We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, central location”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #59 of 163 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at The East hotel in January 2012 for 2 nights. Upon arriving at the hotel in the morning from Bangkok our room was not ready (no problem), but while we were sitting in the lobby two different guest came down to the front desk. The first women complained she had no hot water, the second women complained that her drain was backed up and it smelled horrible. I was thinking, my friend and I made the wrong choice and walked over to Traders Hotel next door to see how much the rooms were. They were a little more than double the $50 USD a night we had paid through Agoda for The East Hotel. Even though Traders has a pool my friend and I decided to give the East Hotel a chance. Upon walking into the room it was of good size, very clean however no safes in the room. Some people on Trip Advisor complained about the shower being in the room, however this was not an issue. Both my friend and I did experience no hot water on the first night however this was fixed by the next day. The hotel is in the city center next to The Traders Hotel, Sule Pagoda and close to the Shwedagon Pagoda. The hotel request guest use US Dollars, but will take Myanmar Kyats at a higher rate of 900 Kyat (800 is regular). The taxi driver from the airport will take US Dollars and the airport taxi drivers generally speak English, but the city taxi drivers will only take Kyats and generally do not speak English. When you arrive in Yangon change some Dollars into Kyats at the airport. Banks close early on Friday and are closed through the weekend and if you need to exchange money you will have to do it at the black market exchange at an Indian guys shop in one of the shopping areas. Bring a lot of mint condition bills as they are very picky about what they take, credit cards are not accepted. If you are looking for a cool place to hang out at night check out 50th Street restaurant and Mr. Guitar. If you are looking for nightlife with the ladies check out Emperor and Palace in China Town. If you need a tour of Yangon with a cool guy who speaks English and wont rip you off contact Zayar, mobile: 09 5166958 when you get into Yangon. He was our taxi driver from the airport and for $60 USD he gave us a full day tour of Yangon from 0900-1600. He also took us to a travel agent that book our airfare for our trip throughout Myanmar. In conclusion the East Hotel was average and had clean rooms for $50 USD a night. If you don't mind spending a little more check out Traders Hotel, it is a beautiful hotel with a pool. There are numerous other hotels in Yangon to choose from that would have been a little better.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor and non corner room, bathrooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lanikai_808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

the rooms are very clean, staff very very friendly and the location is excellent. the breakfast is a bit on the downside though, very small portions, no freshly squeezed juce but cans ( and this in a country where the most delicious fruits are all year round available ). All in all, good price/quality.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeijingGitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We paid $55USD/night - only stayed for one night. Good location (right across from Traders), only a few minute walk to the market, and other local markets. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel. Complimentary water (can help yourself at the little fridge on the 4th floor). Funky/cool/modern design, but you can tell the finishing of the details was cheaply done. Our room had a really funky (not nice) smell which came from the shower - not sure how/what, but something was not quite right..... They try to spray some deodorizer to cover it up, but it does not quite work. Despite the smell, the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

East hotel is a small hotel in about the centre of Rangoon, only 200m from Sule Pagoda. So the location is great. The Scott market is easy walking distance away, maybe 10 minutes.
Staff are very good and the room is decently furnished and comfortable. It is opposite the expensive Traders hotel and shares the fine location but not the hefty price.
In its price range it cannot be beaten in Rangoon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank impalauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Good location to get started in the centre of the city. Modern hotel in the middle of the mayhem.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean_Corc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Convenient location, tasty breakfast, nice bed, clean room, good service, modern comforts - a fairly good value for the price. Everything is great except for the strangely designed bathroom/toilet cubicle next to the bed that didn't have doors. The bathroom didn't drain water very well and pools of water gathered under our bed after every shower. Very annoying. The hotel is still new now but we presume this design will pose many problems for the rooms in the near future.

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms with window. Our lower-floor room had a window facing another building and was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honeyoshun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

The hotel is well located for the sites, markets etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room is not huge but big enough and the bed the best I slept in in Myanmar by far, good bed linen. The shower was excellent though it is true that the open lavatory is a bit strange. I guess as I was on my own it was more acceptable than if I had been sharing with someone. There is free wivi and a free computer to use. The breakfast was good. I would definitely stay here again, it is good value

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annemarie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#43 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#36 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
266 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#50 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#19 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#66 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#42 of 163 in Yangon (Rangoon)
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £27 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing