We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Independent Monument in MahaBandoola Garden”

Maha Bandoola Garden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Half-Day Amazing Yangon Tour Including Circular Train Ride
Attraction details
Yangon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Independent Monument in MahaBandoola Garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Independent Monument in MahaBandoola Garden....
It is the one of the famous Landmarks in Yangon!
Most of City Dwellers like to chill out in the evening!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MKHOTELYANGON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    100
    53
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice enough park at a busy intersection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Today I walked into the gardens, I hasn't read up on it but stumbled across it while photographing sule pagoda. If there was a fee I didn't pay it. Fair enough since I paid 10 times the price for a bottle of water outside of the park. Haha! Watch out for overcharging, in the heat my brain didn't convert very well. Oh well not a big loss. The park itself is nice, if you have children there's a playground on one end. Other than that a couple trees and monuments but if there is a fee I definitely would not pay!

Helpful?
Thank stamoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Ongoing works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

On the 9th, there were still some works ongoing around the park adding to the general chaos and traffic congestion but our coaches were able to park there inside the barriers. Pavements were worse as some were cordoned off.

There was no entry fee charged that we were aware of and our guides did not mention one so it may now be scrapped altogether.

Nice pleasant green spot with attractive topiary and busy with families. Lots of vendors around the outside of the gardens.

Good views of the colonial style buildings around the square including City Hall, a Mosque, a Baptist Church, the High Court and the Sule Pagoda (looking ridiculous surrounded as it was by traffic and buildings) And of course, right in the centre, the Independence Monument celebrating independence from Britain.

Worth a stop if in the vicinity.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
663 reviews
335 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

When we first arrived at the park we took it to be a nice place to relax, and sat down under Independence Monument and facing the Supreme Court. It was quite nice. Shortly after we sat down a small girl came to give us a present of a nectarine, with her mother smiling about 50 feet away, and we were having a great time. After that a "monk" joined us and told us his conspiracy theories about how NASA isn't actually run by the Americans but is a front by the Jewish state of Israel (among others) and then hit us up for money. He had barely stood to leave when the next person joined us to ask for money, and we then decided it was time to move on.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlnAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“No money requested”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The area may have changed since previous reviews as you can see from the photos less trees & they were doing work on the paths when we visited
The surrounding builds are much as described
Its a green space in a very crowded city

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alfred63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maha Bandoola Garden also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Maha Bandoola Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing