We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanted Pagoda, with free and fast wifi”
Review of Shwedagon Pagoda

Shwedagon Pagoda
Book In Advance
More Info
US$32.00*
and up
Half-Day Spiritual Shwedagon Pagoda Tour in Yangon
More Info
US$52.00*
and up
Shwedagon Pagoda Walking Tour
More Info
US$85.00*
and up
Half Day Yangon City Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's biggest tourist attraction is this immense Buddhist shrine built approx. 2500 years ago.
jakarta
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Enchanted Pagoda, with free and fast wifi”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Deapite of its expensive entrance rate for foreigner (about $ 8), the pagida surely lives its majstic reputation for being the must visit pagoda in Myanmar. If you have been in That Luang in Vientiane-Laos, this one is bigger and more beautiful in its own way. But I do love both.
The free and fast wifi adds more benefit for visitors who crave to upload their selfie on socia media.
Make sure you enter from West gate entrance to experience the beautiful facade and one of the longest escalator I've ever experience on bare foot!.
Leave the pagoda through South gate to take the elevator ride.
Visit the pagoda from 5 PM to around 8 PM to experience day, sunset and night view of its beautiful view, the lighting during night will add more charms.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vayastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,125
    1,720
    281
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Must Visit if Your are in Myanmar”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Shwedagon Pagoda is a marvel 2,500 years old it enshrines the Hair and some relics of Lord Buddha. The sight of the stupas is really marvelous, well maintained you can carry your camera's inside and capture the pagoda at close.

Having a guide will really help you understand the significance of every structure, idol the rituals and really give you a good perspective about Buddhism.

You will need a good couple of Hours to cover the campus.

Women are advised not to wear shorts, denims should be fine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Religiously Unique”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is what make Myanmar worth visiting, a place for Buddhist to visit. And even if you are not a Buddhist, its a sight to behold. Despite the rain, there were many foreign visitors and you can watch the locals and monks praying and placing offerings. The stupas are amazing and good place to challenge your photography skills.
Agree that the price for foreigners is quite high at USD 8 per person.
NOW......the real deal....
1. There are 4 different entrances and unfortunately, our taxi took us to the main entrance and even my son's below knee pants were challenged. When inside i noticed some foreigners having knee long pants allowed in as well !!! so try other entrances
2. The staff wanted us to buy the lungi but we refused and later they agreed to rent one at USD2, again another rip off, so if you plan to visit, please be ready to cover up before you go.
3. I find there is no consistency in entering Pagodas, in Botatung Pagoda, we could wear shorts in to the place which i thought was strange
4. take your time to walk through the Pagoda and enjoy your trip

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank joey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overwhelming, in a good way”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

There is so much to see here you can easily spend hours, or make repeat visits. The only problem is the rather high entrance fee (8000 Ks when we were there). We had a guide show us around, which was fun for the most part, but ours got a bit carried away and spent a lot more time on things that we could have done without, but I didn't want to seem like a philistine so we just kept up with it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shwedagon Pagoda worth more than one visit”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What not to like about it is a photographers dream. Anyone visiting this beautiful Pagoda could not fail to be impressed. Take some socks with you or cotton slippers as you are not allowed shoes anywhere and the flooring can be very hot

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shwedagon Pagoda also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Shwedagon Pagoda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing