We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #57 of 162 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here on arrival in Yangon, and was delighted with my choice! The location right in the centre of town was perfect for exploring. If, like me, you have difficulty finding it on google maps - it's opposite the southern end of Traders Hotel on Sule Pagoda Road.

Whilst the bedroom was a good size, and the bed comfortable, the only strange thing was the bathroom layout. There was no door between the toilet/shower area and the bedroom. Also there was a window between the shower area and the bedroom itself - with a blind for privacy!

The shower itself was good, but the drainage was not great. Speaking of water - there is an endless supply of bottled water from the fridges on certain floor landings.

The first night I didn't wear earplugs and bitterly regretted the decision - it turned out that the bedroom door wasn't very thick, and the was noise in the corridor throughout the night.

Breakfast was one of the best that I had in the country - not a stunning endorsement, but more than adequate.

The reception staff changed some USD cash for me, at a fairly lousy rate. The airport had some of the best rates going. There was also a bank near the hotel which had an equally good rate.

I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: For a view across the city, ask for the high level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

340 - 346 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2012

We chose this hotel as it is in the centre and we wanted somewhere we could do the lonely planet walking tour from. It was 1 hour from the airport in rush hour, and 20mins back at 4.30am.

As mentioned by others the lack of door on the Bathroom is a bit of an issue, especially as Burmese food passes loosely. The window between the shower into the bedroom is worth a few giggles too.

The deco was a bit worn and not as glossy as the website pictures, and the lift seemed to fail one time (we were on the 8th floor). But it was clean and had good aircon and a free safe.

Free bottles of water were available in the fridges at the ends of corridors and seemed always to be stocked.

The staff seemed friendly and informed us when our travel agent arrived, gave us a wake up call and organised a taxi.

We were presented with sandwiches and snacks when we checked out before breakfast was served.

The internet connectin was usable, I used it to look for restaurants and found a few in the area.

All in all it was a good hotel, a bit overpriced but every hotel in Burma is at the moment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel twice during October 2012. Location is good and near main atractions, market & Chinatown. Rooms are not big but standard and clean. Service is fair and so was the breakfest . Price was good also.

Room Tip: Ask for the quite rooms not facing street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you want to be downtown, this is the place to be. Room fairly basic but fine, clean and very inexpensive. If you are lucky you get a view of the Pagoda.
You can expect to get a few short power cuts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDRHorndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very good location, opposite the Traders (and close to Scott market and Sule Pagoda) but although adequate comfort, it's over-priced but kind of right for the Yangon offering now (2012). Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. The landmark building used to be a grain trading center. Not really what we call a boutique hotel It can be recommend if you are ready to pay close to $100 per night and hate large open spaces. When I stayed there I accompany a small group and everybody say they were fine with the place.

Room Tip: Higher floors but the one elevator can mean waiting at its door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed here for a night at the beginning and end of a tour round Myanmar and thought it was perfectly adequate. It is well placed in the centre of town within walking distance of many sights. The first room was a good size with nice shower but the room on the last night was small with an even smaller 'bathroom'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Airport is about 45min-1 hr and we paid 8,000ks from airport counter - for a crappy old car with no aircon. We refused to get into one with aircon for that price so they changed to another "newer" car with aircon. My husband enquired whilst waiting (from other taxis outside for US$10 for a brand new car with aircon). Thinking booking at airport counter is safe but wait till you get outside.

Paid $62 for a night at East Hotel - a high end backpackers joint. OK for a night but I'll die if more than that. No safety deposit box but unlimited bottled water supplied. Very small toilet area. Basin was loose, no room for soap dish, no table for toiletries. Shower cubicle in room, not in "bathroom". Shower curtain too small hence water flowing out inside room. No toilet roll holder, just placed on top of cistern. Only one toilet roll supplied so had to ask for another roll. Staff gave a weird look when we asked for another toilet roll.

Free wifi everywhere. The "ball" curtain that separates the room and the toilet is so damn annoying. TAKE THEM DOWN. Just collects dust. No tea bags for tea but they supply tea leaves. No kettle but a percolator for you to boil water?

One night is enough in Yangon. East hotel is about 8 mins walk around the corner to Bogyoke markets. Nothing much in this market - same stuff, jade, gems, traditional outfits. ALL same same. Boring. Money changing touts - beware, even on the main roads whilst crossing the streets. The Indians or Pakistanis are everywhere trying to change money. The one bank at the corner of the market opens at 10.30am and then they close again from 12-1pm for lunch!! What a life!!. The markets open at 9am (so we were told) but only a few were starting to set up at this time. Even by 9.30am, the place is still dead. Suggest you come back at 10am.

East Hotel is also down the road (other direction) from Sule pagoda. Tiny shops around the pagoda are astrologers - not too sure how genuine they are.

Didn't bother going to Swedagon Pagoda - saw this from the car from airpot - another golden shining glittering pagoda, like all the other pagodas I've seen.

Where we have breakfast is where you can also have dinner - not much choices. Breakfast is also "restricted" from a set menu.

Never again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#43 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
479 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#18 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#34 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Esta
Hotel Esta
#50 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Loft Hotel
The Loft Hotel
#9 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
362 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#65 of 162 in Yangon (Rangoon)
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
#14 Best Value Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £26 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing