We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medicore”
Review of Mai Thai

Mai Thai
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
370 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Medicore”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Sorry, there is no reason to come to this place - it is well presented and in an air conditioned place but it didn't taste authentic. There were many Myanmar families here and others enjoying the food but you don't really come to Myanmar for Thai food and this was nothing special. I'd definitely go somewhere else for Thai.

It was also poor value versus other options in Yangon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusyFlyingAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chittagong City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I can't believe the reviews!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I spend a lot of time in Thailand, and I was looking for a place in Yangon to take a friend for some Thai food before he returns to the States. What a mistake to have believed the reviews here. The food was mediocre, and bland. The wait staff seemed to be in mourning - they were unbelievably dour. Maybe the restaurant has gone downhill, or maybe the other reviewers haven't had good Thai food, but this experience was decidedly sad and disappointing especially given the reviews.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Good variety of food. Ala carte is quite affordable and value for money. Services is professional and gave a impression of a high end restaurant.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

One of the best Thai Restaurants in Yangon. The food is great. Try the fish delicacies which are unmatched. The ambience, staff, cleanliness, location all are really great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RAJESH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Best thai food I ever tasted”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This really is the best restaurant of Thai food I've ever been to so far. We had 3 lunches there when stayed in Yangon. On a first day we order 8 dishes in order to eat something if other is bad... (In Yangon food is not always good...) But we eat all of them for two!!! Next day took the favorites and ordered some new. Same result! Food is amazing.
Ambience is mid level but very clean and tidy. We asked for a separate room for lunch. Our guide booked it. They have aquariums with fresh fish and seafood outside. So all was really fresh. Cooking is great no matter the style of Thai food you like. We tried Tom Yum (the best), curries, soft shell crabs, fish, shells (best one), pad thai etc. All was really delicious.
Almost a year past we still remember this place and even joke that even if Yangon didn't have Shwedagon, it would worth being visited only for this restaurant :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mai Thai also viewed

Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
Yangon (Rangoon), Yangon Region
 

Been to Mai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing