We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Pagoda view?”
Review of East Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
East Hotel
Ranked #50 of 151 Hotels in Yangon (Rangoon)
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
“What Pagoda view?”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

We got a great rate from Agoda for a Pagoda View room - sounded great - someone built an apartment block in front of Pagoda so only top few feet of spire visible & then only to people with fantastic eyesight!

En suite very weird even when u expect it. Nice spacious room, free water, nice breakfast - pleasant staff - despite the toilet would recommend .

Airport transfer only $16 u can get Taxi for $8 but as a first time traveller to Burma was very happy to pay the extra.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - can be noisy on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elestoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    271
    217
    41
    15
See reviews for
41
246
101
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

I very much enjoyed the breakfasts and all the meals at this extremely well-located hotel. All hotels in Yangon are very overpriced at this time, and so is this one. And the price seems to be going up. Rooms are just okay -- I didn't enjoy the beaded curtains (instead of a door) to the toilet stall,. The wifi was slow and "iffy" in the room but very good in the dining room. We were in a group and reports said the rooms vary considerably. We had a dodgy drain in our sink. They went to fix it and disturbed the water pipes. Result : one flooded bedroom !

Room Tip: Ask to look first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I very much enjoyed the breakfasts and all the meals at this extremely well-located hotel. All hotels in Yangon are very overpriced at this time, and so is this one. And the price seems to be going up. Rooms are just okay -- I didn't enjoy the beaded curtains (instead of a door) to the toilet stall, and I didn't enjoy the glass windows in the shower (which is in the room itself). THis may be okay if you are alone in the room, but I wouldn't enjoy it if staying with someone. Rooms need a decent sided desk for a computer. The wifi was slow and "iffy" in the room but very good in the dining room. What I really didn't like was having to pay the entire bill up front in cash (all 6 nights). This made me feel a bit insecure about what to expect. I had never experienced this before except in online booking systems -- not anywhere in the world, and not in Myanmar. The problem is that one may not have a lot of choice and competition in Yangon -- not yet. I will be looking for another hotel for my next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catscam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel on two occasions in November 2012. On the first occasion we had room 602 (4 nights) and awoke on the first morning and stepped off the bed onto a flooded floor from a leak from the vanity basin. This was promptly fixed and floor mopped up. Two days later we had another leak, this time from a burst pipe in the ceiling above the toilet and water flowed under the bed. Again this was attended to promptly. From the outset however the room smelled musty which suggested there is an ongoing water leakage/drainage problem. The shower recess also overflowed due to drainage problems.
We were to travel to Bagan and Mandalay and then return to this hotel having pre-booked our accommodation. We tried to cancel the second booking but were told we would lose our full prepayment so we perservered and checked in again to the hotel and this time were given room 402. This room also smelled musty and the windows looked out onto a wall 12" from the window. It felt like a dungeon. The shower recess also had drainage problems.
Both rooms had a toilet which is a few feet from the bed and no privacy.
The good points were the location - close to Scott markets and other conveniences, the service was good and the rate was reasonable for a basic hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 402 and 602
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fonzie198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The East Hotel is a very smart hotel in Yangon that is not to be confused with the Eastern Hotel. It's in a great location on the Sule Pagoda Road on a street with lots of shops and a couple of restaurants. The area is a great place to start a walking tour of the city. It's is not up to the standard of five star hotels such as the Traders (which is opposite), but it's very nice, clean, modern and offers excellent value for money.

The staff were very nice, helpful and knowledgeable - I wanted to find a bar that showed English football and they directed me to the perfect place (it wasn't quite what I'm used to but there were no real options). They were also full of tips for tourists, although the map they use is an A4 photocopy. Breakfast was decent and we had a sandwich one day which was also nice. There is chilled water available by the lifts on every floor which is a nice touch.

As others have mentioned, the lack of a toilet door is an issue. I travelled with my partner and we're fairly open, but that doesn't mean I want to watch her use the toilet. We used a couple of coat hangers and hung t-shirts on the beads hanging in place of a door. The shower, while also strange, is better as you can cover the whole 'window' using the curtain. Other than this odd flaw the rooms are very nice and very comfortable, with a nice flat screen and international TV channels. There are rooms where the toilet and shower are around the corner from the bed and totally out of view - ask for one of these.

VITAL information: the only real way to get money is to exchange USD. If your notes aren't absolutely 100% perfect and brand new, you'll get a poor rate - and that's IF they will exchange them. Mine were crisp, fresh and brand new from an ATM in the US - yet slight discolouration near the faces on the notes was cited as a fault - everywhere I tried.

Room Tip: There are rooms where the toilet and shower are around the corner from the bed and totally out of vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergraeme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newzealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2012

location is very good . in the downtown area... i recommand u all ...
room is clean. good as i think the hotel is new :)
Deluxe room was the one we stayed... they have different type of rooms
transportation is good too :D can see alot of ppl because the hotel is near bus station
near Scott market .....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvinjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Fit For Purpose

Having read all of the reviews & then stayed in this hotel, my view is that the East Hotel offers an adequate standard if you are planning to stay in Yangon for just a few days & you would really rather not stay in a 5 star international style hotel.

The East Hotel is located on a busy street in the city centre. In streets which are very crowded especially on the pavements, it is a haven of calm with friendly staff who clearly want to help even if their comprehension or communication skills ultimately mean they can't. Judging by its outside colour ( dark salmon pink) , its trendy name and a vaguely contemporary appearance to its corporate design work, there are clearly pretensions for it to be in the 'cool & trendy' category - although none of the interior decor or furnishings would support this positioning.

Rooms are basic in terms of facilities- no fridges, no safe, no drawer space. We had a larger than average room , but the layout was somewhat odd, with the loo being screened by the wardrobe and a'window' of clear glass situated between the shower and the beds- which was a bit strange for us as two female friends sharing.

Plumbing was abysmal & appeared to be installed by amateurs in a very haphazard manner eg I closed the 'pop up' plug in the sink, but then with dirty water in the sink could not find any way of releasing the plug to empty it. The rather smart looking pillar tap moved alarmingly when touched. Decor was also basic and all of the windows were completely sealed up. The air conditioning unit worked but blew cold air straight on to the beds. The beds were comfortable, however, linen clean & our room's situation ( at the far end of a corridor on the side of the building) made it very peaceful.

Breakfast comes from a set menu- no buffet choices, and is offered on the ground floor looking out onto the street.

Some of the hotel is still under renovation and certainly some of the (very young) staff still appeared to be 'in training' mode. In certain parts there are some rather unwelcome smells (though nowhere near as bad as those emanating out of the drains on the streets) and often the waft of moth balls would emanate from our room.
As a tall, narrow hotel, it was relatively necessary to use the lift when going up, although the attraction of it did somewhat pale when our guide informed us that the city was frequently subject to power cuts, rendering the lift out of order.


Opposite us was a huge glittery monster hotel, which looked much more like one run by an international group. It did certainly give the impression of being far more luxurious and comfortable than our own.

We were happy enough to stay in the East Hotel for a couple of nights as it was 'fit for purpose' for our needs- though no more than that. We would not be rushing back.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the hotel as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flekkygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangon (Rangoon) hotels
0.0 mi away
Clover City Center
Clover City Center
#39 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtown)
Hotel Grand United (21st Downtow...
#23 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
483 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Star Hotel
City Star Hotel
#44 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
Clover City Center Plus Hotel
#29 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
Best Western Chinatown Hotel
#12 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
Hotel Grand United (Chinatown)
#28 of 151 in Yangon (Rangoon)
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Hotel

Property: East Hotel
Address: No. 234-240, 1 Quarter, Sule Pagoda Road | Kyauktada, Yangon (Rangoon) 11182, Myanmar
Region: Myanmar > Yangon Region > Yangon (Rangoon)
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Yangon (Rangoon)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — East Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
East hotel is situated in the heart of the Yangon downtown area, within walking distance and easily accessible to main shopping area and commercial centers. New concept boutique hotel with all rooms are designated carefully to appreciate local design and craft, 39 Deluxe, 3 View Deluxe, 1 Deluxe, 2 Junior Suite, 8 Retro Deluxe and 3 service apartments, service provided by warm and friendly staff. The hotel is boutique hotel, set in the heart of Yangon business district. It is conveniently located between two major roads, Sule Pagoda Road and Bogyoke is an easily accessible from both incoming and outgoing to downtown area. The property is unit in that when many hotel a large portion of similarly designed rooms with a small amount of individual rooms. Last is the other way around. Lobby area and dinning have a wireless facility with internet access. Room have a wireless internet access direct from your room. Room all have a new flat screen television, unlimited mineral water, and tea and coffee facilities. All in all, a visit to the East will be in memorable on, with subsequent visit giving you the choice of a new room style or just make a special request for the one you had before. East hotel radiates an opulent charm of contemporary Myanmar décor perfectly blended with the traditional warmth of Myanmar Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your East Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East Hotel Yangon, Myanmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing