We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For One Night Only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Yangon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Yangon
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For One Night Only!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotels principal selling feature is that it is only 10 minutes from the airport. We had an early flight and needed to be at the airport at 6am so its location was perfect for us.

The rooms are very basic, though surprisingly did have a roomsafe. The furnishings were tired and the room lighting barely enough to read by. The bathroom was a good size and the shower probably had the best pressure of any hotel (including 5 star) that we stayed in Myanmar! We would not have wanted to spend any longer there - particularly as the air conditioning did not really work and the room never got below 25 deg. all night, so sleeping was spasmodic at best.

Staff were very helpful and even the Manager came to help when we could not get the air conditioning to work.

We did not eat in the hotel but went to the Golden Duck across the road as recommended by our guide. Needed courage to cross the busy road but the restaurant was packed with locals - well over 100 of them. But we had a great meal wihch costs us only US$21 all in including drinks!

Room Tip: A room at the back away from the busy road will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    40
    13
    2
See reviews for
5
19
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

It was clean and friendly, but reminded me of a Bucharest hotel circa 1960; pretty grim and miles from the middle of the city. We only ended up there because we booked at the last moment and hotels in Rangoon are very full.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgiaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels

KL
Level Contributor
232 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed in Hotel Yangon for 1 night and I didn't like it. The lobby is not reflective of the hotel rooms. The corridors at the upper floors were dark, not well lit. On the room itself, it was clean and big - separate hall area and bedrooom, but the lacks proper lighting - it was a bit dark. The second issue I have was aircon - it was cool but way too dry and I had an uncomfortable time breathing, that was probably the main reason why I did not enjoy my stay. Wifi was detectable but not useable. Saving grace was its good breakfast spread as there was a lot more variety.

Hotel Yangon needs to upgrade itself in order to stand out from the newer hotels.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SipsTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Big formerly posh hotel tower, now badly in need of maintenance, leaky showers and pipes, mildew, tatty carpet, missing light bulbs etc. Staff extremely nice and helpful and good location for transits close to the airport. In house restaurant surprisingly good for both breakfast and dinner. Internet WiFi almost unusable. Prices skyrocketing like everything else in Yangon, paid 140$ per night. Word of warning: bathroom door handles have a push button lock on the inside so it's easy to lock yourself out of your own bathroom if you close the door from the outside. A bit traumatic after an evening of beer drinking. Luckily all rooms have balconies... ;-)

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank omegendorph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stayed here very recently. Big rooms, very clean and comfortable. Great if you want to stay near the airport but a good half hour from central Rangoon and has no surrounding attractions although there is a good Chinese restaurant across the very busy street.

Room Tip: If you want a bit of fun stay somewhere closer to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gotoday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel make me get up every 2 hour because of traffic sound. No free wifi 5$per day but you can try password "hotelyangonit". Take about 40 mins to downtown. for breakfast no need coupon to show, may be anyone can walk in to have it

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aumz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Our group of 8 pax stayed at this hotel on the 1st day and 3rd to 5th day during our stay in Myanmar. On the positive side, staff were courteous and helpful. Rooms were clean and breakfast and dinner was quite nice. Internet connection in the business center was fast but not in the rooms (only available on the 8th floor onwards). However, recommended to request for rooms in the lower floors in case the lifts malfunction as in our case on the 1st day. Hotel provides 2 bottles of water daily, shampoo and soap but not coffee or tea making facilities (Electric kettle only provided upon request). Not so positive side, hotel looks a bit old and lighting needs to be improved as too dim in the hallway and in the bathroom. Shopping places nearby also very limited. The nearest shopping center is only 2 storeys high and sells minimal choice of goods. However, reasonable choice of hotel if you just need a place to sleep or stopover as hotel is quite quiet and its only about 15 mins drive to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parami - Yangon
Hotel Parami - Yangon
#38 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
High Five Hotel
High Five Hotel
#41 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenue 64 Hotel
Avenue 64 Hotel
#59 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Kan Yeik Thar
Hotel Kan Yeik Thar
#111 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
Inya Lake Hotel, Yangon
#29 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
Elegant Pyi Thar Yar Hotel
#81 of 150 in Yangon (Rangoon)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yangon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yangon

Property: Hotel Yangon
Address: 91/93, Corner of Pyay Road And Kabar Aye Pagoda Road | 8th Mile Junction, Mayangone Township, Yangon (Rangoon) 11062, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Yangon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Yangon, 3.5-star hotel is a 15 minutes drive from YGN International Airport or 30 minutes from Shwe Dagon Pagoda or downtown, near 8th mile Junction Shopping Centre. Hotel Yangon beautifully sits on 2 Acres of landscaped garden and accommodates 136 rooms with a relaxing panoramic view of Yangon City. All hotel rooms come with Air-con, Satellite-FlatTVs, Free High Speed Wi-Fi, mini-bar, attached bathroom with hot & cold shower type and 24-Hrs room service. Hi-Tea and Happy Hours programs are also provided as evening entertainment at Executive Lounge privileges. When visiting Yangon, you'll feel right at home at Hotel Yangon, which offers quality accommodation and great service. The Hotel Yangon staff anxiously awaits your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, JovagoAsia and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Yangon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Yangon Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing