We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist heaven?”

Padonmar Restaurant
Price range: US$5 - US$40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome TO " PADONMAR RESTAURANT " in Yangon Padonmar Restaurant in Yangon, the commercial capital of the Republic of the Union of Myanmar is one of the very few " Fine Dining" Restaurant offering authentic Myanmar Cuisine retaining the Home cooked flavor and health conscious using less cooking oil and strictly NO Monosodium Glutamate (M.S.G).
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tourist heaven?”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Ok, we had a very good meal here, our last night in Myanmar.
But it is not the kind of place where the Burmese would go.
Full of western tour groups.
But good food!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sessiagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    422
    154
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fantastic, close to where we were staying, food, service and atmosphere were excellent.”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were recommended to go to Padonmar by the hotel. Great food, service, atmosphere and most of all great value. $30 US for 2 courses and drinks for 2 of us. Highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
371 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Simple lovely”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Very homely food. We had fish cakes. Myanmar Aurbergine salad which was interesting flavour. Papaya salad. Chicken Thai style with red chilli paste. Mutton curry with chick pea. Coconut rice and tomatoe rice were lovely. Two juice drinks. It came to under 40000kyat with charges.

Indoor and outdoor seating. Lovely decor inside. Take a tour. Many like the outside garden setting. Book or come early cos after 7pm they get busy.

There's always someone who speaks English to assist in ordering. Taxis available outside. A good experience which requires another visit next time.

Helpful?
Thank pt2pt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent food excellent ambience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Was invited to Padonmar by some friends who live and work in Yangon.
It was a lovely experience.
The food was local, varied, well cooked, well presented and was very tasty and very reasonably priced.
I note that it is only 15th of Yangon Restaurants however, Padonmar has had over 260 reviews yet 10 in the top 15 have not had 260 reviews between all of them.
If you do eat out on TA recommendations, look at the number and consistency of the reviews, don't just choose the number one on the list as all 12 good reviews it has may not give an entirely accurate picture.
Wo

Helpful?
Thank Thaibart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This is our second visit to Padonmar, the last visit being a year ago. The food is still great and the service excellent. We decided to eat indoors, to enjoy the air condition room as it was a hot day. Surprising that there were many who chose to eat outdoors in the garden area. The local food and especially the curry was awesome. The waiters were helpful with their recommendation of the various local dishes and were generous too with a constant supply of crackers that we could enjoy with our beers. The dining experience was inexpensive as our party of four spent less than US$80. I will certainly make a return visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Padonmar Restaurant also viewed

 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Padonmar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing