We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a two star hotel”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #53 of 159 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We asked our travel agent to book a four star or five star hotel in Yangon, the only hotel available was the two star East hotel, so it wasn’t a question of second choice, it was more a question of no choice.

On arriving we noted the central location of the hotel, which to us was not that important as we had a guide and driver who picked us up in the morning, after a full day we would have been happier to chill out in a garden with attractive surroundings rather than return to an urban environment, after a full day in the heat we were happy to go back to the hotel, eat, and have an early night in preparation for another hot busy day.

The reception downstairs is excellent; friendly and efficient, the staff at reception speak really good English, I noted with interest the Trip Advisor certificate proudly displayed on the counter. To the right of the reception is a shelf with a Mac giving free access to the Internet. I idly had a go with the computer but not much happened, it was not at all important so I abandoned my efforts, but appreciated the gesture of giving free access to the internet. When the next day we wanted to change money there was no problem but the guy at reception did explain that we could get a better rate at a bank or money changer, so we followed his advice and only changed a small amount at the hotel.

Now the room. Where shall I begin? Perhaps with the toilet arrangement which has been mentioned in other reviews so was not a complete surprise, but nonetheless extremely unpleasant, the toilet area which is a part of the room contains a sink and lavatory which was unsuccessfully hidden by a brobdingnagian necklace of huge wooden balls which only partially obscures a person seated, but not of course the sound. The wooden balls also cut out most of the light from the only window, so the room was in a state of permagloom as the only other light came from the one down-lighter in the ceiling and one bedside lamp, daytime was dark, night even darker. The reading lights next to the beds were flexible snakes with LEDs on the end; they worked very well.

The shower cubicle adjoining the toilet delivered hot water after a lengthy wait, the sink never gave hot water.

The double bed was comfortable but there was only one bedside table, so on the other side, things had to be dropped on the floor.

At reception we asked if there were any rooms with separate toilets, we were informed there were rooms available and moving the next day would be no problem, we finally decided not to change as we were staying only a short time and it was too much of a hassle.

The evening meal in the restaurant area around the corner from reception wasn’t bad, there is quite a good menu.
Breakfast ordered from the menu was so so, fruit followed by an omelette with “hash browns” which certainly wouldn’t pass the Trade Description Act, being in fact about a quarter piece of sliced potato, perhaps boiled, perhaps fried, I don’t know, It was amusing to note that the portion of jam wouldn’t cover half a piece of toast.

The last evening we decided to use room service so phoned down and a young guy arrived immediately with the menu. We ordered a chicken sandwich and a hamburger and after an hour’s wait phoned down and asked what was happening; the order finally arrived.

The last morning we were up at four thirty and were given our box breakfast which came in a polystyrene box and consisted of a banana, a rock hard boiled egg and two slices of white bread which I normally would feed to the pigeons. I attempted with only moderate success to make a couple of coffees. The room is equipped with a percolator and two sachets which I wrongly imagined to be coffee, in fact one sachet is tea the other is coffee meaning one person has tea the other coffee. Why they don’t put in an electric kettle with two sachets of instant coffee and two tea bags beats me.

In our travel documents our room is described as “deluxe” which is what we had paid for, I hate to imagine a standard room. I also think the description as a two star hotel is unmerited and misleading.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a separate toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2012

I stayed here on arrival in Yangon, and was delighted with my choice! The location right in the centre of town was perfect for exploring. If, like me, you have difficulty finding it on google maps - it's opposite the southern end of Traders Hotel on Sule Pagoda Road.

Whilst the bedroom was a good size, and the bed comfortable, the only strange thing was the bathroom layout. There was no door between the toilet/shower area and the bedroom. Also there was a window between the shower area and the bedroom itself - with a blind for privacy!

The shower itself was good, but the drainage was not great. Speaking of water - there is an endless supply of bottled water from the fridges on certain floor landings.

The first night I didn't wear earplugs and bitterly regretted the decision - it turned out that the bedroom door wasn't very thick, and the was noise in the corridor throughout the night.

Breakfast was one of the best that I had in the country - not a stunning endorsement, but more than adequate.

The reception staff changed some USD cash for me, at a fairly lousy rate. The airport had some of the best rates going. There was also a bank near the hotel which had an equally good rate.

I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: For a view across the city, ask for the high level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fartoomanyusers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We chose this hotel as it is in the centre and we wanted somewhere we could do the lonely planet walking tour from. It was 1 hour from the airport in rush hour, and 20mins back at 4.30am.

As mentioned by others the lack of door on the Bathroom is a bit of an issue, especially as Burmese food passes loosely. The window between the shower into the bedroom is worth a few giggles too.

The deco was a bit worn and not as glossy as the website pictures, and the lift seemed to fail one time (we were on the 8th floor). But it was clean and had good aircon and a free safe.

Free bottles of water were available in the fridges at the ends of corridors and seemed always to be stocked.

The staff seemed friendly and informed us when our travel agent arrived, gave us a wake up call and organised a taxi.

We were presented with sandwiches and snacks when we checked out before breakfast was served.

The internet connectin was usable, I used it to look for restaurants and found a few in the area.

All in all it was a good hotel, a bit overpriced but every hotel in Burma is at the moment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Enjoyed our stay in this hotel twice during October 2012. Location is good and near main atractions, market & Chinatown. Rooms are not big but standard and clean. Service is fair and so was the breakfest . Price was good also.

Room Tip: Ask for the quite rooms not facing street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

If you want to be downtown, this is the place to be. Room fairly basic but fine, clean and very inexpensive. If you are lucky you get a view of the Pagoda.
You can expect to get a few short power cuts.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRDRHorndean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Very good location, opposite the Traders (and close to Scott market and Sule Pagoda) but although adequate comfort, it's over-priced but kind of right for the Yangon offering now (2012). Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. The landmark building used to be a grain trading center. Not really what we call a boutique hotel It can be recommend if you are ready to pay close to $100 per night and hate large open spaces. When I stayed there I accompany a small group and everybody say they were fine with the place.

Room Tip: Higher floors but the one elevator can mean waiting at its door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed here for a night at the beginning and end of a tour round Myanmar and thought it was perfectly adequate. It is well placed in the centre of town within walking distance of many sights. The first room was a good size with nice shower but the room on the last night was small with an even smaller 'bathroom'.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#41 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#30 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#21 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#42 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#26 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel K Yangon
Hotel K Yangon
#63 of 159 in Yangon (Rangoon)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range: £30 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing