the 7th floor. Inspect beds closely. Dust on the beds is probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenK538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
803 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

It is not easy to balance the two side of this place. Well situated, close to Sulla Pagoda. The positive side is the staff at the reception are extremely nice and helpful for anything, direction or booking transport. We book a bus to Mandalay and it was the nicest vip bus we took in the country. They hired a taxi for the 4 of us and gave the perfect direction to him. Their web page is well done and helpfull. You have also a helpfull city map on arrival
Some people rate a place or a city by the food! So it is your place. The buffet is complete with all your taste.
But if the room is your importance! It is basic here and to basic for the price. We had a fan room with poor and old and...share bathroom. The shower head throw water so hard it can knock you down. (So much lost of water, sure not environmental thinking)
The room was run down, half clean: the bed and around. Even if you see all the time Cinderella on her knee washing the floor. The blanket smelled moldy and some other rooms that I visited. You have no top sheet, no towel, no soap..nothing for a 25$/night. Compare to what other Hotels in the country offer it is definitely over price.
They have wifi in many areas, sometime good, sometime not.
So It is a minus average regarding the rooms and a plus for service and breakfast

Room Tip: A taxi from the airport is around 7000k but negotiate..may be ...5000k There is a bus traveling from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Tiny room (just to fit 1 double bed in it) without window and with moldy ceiling that was falling down, shared bathroom, for 25 USD we can't call good value. Room was simply horrible and even spooky. Fortunately we found much better place after two days. The staff is generally friendly but charge high commission for taxi hire and bus tickets if you buy them via hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursuula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

For 24 USD we got a room about 3 meters square (this is not an exageration, it just fit 2 single beds), no window and a desk fan that didnt stay in the power socket. One bathroom was shared between about 6 rooms. Also the 6 flights of stairs is not much fun. The room got so hot at night I actualy left to try and sleep in the hammock on the roof top. Im not opposed to this type of accom as iv stayed in places like this before. Its just this is terrible value compared to other places I have stayed in myanmar and yangon. 30 USD can get you private bathroom, aircon and satalite tv elsewhere easy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wienerbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Pearl Inn
Ocean Pearl Inn
#91 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautyland Hotel II
Beautyland Hotel II
#84 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#22 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Agga Youth Hotel
Agga Youth Hotel
#62 of 147 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hninn Si Budget Inn
Hninn Si Budget Inn
#21 of 158 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chan Myae Guesthouse
Chan Myae Guesthouse
#5 of 83 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House Hotel

Property: White House Hotel
Address: 69 71 Konezaydan St, Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Yangon (Rangoon)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
White House Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing